Planet as Self: An Earthen Spirituality and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£9.33
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £0.66 (7%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Trade in your item
Get a £0.29
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Planet as Self: An Earthen Spirituality Paperback – 27 Jan 2012


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£9.33
£4.00 £6.62


Trade In this Item for up to £0.29
Trade in Planet as Self: An Earthen Spirituality for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.29, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 109 pages
  • Publisher: Earth Books (27 Jan 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1846947251
  • ISBN-13: 978-1846947254
  • Product Dimensions: 14.2 x 0.6 x 21.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,072,874 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

I remain in love with life and Gaia and am constantly shifting my interest, learning and relearning.
With the realisation that I am IN a planet and not ON a planet helps me to feel the affinity to all parts of the Earth. Gaia is a living, loving and lovable being that nurtures all within and it is exciting to dig deeper into just what that means in my life.

Product Description

Review

Nurtured by rich personal experiences of nature and much critical reading, the author develops deeply challenging reflections about our attitude to planet Earth and the web of life. He shows how our cultural worldview requires a radical paradigm shift - a new awakening and awareness that moves from an egocentric to an ecocentric consciousness and life stance. An incisive and most helpful guide for developing an Earth-centred spirituality that is integral and holistic, collaborative rather than competitive, enabling us to become partners and co-creators of Gaia. May this inspiring book find many readers, especially among the young. --(Ursula King, Professor Emerita of Theology and Religious Studies, University of Bristol)

In the tradition of Thomas Berry and Matthew Fox, Sky McCain's book Earthen Spirituality is taking us by the shoulders, giving us a rough shake, and shouting in our faces, 'The redemption of humankind lies not with right relationship with some father god in the sky, but in right relationship with our mother the Earth.' His book is an articulate and moving cry for a new and global religious reformation, a call to return to sanity that touches not only our bodies and minds, but our spirits as well. --(John R. Mabry, former editor CREATION SPIRITUALITY magazine)

About the Author

Sky McCain is a US citizen living in Devon, UK. He has a BA History from Boston College, US and MA in Values in the Environment from Lancaster University, UK

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mr. S. Wollaston on 18 July 2012
Format: Paperback
`Planet as Self' is a wonderful overview of the essentials of an Earth-centred spirituality. The author, Sky McCain, writes with fluidity and depth and does not hold his punches. When it comes to highlighting shortfalls of beliefs and practices that have inhibited growth of a mature and relevant spirituality for our age and addressing global issues, Sky is not afraid to point out consequences of beliefs in original sin, seeing God as solely somewhere else, viewing the Earth as a place that humans merely pass through to reach a better place (an eternal heaven), the spirit as residing in only one place (solely and individually within us instead of being a part of an interconnected and holistic whole - hence the book's title), and the negative impact of not seeing Nature as sacred, but as something to be controlled and used purely for commercial enterprise. As Sky points out, earthworms and bees play a more important role for the welfare of the planet than us humans.

But Sky is a realist and knows that it is not easy to change beliefs, no matter how irrational they are, and offers helpful perspectives and some practical solutions for addressing this problem. The book also covers important ground on `old science verses new', i.e.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By C Watkins on 1 April 2012
Format: Paperback
Sky McCain is a passionate writer - and even more so as a speaker. If you can hear him talk publicly, or on the web - then I would encourage you to do so. If not, I certainly feel his enthusiasm for his subject matter comes through in this work. I particularly appreciated the literature review of the history of how humankind as become disconnected from the planet on which we walk and the environment in which we live. It is not necessary to agree with every word of this work to enjoy the heart - of the subject, and of the man who wrote this book. And also what Sky is too polite to say is that he has donated profits from the book to charity. This is a work of energy and spirit - not ego. Read it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
The essentials of an Earth-centred spirituality 18 July 2012
By Mr. S. Wollaston - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
`Planet as Self' is a wonderful overview of the essentials of an Earth-centred spirituality. The author, Sky McCain, writes with fluidity and depth and does not hold his punches. When it comes to highlighting shortfalls of beliefs and practices that have inhibited growth of a mature and relevant spirituality for our age and addressing global issues, Sky is not afraid to point out consequences of beliefs in original sin, seeing God as solely somewhere else, viewing the Earth as a place that humans merely pass through to reach a better place (an eternal heaven), the spirit as residing in only one place (solely and individually within us instead of being a part of an interconnected and holistic whole - hence the book's title), and the negative impact of not seeing Nature as sacred, but as something to be controlled and used purely for commercial enterprise. As Sky points out, earthworms and bees play a more important role for the welfare of the planet than us humans.

But Sky is a realist and knows that it is not easy to change beliefs, no matter how irrational they are, and offers helpful perspectives and some practical solutions for addressing this problem. The book also covers important ground on `old science verses new', i.e. mechanistic science that views the workings of Earth and the cosmos as merely clockwork machines, as apposed to contemporary scientific findings and beneficial views about the Earth as a holistic living organism and the evolvement of life and the universe - to what has become known in some circles as `The New Universe Story', promoted in recent decades by influential figures such as the American scientist, Brian Swimme, and the late Thomas Berry, who referred to himself as a `geologian' and controversially suggested, as Sky quotes in his book, that the Bible might be put on the shelf for twenty years (p.64). As demonstrated by this, Sky has a good eye for a pertinent quotation - but doesn't over use them as some authors have an annoying habit of doing - such as the following by Matthew Fox (p.71):

"None of our religions have all the answers and even if we gathered the wisdom of all, that's not enough today. We have to bring in the wisdom of science and I would say yes, the wisdom of technology and even then we have to give birth to new forms of worship, to new forms of celebration, to new forms of forgiveness."

In all, this is a great book by Sky McCain and a good introduction to current and relevant key issues on eco-spirituality and what humankind needs to embrace for moving forward with both compassion and wisdom. Because of the vast amount of information Sky has miraculously managed to condense into an economy of pages, some readers - especially those new to the subject - may prefer to read and reflect upon its contents slowly in order to get the very best out it.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
very good 15 July 2012
By Esperanza - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Northern Europeans seem to deny the physical world, their bodies, and the effects of some very unuseful activities. As I write this, we came out of the warmest winter they can recall, and we have drought all over the US. Connecting with the body, being aware of it, accepting it, is very much a part of healing. Journey to the Ancestral Self: The Native Lifeway Guide to Living in Harmony with the Earth Mother (Bk.1) talks a little bit about how indigenous peoples are connected to their bodies. Inside My Heart Dance Manual: Dances Of Universal Peace shows one path to connecting. This book is useful, as far as it goes, I would have liked to see more on how one connects with the body, in full awareness. I remember a Native American elder telling me that dance is the heart of culture, and white men won't dance. Think about why. In indigenous cultures, they do circle dance, or dance where there is a place for everyone. In Western culture, we take very sensitive teens, and force them into couples dance where rejection is assured. What cruel Sadist thought that up? Of course white men won't dance, why would they want to revisit humiliation? And this is but one of many ways people are separated from their bodies, with shame, guilt, fear, and so on. Dr. Mark Dunn offers seminars in connecting with the body again, and Breathe Deep Laugh Loudly: The Joy of Transformational Breathing shows another way to do this. I'm sure there are many others. This book is useful as a motivator to get reconnected.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback