Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2001
Andy Rouse; the photographer that has inspired me to spend over £1000 on new camera equipment. This book contains some amazing photographs taken in some very special places, not your avaerage holiday snaps. His knowledge of animal behaviour is second to none and his method of getting the message across is very well done. Having watched his TV series in awe, especially when he was seen lying in the path of a bull elephant to get that 'special' picture, I couldn't wait to get a copy of the books he'd written. Read this book and you too could find yourself dressed in camoflage gear up to your armpits in wildebeest! P.S Get a good insurance policy!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
As mentioned by others, the book was written before digital became the dominant method of image capture. I liked the informal writing style and read most of the book over a two day period. Picked up some great tips but whoever proof-read the book did a very poor job. There were quite a few references in the text to diagrams and photographs which didn't exist. This is being picky though and the book, which contained a little "padding", was well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2001
I ordered this book after booking myself on one of Andy`s courses. The book is well written adn is not filled with helpful tips from gear to how and where to shoot our favourite animals. It covers flash, tripods, photographing fox`s, badgers etc, it is on par with Moose Petersons wildlife books and ranks as one of my favourites.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2008
I have read most of Andy Rouse's books and I still rank this book as his best. It was his first ever book and is not really a showcase of his work but it does contain many of his older photographs. The book is compact and is a complete "how to" guide to wildlife photography. The main focus is educating the reader on the best ways to find and approach wild animals for photography. Excellent articles on how to construct hides and how to get close without disturbing your subject. His fieldcraft knowledge is excellent. I love the way he writes, he is very witty and sarcastic which makes a welcome change from the usual boring guide books. As it was written last century (1999), digital photography is not really covered but all the tips are still 100% relevant to today's photography enthusiasts.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough although it is getting harder to get hold of a copy these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
A mine of useful information. If you are interested in wildlife photography, just buy it!! Both useful for practical advise and generally for inspiration. As another review says, written in the age of film (so to speak) but all completely relevant to the digital photography era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
This book is a "Must read" for every wildlife photographer. It gives some ideas how to photograph deer, fox, badger in the wild. It seems very easy, bet not until you have got some skills and knowledge how to do it. Read it and go out into the wild...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
This Book is Ideal For Your Bookcase,if you like Photographing Wildlife,With so Many Hint's & Tips. Andy Rouse His One of The Top Wildlife Photographers. Just Great !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Very interesting book. Bear in mind that it is written for film cameras so will not apply to all digital aspects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.