Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
46
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Really enjoyed this book. After reading a couple of zombie books over the last few months ,this was one of the only the few characters I didn't want to get bitten in the first few chapters .Well worth the few pence I paid for it .If you only read one zombie novel this year make it this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Slow to start, this is an enthralling story of how one man in small town America comes to terms with the loss of friends and family as the Zombie type plague spreads across the world. Not an unusual scenario for this genre but this is very well told and I found myself living his experiences with him. I particularly like the way his relationships develop over the course of the novel and the positive ending. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
You know those TV shows where you shout at the screen because the characters are doing something really stupid?

Well, this is like that in book form. By the second or third time the main character does something ridiculously stupid to put himself in danger, it becomes a complete stretch of credibility for him to have survived the two post apocalyptic years before the story starts.

Such a shame, because it's well written otherwise, but I just couldn't stick with continually having my intelligence insulted for plot devices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Great read. Finished this in 2 days over the Christmas holiday. I read a lot of post apocalyptic books and this is up there in the top 10 with "the Remaining". It's well written/described and allows you to see/feel the story cleary through Parkers eyes, there are some real elements of tension along with parts that give you a feel good factor, not often found in bleak genre like this! It reminds me of "The Wanderer" by David Anderson. Definitely worth a read if you enjoy this genre and its only 96p!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Enjoyable read, thought provoking due to possible scenarios and proposed reasons for certain survivals. My only disappointment was with the ending, it seemed as though the writer was grasping for a rushed way out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
The first few chapters were quite good,but I didn't like that the zombies could talk that was just silly,also the bit where parker was in a church and two zombies walked in in their Sunday best,and chucked some money into the donation box while praying was just stupid.But I did like how he set the scene,hence the 3 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Hooray for a zombie book that avoids the usual misogynist rubbish. The characters are three dimensional and interesting The plot is fast moving, avoiding the trap of creating a hero without fault, the author instead offers us a protagonist who has to struggle to overcome his own daemons, as well as those who now inhabit this post apocalyptic world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
post apocalyptic novel.not overly original but the author introduces a flawed hero that the reader really cares about.you can feel the sweat and the dirt as well as the fatigue.Well done Ben.Will be recommending this novel to all..ended way too quickly though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
A bit different to the usual ZomBooks, reluctant hero struggling with emotional issues. Found it a little repetitive e.g. he keeps his gun in the inside pocket of the light jacket, yeah, I get it!
There doesn't seem to be any depth to the characters,and even the constant flashbacks don't give an awful lot of background to Parker. It is just a series of random encounters . Disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Liked the story,just a really good read and good twists in the plot, and would recommend it to anyone who wants to read a good zombie story.
Ianyoung1955@gmail.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.