Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2004
If you want to get ahead in your career then I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants their CV to get noticed. The most important information you may need to know in order to do a good CV is in this book. It's broken down in chapters making it easy on the eye - so you won't get bored. And you can go back for reference quite easily. If it could have more of something I would say more examples of CVs. But this is not a very bad negative since it's the advice from the author that is most important. Besides for the price of this book it's definitely worth the money. I've flicked through other books and they are not as good plus they cost more (probably double for what you would pay for this). This book should be read alongside 'The Perfect Interview' - also by the same author.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
This book helped me get my big break! There is a lot of sense in here and if you follow Eggert's examples your CV will get noticed. To be read alongside "The Perfect Interview" by anyone looking for a cool career move, these books will help you make the most of the experience and talents you have, and get you thinking positively.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
Don't ever pay anyone to rework your CV. Buy this book instead! A valuable reference point to keep your CV updated and fresh. Some of it is common sense, but how often do you actually apply this common sense in reality?! It's written from the perspective of HR advisers who will screen your CV and so gives you the best shot of getting past through the first possible line of rejection :o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 May 2009
I work as an IT professional. I have been using the book for years to write my CVs. Many of my friends have also borrowed this book from me. It is very quick to read and easy to understand. There is no need to waste your time ready fat CV books that would take you days/weeks to complete. This just tells you what you need to know to write a professional looking and sounding CV. How to lay it out on the page. What to put & what not to put in it. Write your mission statement. & much much more. You CV will look & read in a very professional manor. Also look at "The Perfect Interview".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
Feeling a little jaded in your current job?

Or perhaps you feel trapped - unable to move to new pastures because of the recession's impact on job availability? If changing the job you have seems an unrealistic option in today's climate then the next best thing is to see the opportunities in where you are now.

To kick start a change in your thinking read Max Eggert's "Perfect CV". Follow the simple process to define you career achievements to date and give your self esteem an immediate boost.

Eggert asks the reader to list those moments when you have thought to yourself, "I really did well there". Then add in some further analysis such as who was it for, who was involved and link it with any means of measuring it's impact. Finally add in the benefits brought about by your action.

He gives the example "improved debt collection time from 85 to 54 days thus ensuring maximum cash flow".

Alternatives are "assisted clients' understanding of fitness classes thus increasing customer satisfaction and gym membership renewals" or "simplified staff feedback forms which increased response rate by 50%".

Follow through on this process and you will also achieve a CV to feel proud of. But who needs a CV in this climate? This time will pass, things will pick up - we know this because they always do. What are you going to have in your CV when this happens? Reviewing your current achievements and looking to those you want to add will give clarity on how you want to develop in your current job. While many sit and wallow in the stagnant job market, use it to get ahead and you'll be ready for when the market picks up.

But this book now when you have the time to shape your achievements or in six months when you're asked to forward a CV as soon as possible for that "ideal job" - which would you choose?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2006
I did love this book. Not only all advice makes sense anyway, but shows the picture from the point of view of the recruiter. It serves as valuable insight and a clear guideline amidst all the debate and opinions on what CVs should be and look like. And the bonus is that it is so much fun to read!! Loved the style, it is funny, it is clear, it is easy. I loved it and recommend it to anybody thinking to set up a basic CV or put their existing one in order. My interviews are now much more pleasant since I notice recruiters do understand what my background is and sometimes even praise the CV itself! (not that it guarantees the job though).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2008
Great help. Much more concise, and far more useful than the other books I bought on the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
The book is very good - it is simple and presents good examples that you can link to your own experience. I particulalry liked the way it took examples of experiences from our personal lives and showed how they could be used within a paid employment environment - particularly useful for people returning to work or starting out in the first place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
I bought this as I need to update my CV and it was fantastic. Couple areas are repeated but on the whole its necessary reading for anyone who wants their CV to be taken seriously. The other great part is that they have examples (good and bad) in the appendix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Excellent purchase, good quality. Historical content is good. Once finished, I hope to get the perfect job. I already have you other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)