Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars60
3.4 out of 5 stars
Size: 500 ml|Change
Price:£6.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2012
will I ever find a paint stripper that removes several coats of paint from one application. Polycell "maximum strength" paint stripper was applied to a wooden garage door frame which had about four coats of paint. The first application of stripper only removed one coat of paint and after two more coats of stripper i'm still left with some old paint on the frame.I left the stripper plenty of time to work before scraping it off. why do these manufacturers make these ridiculous claims for their products !!! I'd have been better off using a heat gun .
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
Sirs
Although followed instructions this did not do the job as promised
A number of coats needed to remove several layers of everyday paint
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Used on a radiator that had flaking paint. Not sure what I was expecting but the paint did not exactly peel off and a lot of elbow grease was still required. Ended up doing about 4 coats before the majority of paint was off and this used up virtually all of the pot. Gives off a strong smell as well so area needs to be well ventilated.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Takes some time to work but does the job. DO EXACTLY as it says. Use in well ventilated area or you will be seeing pink elephants dancing in no time
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
This does what it says on the ...tub but is very smelly. Make sure you ventilate the area. I found a DIY store version to be just as good and not so fragrant.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I bought this to remove some paint from a cast iron fireplace. It didn't touch it in spite of repeated applications. In the end I made up a paste of lime and sodium hydroxide and that did it. I'm sure there must be paint that this stuff works on.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Don't do it! It took multiple coats to get some varnish off an old bed I wanted to strip and even then it was a nightmare getting into the curved sections. The smell is very strong and it just doesn't feel good for you, do this outside in the summer if you have to. I'd send it off to a professional next time though, lesson learned.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
I love this product although you should note it is REALLY SMELLY so I would recommend googles and a facemask. I used to get about 10 layers of paint off some sash window frames/boxes. It took four coats of liberally applied stripper. Leave it on at least 30 mins and you will see that the paint looks like really old dust/cobwebs. For the price too, this is magical stuff.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
The job I wanted this for (stripping the paint off my staircase) was quite an undertaking and the product had to be applied several times to get all the layers off. This was okay but I will need several more pots of it to complete the job. It has a powerful smell so ventilation is so important if you don't want to feel a bit giddy!!! All in all it does strip old paint very well but at one layer at a time so patience is needed and if it's a big job you are undertaking then a much bigger pot is advisable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Liberally applied to strip water based paint off bench as directed, however feels like an additional layer to remove as did not appear to make much difference.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)