or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 1.43 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Pop Surrealism: The Rise of Underground Art [Hardcover]

Kristen Anderson
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
RRP: 28.99
Price: 23.23 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 5.76 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Trade In this Item for up to 1.43
Trade in Pop Surrealism: The Rise of Underground Art for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 1.43, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

1 Jan 2005
With its origins in the 1960s hot rod culture and underground comix and rock music posters, Pop Surrealism/Lowbrow Art has evolved and expanded into the most vilified, vital, and exciting movement in contemporary art. Pop Surrealism is the first book to offer a comprehensive survey of this movement featuring twenty-three of today's most important and interesting artists.

Frequently Bought Together

Pop Surrealism: The Rise of Underground Art + Everything That Creeps
Buy the selected items together
  • Everything That Creeps 22.49


Product details

  • Hardcover: 156 pages
  • Publisher: Last Gasp,U.S. (1 Jan 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0867196181
  • ISBN-13: 978-0867196184
  • Product Dimensions: 26.2 x 26 x 1.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 413,103 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! 11 Mar 2009
Format:Hardcover
days after first hearing about the pop surrealism or (low brow) art movement I heard about this book and simply had to have it.
I ordered online and waited with excitement until it arrived and I cant express with enough detail or joy how purely amazing the book is!
The first few pages explain the start of the movement in great detail, it is extremely useful for anyone interested in this kind of art and I believe would even spark interest in someone completely new to it.
Then the pages are filled with picture after picture of purely weird and surreal art by artists such as Mark Ryden, Todd Schorr, SHAG and Camille Rose Garcia.
So pleased with this product and I would, without a doubt reccomend it to anyone and everyone!
Also for anyone wondering this is a large HARDBACK book with a beautiful glossy cover!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 4 Feb 2014
By Jade
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
A brilliant book, great for homework, great for art teachers, good and varied examples of artist work and background. 5*
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Surrealism Art 20 Feb 2013
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Good for those who wants to know more about this kind of art.
It has many illustrations and a introduction text that explains the main concept.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The Weird Revolution 3 Dec 2012
By Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles TOP 100 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
One of the first of the genre which is slowly seeping with the malevolence of "The Blob" into the imaginative denodes of the worlds psyche and then biting into the main aorta to gush upon the filth of popular culture and recycle the imagery. The best thing to come out of America since Elvis and the Ramones, a fusion of both worlds of music then taken for a brisk drive out to Los Angeles in a Buick shuffle. This stamps in ink those people influenced by Robert Williams and Ed Roth who have then recreated American pop culture within a surreal out-take to usher forth the "Weird Revolution;" each segment is ushered, then phased in with hallucinatory glee to reveal.

The Pizz
Lisa Petrucci
Marion Peck
Ausgang
Camilla
Glenn Barr

Jostling to reveal their imaginations within a hard bound book which is fairly hefty and becoming heftier in price. Whilst the prints may over lap with some of the personal releases Pizz and the Pirates, Marion and her cats - there is enough of the new here to demand the local book seller to hand it over in response to some cyber money.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars  16 reviews
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raves from a lowbrow newbie 3 Sep 2005
By Mark Hanington - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I do not come from the lowbrow culture ,whatever that is, and have never paid it any heed. But I came across this book and my eyes have been opened. This art is NOT what I had assumed - it's clever, thoughtful, insightful, and challenging. It has an in-your-face attitude which I think held me at bay for a while. But through this book I have learned to relax, to appreciate and to enjoy. Many thanks and much admiration to Kirsten Anderson for assembling this, and for including three short but effective essays by three painters who helped me discover a whole new world lying right before my eyes.
56 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book 5 Aug 2005
By Wayne A. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Can't say enough terrific things about this, it's one of the best selections of modern art available. Yeah. I said modern art and not "outsider" art. Sorry kids, but that new crap we see in Artforum and in the big museums is the hellspawn of marketing, grant maggotry, the corporate world, and the new corporate academia. It has little to do with the natural evolution of Western Art. If it tickles you to think you're being a Bad-Boy/Girl/Whatever by liking this "outsider" stuff then you're falling right into their game plan, you're a niche market and they'll try to eat up this world just like they ate up "alternative music" in one big gulp. This art is the art of true Americans and that other yuck--the so-called mainsteam (which includes the pre-fab avant-garde nowadays no matter how middle-class titilating and naughty it be) is the Devils' work--the real Devil, the one that created Wal-Mart and George W. Bush.

