Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2013
I urge any pearly fan out there to get this V&A publication. I'm unable to attend the exhibition in London so I thought this would be the next best thing. I'm still looking at the pictures! When I have read the text it's extraordinary and fascinating. Well worth a look.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Great book for students of jewelry history...pearls - pearls - pearls!! How they are made...who loved them and wore them...through the centuries...including Cleopatra eating one..(yuck!!)

Great photos with wonderful designs...truly useful for any modern designer or student.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
After going to the exhibition at the V & A I bought this book and I wasn't disappointed , the photographs are clear and colourful. There's a history of how pearls are made whether cultured or natural and the differences between the two.
Great book for a coffee table and a must for anyone with an interest in pearls.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Wonderful book. It goes through the history of pearls, which is very informative, but sadly it does not have more photos of the pieces in the exhibition at the V&A. I was lucky to see it on the last day and it was breath taking.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
An excellent book, a possible cornerstone to any book collection and packed full of information. Was sad to see some fantastic items that were on display at the original exhibition were omitted but that does not detract from the rest which is a feast for the eyes. Both jewelers and those with a general interest in pearls will love this book.

A point of order, however, the large photo on page 147 (Hardback issue) of the turban jewel...is upside down!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Fabulous colection.
Benigno impossível to visit V&A or go to qatar This the only and fabulosa option.
Thank's to Amazon I've learned a lot about Pearls .
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Really nice book but I would have loved to learn a little more about pearls rather than just the pearls from the exhibition but some really nice stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
I did love this book; it was almost as good as going to the exhibition itself... beautiful photos, and inspiring pieces
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
This book is so interesting, its about the history of pearls which supports the V&A museum, I also like how it also shows images in great detail. And another thing with the book it also goes into modern day.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
A stunning book. Saw it in a book shop abroad - very expensive. Very reasonable here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)