Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2000
I received this as a present and after months of neglect read it in two avid late night sessions. Younge's odyssey is a moving testament to the courage of those blacks (and whites) who confronted and changed the legacy of slavery and segregation in the U.S. and to his own ability to modify his standard lefty preconceptions en route. He is particularly strong on the post 60s black experience and the way in which African Americans have simultaneously remained at the periphery of the polity whilst embracing some aspects of what we British might find rather exotic notions of patriotism. The style throughout is literate journalese; Younge is erudite, thoughtful, often gently comic and self effacing. I am buying a copy for a friend with a professional interest in Black History. I am white, incidentally, and not known as a bleeding heart.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
Younge's first chapter, on growing up in Stevenage and then returning to it, is absolutely spot-on. I'm about the same age as Gary, and it was exactly as he recalls it: your mates all getting good jobs and apprenticeships at British Aerospace when you were going to university, and then coming back in the late Eighties and finding the place shot to bits, unkempt, dirty. If Mr Younge is as perceptive in the rest of the book (about which I have no direct experience) as he is about Stevenage (of which I have) then he's a writer to be trusted.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2001
As a white South African, books on racial matters tend to induce defensive reflexes. I found Gary's book excellent. It brings a different well presented perspective to light. I feel Gary tends to approach certain circumstances with a low expectation he is almost happy to see fulfilled. However as he proves by adjusting some of his opinions on his journey, he is able to adapt to new information by adjusting his views. He writes extremely well. I finished this book in one day, found it spellbounding, lucidly written, informative and entertaining. While I did not always agree with his views, he gave me fresh insight, what more can you ask for? A must buy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2001
I loved this book. Gary is a great journalist who writes for the Guardian and I have always enjoy his articles as they are clear and well argumented. It is obvious to me that Gary went to America to confirm his thoughts but the book is well written and is ideal for anyone who is interested in the topic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
If you don't know anything about the Freedom marches then this book is a must. The writer weaves his way along the same route taken by the Civil Rights Campaigners informing the reader of the historical events and detailing his own experiences along the same route. The book demonstrates the prejudices still experienced by African Americans. I would highly recommend to anyone with the slightest interest in the civil rights movement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Out of print now but a nice interesting little book about Civil Rights in the USA written by Gary Younge travelling through the states and retracing the steps of the Freedom Riders and other activists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Very satisfied... thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2008
picked this up at friend's place and read it in a sitting. well written, clever, insightful. younge is the real deal. the usa is a strange and wonderful place and you can visit a bit of it in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2000
I'm not particularly interested in the Freedom Marchers but I loved Younge's descriptions of the South. I'm british and about the same age as the author which helps when reading some of his anecdotes or memories from his past. Younge would appear to have a chip on his shoulder about being black himself, which may or may not be justified.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)