Love this art, demand that your museums purchase it, rejoice in the fact that you'll never see some Ryden or Williams hanging in a corporate headquarters, sing Hosannas that some trendy art monkey with a Smith degree won't be writing pompous reviews using terms like "globalization" and "gender" about this stuff, wrap yourself in the red, white, and blue, and sing the Star Spangeled Banner! I just wish we could find some equivalent modern creative types with this kind of vitality in music and architecture.

(Recommended--read Paul Johnson's recent history of art, especially the bit where he talks about how the modern art world went all to hell because someone figured out how to market the bejesus out of it)
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introductory book 29 Jan 2005
By Broadway Phantom - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
What is 'lowbrow' art? This book attempts to assemble a collection of art from an ever growing movement of artists going against assumptions of conventional art. But don't you think this is a boring book of essays. Only the first few pages are text, the rest is pure visual feast, as it should be.

Shock-full of colorful art sometimes cartoonesque and always thought-provoking, this book is destined to become known as the first collection of artist works in the vein of Mark Ryden, Marion Peck or Liz McGrath.

Also, if you like this kind of art, don't miss out on the magazine Juxtapoz. If by now you haven't been properly exposed to 'lowbrow' art or 'surrealist pop' or even 'rebel art' as we're still struggling to name it, check out this beautiful book. You won't be disappointed.

We only wish the book was thicker.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars trends of pop culture 13 Aug 2008
By 2 cents - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
It's on the surface and all over all around you. Mind as well take it in and enjoy it. Play with it. There isn't any escaping it really. I like the idea of taking what is around you, some of which has been spoon fed to you since you were an infant laying on the carpet in front of the TV -just a relentless onslaught of media images, memes, symbols, this American mass culture or popular culture- and regurgitating it. Throw it back up after having processed it a bit and make something interesting, maybe more interesting, out of it. Well, that is what's going on with some of this stuff. And some of it is coming from who knows where and some of it seems to be taken right off a shelf and repackaged.

Much of the art described as "lowbrow" and/or "pop surrealism" at this point has been widely visible and familiar to much of the public. So the surreal or weird becomes regular (as it often does). "Underground" in the title means not in museums or the top art galleries. I guess I don't care for the idea or metaphor of "underground". It doesn't make much sense to me, but anyway. I love some of this art, some of it not so much. If your unfamiliar and curious just check out an issue of "Juxtapoz" at Barnes and Noble or most book stores in the mall.

As far as this book goes, if you got 30 plus bucks to spend, it could make for a good coffee table book I suppose. It contains some essays worth reading if your interested in this art, including one by Robert Williams who is a central figure of the so-called lowbrow art scene. I don't agree with some of what these guys have to say, but they're interesting. There are nice selections from many of the most respected and influential artists of "pop surrealism" which, btw, is more or less refering to most of the art classified as "lowbrow", depending on who you ask.
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL AND BARBARIC 28 Dec 2004
By Clint Catalyst - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
A gorgeous compendium of the contemporary barbarians often lumped together under the "Lowbrow" banner. Whatever their critics--or admirers--call them, one fact remains: These incendiary artists continue to churn out challenging creations that spit gobs of acrylic and profane pop culture references in the face of the stodgy "fine" art world.

Word to the wise: Grab a copy now while it's still in print-- I missed out on the last two releases of similar ilk and see them now listed at $400 and up on eBay. Brutal!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback