ARRAY(0xa83eb9f0)


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Amazon Add to Cart
9.86
Includes (What's this?)
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Available to Download Now
 
Buy the MP3 album for 7.99
 
 
 
 

Outta Sight / Outta Mind [CD]

The Datsuns Audio CD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
Price: 9.86 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Fulfillment Express and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, 22 April? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
Buy the MP3 album for 7.99 at the Amazon MP3 Downloads store.


Amazon's The Datsuns Store

Music

Image of album by The Datsuns

Photos

Image of The Datsuns

Biography

HEAD STUNTS

A conversation with Dolf de Borst (vocals, bass) about the fourth Datsuns album, Head Stunts

HEAD STUNTS
Lyrically it’s about mind games really, “Head Stunts” is an anagram of The Datsuns. We were aware of it all along but we didn’t want to make it too obvious, I suppose that’s out the window now…
We got a new member of the ... Read more in Amazon's The Datsuns Store

Visit Amazon's The Datsuns Store
for 22 albums, 6 photos, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

Outta Sight / Outta Mind + The Datsuns + Smoke and Mirrors
Price For All Three: 29.60

Buy the selected items together
  • The Datsuns 8.79
  • Smoke and Mirrors 10.95

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Audio CD (7 Jun 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: v2
  • ASIN: B0001XQGJU
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Vinyl  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 88,665 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Samples
Song Title Time Price
Listen  1. Blacken My Thumb 2:460.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  2. That Sure Ain't Right 2:540.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  3. Girls Best Friend 2:470.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  4. Messin' Around 3:390.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  5. Cherry Lane 3:130.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  6. Get Up! (Don't Fight It) 2:270.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  7. Hong Kong Fury 3:500.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  8. What I've Lost 4:010.79  Buy MP3 
Listen  9. You Can't Find Me 3:110.79  Buy MP3 
Listen10. Don't Come Knocking 3:050.79  Buy MP3 
Listen11. Lucille 3:150.79  Buy MP3 
Listen12. I Got No Words 5:210.79  Buy MP3 


Product Description

Amazon.co.uk

Outta Sight/Outta Mind probably won't appeal much to people who felt that the Datsuns' first album was unoriginal; but those who liked the New Zealand quartet's straightforward, no-thrills rock & roll will be overjoyed by this release. With legendary Led Zeppelin bass-man John Paul Jones at the production helm, the Datsuns have created a denim-clad, riff-heavy beast of a rock album. Once again, they combine the brainless punk of the Ramones with the party ready guitars of vintage AC/DC; the result is a collection of 12 songs that are proud to be dumb, from the full-on assault of album opener "Blacken My Thumb" to the dirty blues of "Messin' Around" to the plodding, stoner rock of "Hong Kong Fury". From start to finish, Outta Sight/Outta Mind is music that's fuelled by beer and months out on the road--the essence of pure rock & roll. Yes, it's unoriginal. Yes, it's dumb. But the Datsuns know that the power of rock & roll heals all such things. --Robert Burrow

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW WOW WOW 13 May 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
This album is one of the best I have heard in a long time. Many of the tracks show the influences of Led Zeppelin, AC/DC and even Deep Purple. Brilliant guitar riffs run rife in every track with mesmorizing guitar solos that literally blow your mind away. The Bass guitar is awesome, especially in I've Got No Words, and the drums kick ass!!! Different to "The Datsuns", this album is so much more raw and the band has really come out of its "shell", if you can say they were in one before. BUY IT!!! Nothing will compare with it for a while, unless Led Zeppelin launch another album!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazin 8 Jun 2004
Format:Audio CD
This album is a must buy for all rock n roll fans. it may not be as good as the first one but the first one is hard to beat. the riffs are better than ever and the guitar solos continue to rock it out. there isnt a bad song on the album. the best rock n roll album of the year so far. buy it now!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two words........ Buy It!! 7 Jun 2004
Format:Audio CD
The title sums it up. You will not hear a better album this year I guarantee it. If you like the sound of the 70's rock scene then you simply just need to add this to your basket! The sound (thanks to Mr. John Paul Jones) is so slick and raw at the same time... you can hear every instruments to perfection, from the raucous crunchy guitars, beautifully sounding bass and the superb drums too. Every tune on the album is full of heavy riffs that you'll be humming for ages. You think 'The Datsuns' was good just wait until you hear this, you'll be blown away. My favourite tracks on the album are 'Blacken My Thumb', 'That Ain't Right', 'Messin Around', 'Get Up (Don't Fight It)', 'Hong Kong Fury', 'