Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars40
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2011
The book gives a poignant insight into 'life' in France on the Western Front in 1915. Easy to read,very informative and a brilliant author.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
I have always loved Arnold Bennett's novels, so was intrigued to find something autobiographical. As I'm fascinated by WW1 as well, this was not to be missed.

The style is rather stilted and the observations a little wooden, but there is much information about the effect of WW1 on the lives of ordinary French people, and descriptions of the immediate aftermath of the war, which are very interesting.

A real 'find' and one I'd recommend to anyone interested in either WW1 or Arnold Bennett.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
This is a fairly short book. It appears to be a series of essays written by an American journalist on a visit to the Western Front. There is mention of the sinking of the Lusitania which was in May of 1915, but no references to events in early 1916 that would have been appropriate in context; so it would seem likely to have been written in the latter part of 1915.

It could be argued that the book is propaganda; the text shows that the author clearly sympathises more with the allies than with the Germans. It is quite possible that the book was destined to be used to make the American public more aware of the conflict, and the nature of the combatents, and to encourage the US to provide support for the allies, but that doesn't detract from the quality of the writing which is really superb.

I found the book truly fascinating. It contains some details of the daily life of the people living in and around the battle zone, as well as some harrowing descriptions of the devastation to the countryside, towns and cities. In particular, there are some really interesting glimpses into the world behind the soldiers; the facilities for providing them with food, drink, laundry, mail and of course munitions. In some ways, it could be said that it is a sanitised view; there is little mention of the true horror that some had to face. But in its way, it rises above the individual and focuses more upon the bigger picture.

This is a really splendid little book.
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I found this an easy read that gave a real insight into the mindset of middle aged white males of the period. It is also a moving account of the destruction that occurred in Ypres. It is unashamedly propagandist but still worth the time to read. It was refreshing to read contemporary accounts from the period, something the kindle is opening up to us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Written in an old-fashioned style without the razz-a-ma-tazz of the modern story teller, a tale of Europe's first major catastrophe of the twentieth century that led to its decline and ended a thousand or more years of cultural advancement, wrecked on the ambitions of dishonest politicians and stupid generals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I am about to visit some of the First World War sites. I downloaded this book with this in mind and have read it once. I shall take my Kindle with me and read the relevant sections again just before visiting some of these places to compare and contrast with what they are like today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
unexpected portrayal of the western front. soldiers well fed and in good spirits. occasional shelling. but civilian infrastructure devastated. this account differs hugely from conventional understanding but is an eye witness account. so well worth a read and a think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
A very worthwhile book in this anniversary year of the conflict, the first war brought about by continued stupidity, I found the content surprisingly chilling full of mans inhumanity but with touches of humour despite the horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
An excellent read for the student of WW1.
Much of the war is shown from a French perspective but this should be obligatory reading for every politician of any Country before they are given power to promote or agree to war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
To read what it was like in the Great War, from a journalists point of view. Great discriptive writing. Very visual words. Recommended for those who want to glimps a period in European history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)