Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

More Options
Physical Graffiti
See larger image

Physical Graffiti

12 Nov. 2007 | Format: MP3

£9.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Buy the CD album for £8.99 and get the MP3 version for FREE. Does not apply to gift orders.
Provided by Amazon EU Sąrl. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations. Complete your purchase of the CD album to save the MP3 version to your Amazon music library.
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to Amazon.co.uk (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 24 Feb. 1975
  • Release Date: 12 Nov. 2007
  • Label: Atlantic Records
  • Copyright: 1975 Swan Song Inc.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:22:32
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001EYWI2Y
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (316 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 14,089 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

120 of 126 people found the following review helpful By Rich on 26 Mar. 2007
Format: Audio CD
I first picked this album up in 1990, after hearing Jimmy Page play a tantalising snippet of the Kashmir riff on Arena's 'Heavy Metal' documentary.

At that time buying a double lp was quite an investment for a schoolkid on pocket money alone, but I was mesmerized by the mystery around *that* riff and the fact the album looked so unusual. What I couldn't have expected was to seemingly stumble on something so complete and fulfilling, that I would still be returning to it every week for the next 15 years or more.

Each time I listen, I discover a new angle to a song. Another riff, another rhythm track, another vocal line. Zeppelin were truly at the height of their majestic powers when this album was released in 1975.

This is partially a result of a patchwork chronology behind the songs. Some were outtakes from previous studio works ('Houses of the Holy', 'Black Country Woman', 'Boogie with Stu'). Others were adaptations of previous songs, once ditched and now ressurected and re-worked during 1974 ('The Rover', 'Down By the Seaside').

The longest songs are invariably the newest and it is clear that on this album Zeppelin's intention was to define the 'epic'. 'Kashmir' is monstrous, sounding like it has been hewn from the roots of the Earth. It's sister-piece, 'In the Light' adds a darker tone. Then there is the electric storm of 'In My Time of Dying', crackling with intensity, slide guitar, prayers to Jesus and the relentless thunder of Bonzo's drums.

My favourite song (at the moment) is 'Ten Years Gone', a lovesong no less. However this arrangement is probably the most complex and painstaking ever assembled by Page, and the effect is stunning.
Read more ›
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Stuart Martin on 8 Mar. 2015
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The Led Zeppelin remasters. Frustrating. As other reviewers here have said, they really are the ultimate combination of good and, if not bad, then lack of thought. I have no difficulty with the main disks, as they do sound probably the best (so far) we'll get from these iconic rock songs. But these days when digital music onto portable players is the dominant force, what makes a punter actively seek a physical CD nowadays? In the case of Led Zeppelin re-released material, it simply must be superb packaging, coupled with genuine rarities that make the Zep fan go "Yep, gotta get that".

Here, with Physical Graffiti, we have more lack of thought in that direction. Whilst the sleeves presented here are pretty good, the booklet is simply a throwaway - look at Edsel and Rhino repackages, where the booklets are full of detail, rare pics, bio's, essays, and track details. Not good enough.

But I despair at the bonus cuts here. Most of these are virtually indistinguishable from the actual released tracks! I know Jimmy Page has stacks of Led Zep bootlegs himself, and it frustrates me that I'm having to effectively create my own PG 3rd disk from far more interesting tracks off the boots. The boot "Physically Present" has a longer, and IMO far better sounding alternative "In The Light" (the one genuine goodie on the deluxe 3rd disk), The same boot has loads of other interesting alternative takes, which could have been made available here, notably the missing two takes of "Swan Song", and a fab live "Trampled Underfoot" at 9:35, perhaps surpassed even by the 13:15 superb live version on the "Heineken" Boot from the 1980 tour. All of these I have weaved into the PG 3rd disk myself, and it is all the better for it.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful By Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 28 Feb. 2015
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Some of this might get very nit picky and nerdy........but why review an album that so many others have and not add something new?

Firstly, the packaging is too yellow(let's get the negs out of the road before hitting the main course). It looks sickly in this tone. The care taken with other aspects, some done to perfection, could well have extended to printing it right. The die cut windows are wonderful, all of the inside artwork wonderfully reproduced to a tee. The sleeve inside which the cd's sit in their won printed bags, again doe to perfection. So, mostly top notch.

The booklet is an almost total disappointment. The contact sheets would look great in the 12" vinyl size, but here, in miniature, they are just an eye test. There is also a spelling mistake. B.P. fallon has become B.P. Fallen.......... I wonder if they are trying to suggest something.

Ok, gripes over. What about the contents? Well, this is all good news as far as the main discs go. The remastering has been a relevation in some cases and an improvement in all. A veil has been lifted right across the album and things can be heard that are on the original cd, but not as clearly.

On Boogie With Stu the slap back reverb really pings across the stereo soundstage. Pages acoustic guitar work at the start now sounds clear enough to hear the plectrum hitting the strings whereas before it was just the sound coming out of the body of the guitar. Interestingly, the channels have been reversed. Stu used to be in the left speaker, now he is in the right. Bonhams sticks hitting the frame around the drum shell at the end really come across as wood on metal, rather than clicks.

On In the Light the big plus is John Paul Jones bass playing.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category