Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Rejoice, telly addicts! This fourth edition proves well worth the five year wait. 1060 pages. 2300 programmes listed, complete with cast lists. Over 1500 potted biographies of those who have helped make television what it is, both on screen and off. Awesomely up to date too - although published in November, an October death is included. Stars are awarded, four indicating excellence. (Curiously none for "Merlin". Surely an oversight?)

Many may aim simply to check a detail, only within moments to become immersed - hours to be spent engrossed in pithy plot summaries and fascinating anecdotes. Some may gasp at the ages of stalwarts still going strong. Late seventies? Eighties? Surely not! (A bit humbling for viewers, rather younger, who creak when reaching for the remote.)

A veritable treasure chest of entertaining information. In a modest introduction Jeff Evans underplays the immense effort involved in such an undertaking, Disarmingly he concedes errors must exist and begs those who spot them to let him know so corrections can be made.

Recommended without reservation, this a work to applaud.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Excellent reference book, updated well from my previous 2003 2nd edition. Better layout, easier to read and to find references.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
This is an excellent book of TV history which is a genuine argument-settler in the detail of the shows. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
How can you get everything about television into one volume? You probably can't, but Jeff Evans gets close. Whether it's Crown Court and Leslie Crowther or Six Million Dollar Man and Six Lives of Henry VIII, pretty much everything seems to be here. Great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
its a good book full of lots of trivia, though I feel it would work better if the actors and TV shows were in seperate sections. Also disapointing is the omission of some great shows including the bafta winning "French and Saunders".
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
The Penguin TV Companion 4th Edition is an excellent reference book which we use almost weekly to check the answers to the Telegraph general Knowledge crossword. It is very comprehensive and almost always provides the answer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Very nostalgic and brings back loads of happy memories. I was surprised how many
programmes I had never seen or even heard of.

I would have given 5 stars if it hadn't been for this.
I found it a little irritating that long running series such as Dr Who, Casualty, Holby, The Bill,
Star Trek, ER and Grange Hill (and others) gave no indication of the years when the
characters appeared in the series.
Other than this, content info is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
I would recommend it to anyone who is a TV buff.An excellent reference book. I use it all the time!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
You don't have to be a TV nerd or geek to enjoy this book. This is a work of such breadth and depth that it is truly breathtaking. Great fun for those who like TV trivia, especially for those of us who say " I wonder what he / she has been in before ?" Also invaluable for the those who like the "history" of TV. Who remembers, for example, that the famous Z Cars mutated into Softly, Softly / Softly, Softly - Task Force / Barlow At Large and finally Barlow. A worthwhile buy!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This is a book I find invaluable when doing crosswords in the Daily Telegraph at weekends.Some of the information does not appear to available in other publications.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)