Listen for £0.00 with
Join Amazon Prime now
Get ad-free access to over a million songs and hundreds of playlists with Amazon Prime.
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

More Options
People, Hell & Angels
See larger image

People, Hell & Angels

4 Mar. 2013 | Format: MP3

Join Amazon Prime to add this album to your library for ad-free streaming
£5.49 to buy (VAT included if applicable)
Buy the CD album for £6.52 and get the MP3 version for FREE. Does not apply to gift orders.
Provided by Amazon EU Sąrl. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations. Complete your purchase of the CD album to save the MP3 version to your Amazon music library.
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 1 Mar. 2013
  • Release Date: 4 Mar. 2013
  • Label: Legacy Recordings
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 52:36
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B00BFP1W06
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (91 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 6,258 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
People, Hell and Angels is for Jimi Hendrix completists only.

This is a very disappointing release that is FAR from "12 new studio recordings" as being advertised by Experience Hendrix. Almost all of these songs have been released in far superior versions on readily available retail releases. They have duplicated multiple songs from the Valleys Of Neptune album they put out just a couple of years ago also, including the second single from that album!

I'll break down the technical details of each song so you can see what you're truly getting here.

1. Earth Blues - Several years ago, John McDermott, one of the producers of this album and Hendrix catalog manager said in his book Ultimate Hendrix that this song was "loose" and non-cohesive with it being ultimately abandoned due to tuning and tempo issues. Now he's changed his opinion to calling it "stripped-down funk." Interesting change of heart when it comes time to put together a "new Hendrix album." Additionally, the final studio version mixed by Jimi was released on First Rays Of The New Rising Sun, and then re-released in a deluxe version just a few of years ago. This version on People, Hell and Angels is far inferior and simply a demo that lacks many of the overdubs and embellishments that Jimi himself later added to the version released on First Rays of the New Rising Sun. Confusing as to why they would include this inferior track and call it a "new studio recording."

2. Somewhere - Firstly, Jimi's guitar work shreds on this song. However, this song has a lot of technical issues. Listening to the song carefully, especially the last half, it's easy to notice the amateurish "cut and paste" job Eddie Kramer did on this track, and it's disconcerting to say the least.
Read more ›
31 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful By Stephen Goldsmith on 9 Mar. 2013
Format: Audio CD
The cd packaging is nice, containing rare pictures, and the guitar playing itself is from the maestro. But; there is much to be troubled over here.
What is Experience Hendrix' strategy? There is a risk that newcomers to a release such as this, or Valleys of Neptune or South Saturn Delta will be underwhelmed by what they hear and dismiss Hendrix as overrated. There is a danger that the material released in his lifetime (plus First Rays) will be drowned in a torrent of inferior product.
This is the dilemma. Hendrix fans want unreleased material made available and packaged nicely. The packaging is usually excellent on these products, but the content isn't good enough to release as stand alone cds. Its demos, rehearsals and run-throughs.Its very incomplete work which would be better served by being placed in boxed collections. It could be organised chronologically. This would allow the material to be heard in context. It isn't good enough to release comparatively minor material in a scattershot fashion over increasingly inferior one cd releases. I cannot help but think that in the long run this will damage Hendrix' reputation.
The live release of Winterland also showed muddled thinking. Hendrix never considered releasing this in his lifetime because there is a lot of slipshod playing. If it had to come out, The kind of person who purchased the 4cd box set is likely to be a collector and would rather have all six shows complete.
If we all accept that Hendrix would have been upset with the release of much of this material, then it shouldn't be marketed as if this is weapons grade Hendrix when it clearly isn't. They should concentrate on material that was presented to the public, that is, concert recordings. There should be more thought given to releasing live shows.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
83 of 90 people found the following review helpful By Red on Black TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 4 Mar. 2013
Format: Vinyl
If the treatment of the Jimi Hendrix's legacy by his own estate was marked out of 10 what would it receive? The mind boggling importance of Hendrix is a given. It becomes even more incredible when we realize that he only completed three full studio albums (1970's "Cry of Love" was a posthumous release) and yet 43 years after his tragic death his discography is ever expanding. This is partly due to his prolific nature but also a far old amount of "cashing in" has occurred not least on the Alan Douglas overdubbed albums like "Crash Landing", whilst the demos and curiosities of "South Saturn Delta" had the sound of the bottom being truly scraped.

"People, Hell and Angels," is billed as a collection of twelve previously unreleased studio performances by Hendrix. That is partly true although some of the songs have emerged in other versions since his death. The Hendrix estate is presenting this as the planned follow-up to the great guitarist's masterpiece 1968 album "Electric Ladyland". This frankly is completely overegging the pudding on display here and if you come to the album expecting some kind of "lost" full blown studio work then sore disappointment awaits. Let us state firmly that this is Jimi Hendrix and it is a good album but listening to this it instinctively feels to be little more than a possible template for Hendrix's next set of musical explorations. He clearly was moving in the direction of a more funky jazzy turn and on the evidence of the single "Somewhere" which has Stephen Stills on bass his guitar playing was getting better and better. Opener "Earth Blues" typifies these 1968-9 recordings mostly with Billy Cox and Buddy Miles and differs from the version on "Rainbow Bridge". It is a tight and sassy Hendrix song mercifully free of overdubs and the playing is incendiary.
Read more ›
20 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category