Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2013
When I bought a set of 'New Edition' Nicholsons Guides immediately they were available, I mistakenly hoped for improvements on the earlier edition, with real updates. I should have known better - information still out of date, sometimes by more than a year. Still, that's Nicholsons!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
A first rate guide for anyone who is planning a trip on the southern waterways. Lots of local information, as well as the detail of locks and canal dimensions.
Do phone to check any vital stops, as some of the pub food details had changed. All round very useful and informative.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Was pleased to see an eBook version of this excellent canal guide available.
However, there seem to be some technical problems.
Obviously an book like this is full of colour photos and maps, and so is best viewed on a colour tablet device or laptop (or even desktop PC). I regularly use Amazon's own Kindle App for Windows 8 for reading my Kindle library on my tablet. However, the maps in this Guide don't seem to respond to clicking and zooming on the Kindle App, meaning they're too small to be of any use.
Curiously, they work absolutely fine on my Kindle Paperwhite device (tap a map, punch and zoom to your heart's content) - but a the Paperwhite has a relatively low-res black and white screen, designed for reading novels on, obviously this is a bit useless!
Hopefully the publishers can look into this issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
Having never been to England yet alone on a canal boat I ordered this guidebook for a week long trip from the Gayton Marina. The book was perfect in every way. 100% inclusive of everything needed. We kept the book in a large zip lock bag on deck and were able to plan our days with out a problem. The maps are well detailed and the side text informative. I would highly recommend and book in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Lots of blah and lots of detail, but consequently not so easy to use and lacking some of the practical information you would find in a Pearson's guide. Why did I buy it? Pearsons don't cover all of this area.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
These guides are very informative and, in my opinion, the best for anyone using the waterways.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Being a great waterways fan, this edition is upto date & fantastic.
Hoping to visit the Olympic Park Waterways next year, & the South East, this edition is a MUST!
I have got the full Nicholson's Series now, ALL from Amazon, so that is the place to BUY.
Can't wait to explore the waterways with Nicholson's. Well done & thankyou.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
The long awaited Kindle edition - oh dear! The maps are a mess, too small in normal viewing, and when they are zoomed in the resolution is horribly lacking. And it needs a clickable index, it is pointless having the old paper page numbers on a dumb index at the back when the page numbers are not used on Kindle. Disappointing. Hopefully it will be reworked to bring it into the digital age.
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
actually looks like a amateur transferred it to the kindle the map resolution is so low if you enlarge it ,it becomes unclear .
I took a photo of a map page from the book & that was ok so it must be the conversion.
On my kindle it is useless .& only just usable on a pad .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This is the latest updated version of this Nicholson's guide. It has all of the usual features associated with these maps and, although there are already minor things that require updating, this makes an excellent boating/walking/cycling companion for people using these canals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)