Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars59
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Spider Shepherd is a great character and here we have a chance to enjoy more of his backstory while we await the release of the new full novel. As always these stories are perfect for Kindle.

I especially enjoy it when we see glimpses of his days in the SAS and here we have him and his team in a Middle East country helping train some bodyguards and then having to get stuck in when things go wrong. Fast paced and familiar faces make for a very enjoyable short read.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Stephen Leather's writing style as ever makes for an interesting, informative, easy read with an action packed ending. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I actually prefer these anecdotes about Spiders previous life in the SAS to his later escapades as an undercover cop. Well written as always and with very good description and atmosphere of whichever country the story is based in....you can smell the desert and wonder at the lavish lifestyle of some lucky sheiks....! Probably not his best....hence 4 stars....but nevertheless a good read....perhaps too short as it leaves you wanting more....the lure of a good writer.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Brilliant! Could be jack reachers father lol! Travis is a lovable character like Jack and he is s real robin hood. Love it!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Another excellent read in the 'Dan Shepherd in the SAS saga.' It feels like Stephen Leather has a very good perception of what goes on in the SAS. Just shows how good the research is that he does because it feels like you are there. Really enjoyed the book and looking forward to 'White Lies.'
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Stephen never disappoints as always spider shepherd is very good if you like plenty of action think of bond with attitude. A very "tight " story as always once he starts he doesn't stop for anything or anybody. Only have one criticism just so disappointed when I reach the end!!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
another good book from Stephen Leather.Nice sometimes to have a shorter book to read,if you haven't got time to read a longer one.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
As an avid fan of the Spider Shepherd books, this was up to the usual high standard one comes to expect from Stephen Leather.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
I gave this book five stars simply because it introduced me to Spider Shepherd (in a roundabout way), the story is eminently readable & easy to follow & it allows readers without military experience some insight into the world of the special forces.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
An excellent narrative style with supporting characters that are far more believable than you would find in many shorties from other established authors. Self contained and didn't leave me feeling as though it was an excerpt from his next novel.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.