Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 August 2013
but frankly I now adore this book.

Even though some could have called me an Arias fanboy, I was in two maybe even 5 minds whether to buy this book or not. I bit the bullet and frankly haven't looked back.

From start to finish the book is filled with nuggets that actually, even though are wrapped within the context of photography, many of the words that have been written resonate in all parts of life. Take some of Zack's words and apply it to whatever business you work within now, or family life or relationships as a larger whole, there's some great words of wisdom in this book.

The writing style frankly is like two blokes sitting in a pub with a healthy amount of tough love thrown on the table. It's not harsh but real and I for one like that. No sugar coated pills, not rose tinted glasses but truth as Zack sees his well travelled road. OK, that road may be different to yours but go read the book, write your review and let's read if it felt the same to you as it has to me.

Zack, I think you gave a whiff that you might be penning another book...on the basis of this one, can't wait.

As good as any book by my another of my fav writers, McNally...high praise indeed I hope.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Zack Arias talk from the heart and you know it makes sense. Good for amateur and budding professionals alike.
I suspect some of the questioners knew his answer but just needed to hear it. The book caters for the American market, naturally but denominations can be easily translated for the UK.
I like the no nonsense approach, some will fall by the wayside but he does inspire you to approach your photography in a different way. If you mess things up, learn from it and move on.
A very handy guide into not catching GAS (gear assisted syndrome). Do you actually know what your lens will shoot and at what distance? Do you know your reciprocals?
You will learn about these things but further reading is required to know the nuts and bolts.
Arias just points you in the right direction.
Now go and do it.
An entertaining read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
I enjoyed reading this book. Amusing anecdotes, lots of information that is useful and the stuff that isn't of much use to me personally was still interesting to read. Don't buy it thinking you'll become a much better photographer, but it gives a reasonable insight into the author's character and issues he's encountered on his photographic journey. Some useful business info and how to deal with situations, but not so much on the practical side of shooting better images. I thought it was worth the money and I'll keep it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Not read all of it yet but like it so far. I know Zak from lighting tutorials and I like his down to earth, gritty and honest style. It is a different kind of photography book but all the better for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
If you have followed Zack's blog or Tumblr site you probably know what to expect from this book. If not hold on to your hat for a no frills, "tell it like it is" guide to technique, equipment, the photography business in general and more. Zack is not afraid to call a spade a spade - no puppy dogs riding unicorns sliding down rainbows. By the end of the book you will realise that you have a lot to learn, a lot of work to do and it's not going to be easy. But more importantly you'll be fired up to grab your camera and go shoot.

This is not supposed to be a comprehensive photography course. If you don't already know an f-stop from a bus stop this book might not be for you. However if you have even a fairly basic knowledge of photography it's fantastic. More to the point if you are serious about perhaps turning pro or even semi-pro then I'd say it was an essential read. The book expands on questions/answers originally asked on his Tumblr site so even if you are a regular reader there's a load more information and examples of work/technique here for you.

I have read a LOT of photography books and this is the only one I have ever read cover to cover in one sitting.

Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
You need to know and love Zack and his works to enjoy the book. Explanations seem to be simplistic but they are straight to the point and without "gear fever". Practical advices. Excellent photoillustrations. Have a feeling I will be coming back to this book again and again. Just like with his DVDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
If you know of Zack and the blog this book came from then why are you reading this review?
If not then let me say he's to the point and writes as he speaks, check his blog to make sure you can handle his brute honesty. The book is full of useful tips and advice Zack gives in a well meaning way. Take the advice and apply it in your own way. This isn't a step by step, hold your hand walk through the lush green meadows of making your photos look cool and getting a crap load of instagram likes. It's just Zack trying to give back to those who reached out to his with real world questions.
Good on him for trying to help those who can't be arsed to help themselves first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I like the book. Not a photography book per se. More a trials and tribulations of a photographer offering many inights for photographers looking to make a business of it or maybe even the more serious photographer who just wants to shoot for fun.

like Zacks work and an interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
However, if like me you just want to improve your basic skills (not equipment knowledge and skills such as lights etc) then maybe look elsewhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
I have watched both of Zack's CreativeLIVE sessions and this dude knows how to lay it all bare. I love his honesty, his rants and the way he inspires others to succeeded. A must read for those who love photography and are feeling like "hacks" lol.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)