Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Titan's Curse - Book 3 [Hardcover]

Rick Riordan
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (203 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.66  
Library Binding £7.07  
Hardcover, May 2007 --  
Paperback £3.85  
Audio, CD, Audiobook £23.17  
Audio Download, Unabridged £9.20 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial

Book Description

May 2007 Percy Jackson & the Olympians (Book 3)
It's the last Friday before the winter holidays but Percy Jackson isn't at school, he's battling the fearsome Manticore (half human, half lion), which in itself isn't ideal ...but with Annabeth missing and the goddess of the hunt held captive, things get a whole lot more serious...This is Greek mythology relocated to modern-day America. It is perfect for fans of "Harry Potter" and "Artemis Fowl".
--This text refers to an alternate Hardcover edition.


Product details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Miramax Books (May 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1423101456
  • ISBN-13: 978-1423101451
  • Product Dimensions: 21.1 x 15 x 2.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (203 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,391,066 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Rick Riordan is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Percy Jackson and the Olympians series for children and the multi-award-winning Tres Navarre mystery series for adults.

For fifteen years, Rick taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas. In 2002, Saint Mary's Hall honored him with the school's first Master Teacher Award.

His adult fiction has won the top three national awards in the mystery genre -- the Edgar, the Anthony and the Shamus. His short fiction has appeared in Mary Higgins Clark Mystery Magazine and Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine.

His Percy Jackson series features a twelve-year-old dyslexic boy who discovers he is the modern-day son of a Greek god. The Lightning Thief was a New York Times Notable Book for 2005. Film rights have been purchased by Twentieth Century Fox and a feature film is in development. The Sea of Monsters was a Child Magazine Best Book for Children for 2006 and a Publishers Weekly and BookSense national bestseller. The third title, The Titan's Curse, made the series a #1 New York Times bestseller, and the fourth title, The Battle of the Labyrinth, had a first printing of one million copies. Rick is also the author of The 39 Clues: The Maze of Bones, another #1 New York Times bestseller. Film rights for The 39 Clues have been purchased by Steven Spielberg and DreamWorks.

Rick Riordan now writes full-time. He lives in San Antonio with his wife and two sons.

Product Description

Review

Praise for Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief: 'One of the books of the year ... vastly entertaining' -- Independent 'It's Buffy meets Artemis Fowl. Thumbs up' -- Funday Times --This text refers to an alternate Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Rick Riordan is an award-winning mystery writer. For the past fifteen years he has taught at middle schools in the San Francisco Bay area and in Texas. Rick lives in San Antonio, Texas, with his wife and two sons. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief was Rick's first novel featuring the heroic young demigod. It was also the overall winner of the Red House Children's Book Award. --This text refers to an alternate Hardcover edition.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Greeks siring kids 19 May 2007
By Amanda Richards VINE VOICE
Format:Hardcover
If you've been following this fascinating series, you'll already know that it is based on Greek mythology, with a touch of artistic license and a ton of humor. Apparently, the big three of Olympus (Poseidon, Zeus and Hades) had reluctantly agreed to stop popping over to earth and siring offspring with the local mortals, in order to nullify a prophecy that foretells certain disaster when said offspring reach the age of sixteen. However, gods will be gods, and as we pick up the story from The Sea of Monsters), we have two potentially dangerous demi-gods running around, namely Percy Jackson, star of the series and son of Poseidon, God of the Sea, and Thalia, who formerly had roots on Half-Blood Hill, and is the daughter of Zeus, Lord of the Sky. This is not to say that some of the other gods weren't busy as well, and the majority of the supporting cast is made up of children of the other residents of Olympus.

This third book of the planned five book series starts with a rescue mission to save two newly-discovered demi-gods from a monster attack, and during the battle, a daughter of Athena is taken, despite the timely arrival of Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt and her hunters. While Artemis sets off alone to hunt another monster that is destined to cause the downfall of Olympus, the rest are sent to Camp Half-Blood for their safety. While there, The Oracle (whose description makes her sound like Norman Bates' mummy) delivers a prophecy that leads to the rest of the action that packs book three from cover to cover.

To cut the story short, a team of five is chosen to set off in search of Artemis, but there is a last minute unplanned substitution, who has another quest or two to fulfill along the way.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too 25 April 2007
By TeensReadToo TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
The SEA OF MONSTERS ended with a bang, with another child of the three gods emerging from the tree guarding Camp Half-Blood. Percy Jackson now has his hands full in THE TITAN'S CURSE, the third volume of the series.

When he answers an urgent call from his best friend, Grover, at a school in Maine, unexplainable things start happening. Grover has found two more half-bloods, who are siblings, but the assistant principal is a powerful monster in disguise. Grover will never get the half-bloods to camp without help. Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia set off for Maine to help Grover, but don't realize that they're walking into a trap.

Dr. Thorn, the assistant principal, has some tricks up his sleeve. When Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt, arrives, things get out of hand. Dr. Thorn falls off a cliff with Annabeth. Artemis goes after her and everyone else returns to Camp Half-Blood. Here, they try to act as normal as possible, but two camper's dreams indicate severe trouble with both Artemis and Annabeth.

The Oracle speaks and five campers must find and bring back Artemis before the Winter Solstice. For the first time, Percy remains behind, but not by choice, and not for long. When Percy meets up with the group, the enemies start showing themselves--and the race to reach Artemis and Annabeth alive becomes more crucial. Can Percy save both them before the Winter Solstice?

THE TITAN'S CURSE leaves the reader hanging, waiting for several important questions to be answered in the final two books of the series. This fast-paced novel, along with the action, makes it a great series for fantasy lovers, reluctant readers, and anyone looking for a good story.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series 8 May 2009
Format:Paperback
I am a 14-year-old girl and I started reading the books when they first came out. I was interested in Greek Mythology and found them interesting and absorbing. The characters were easy to relate too, especially as I was a similar age to them and they told the stories really well. Although I'm now above the age group they're aimed at I still enjoy reading them. I want to know what will happen to the characters - which is always good - and it's nice to know the main characters won't die because: a) It's a kids book, and b) because it isn't the last book in the series.

I'd recommend this to boys AND girls about 9-years-old and over. They are well written, enjoyable to read, not patronizing, and tell you a lot about Greek mythology
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing read 25 Aug 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It was a great read and I literally read it in one day.. I read this once when I was 7 and decided to read it again now my bro got them on his kindle and i am loving them event more the second time round. I'm going to read the rest of the series and try other books by Rick Riordan. 5 stars every time.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good wholesome family read 4 April 2010
Format:Paperback
My wife and I have read the entire series of the percy Jackson books now and really enjoyed them, after reading a lot of crime/thriller books written for adults it was such a refreshing change to have something gripping and entertaining without all the gore and woe of books aimed at adults. There is enough wit and depth to make the books enjoyable for adults, and enough cool action for kids.
Definitely recommended. (unlike the first film of the series, the lightning thief which is so far from the book it is a stretch to give it the same name) Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters, Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse, Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth, Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback