Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2008
It goes without saying that if you like Canon, you'll love this CD. It contains fifteen delicious variations of the Canon (and one Gigue). There are one or two versions that are bound to become your favourites. For one of the most repetitive songs around, I'm amazed to say I've never tired of this song. You know where it's going, but it's still relaxing and uplifting, whether as background music or to listen to mindfully (try listening through headphones to feel ultra calm and wonderful!). Would probably make great background music at a party or wedding reception, shop etc. This CD is a regular feature on my CD player. It's great value for money too. There should be more like it!
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
This is great - but probably not for purists. If variety is the spice of life, variety certainly puts spice into Pachelbel's lovely composition which can become monotonous endlessly repeated as 'musak'. Here it is played by James Galway, sung by Cleo Laine, played by a string quartet, a symphony orchestra and a brass ensemble among others. In this form it is good background music. Put it on, and do the ironing or write that report, and it will make thngs flow along - and fill your head for days with that melody!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This CD contains 15 variations and performances of the popular cannon in D by Pachabel. I have a self made disc of various variations of canon in D that I have acquired over the years, but nothing prepared me for some of the rendition on this disc. With the exception of one or two they were all delightful variations, I particularly liked the piano duet, the guitar version and one played on an exotic bamboo flute which I had not heard before. If you love this ever popular composition by Pachabel, then this is one CD that should be on your shelf.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I was told once that Pachelbel's Canon was just Schmaltz and irredeemable. Well someone forgot to tell the artists on this CD.

Who would think of a Japanese quintet with Koto and Shakuhachi (Japanese end blown flute) playing this masterpiece? I'm so glad that BRR did and it's on this CD, along with many other new takes that surprise and enchant.

The Purists will have apoplexy and clutch their pearls in shock at the liberties taken by some - everyone else can just enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
This cd of Different versions of Pachelbel Canon is just great. It is a very beautiful piece of music and being played so many different ways just adds to the excellence of it.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
My girlfriend and I are going to be playing canon at our wedding as an intro song for the church.

I didn't want to rely on a copied CD as nothing is worse than a Skippy track, especially not on her perfect day!

We had a listen to all the variations, there are a few interesting ones on here, good fun to hear different styles, the flute is beautiful. We have chosen to stick with the classic version, track one. The sound quality is faultless. Recommended for pachelbel lovers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
Arrived in good time and of course the music is great. Why not full marks them? It's one of those CD's you need to turn the volume up beyond the normal sound level to hear it so not totally satisfied but the cost could not be bothered to send it back........ Yes I would buy from this company again as the CD quality is beyound their control
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
A bit samey but, to be fair, when you buy an album which is just 18 variations on the same tune, you know that before you buy it. It's a good selection and it's interesting to hear the different variations of (and based on) such a well-known tune. I also like the title of the album. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
This has the original Canon in D in full orchestral backling which is as it should be. However, the other variations are clever, enjoyable and very original if you can bear to listen to the same theme being played over and over again for 3/4 hour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
A selection of widely ranging different interpretations of the Pachelbel Canon. If you like this piece of music you are in for a treat. Purists may shudder at the idea of some of the selections of instruments and interpretations!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.86

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)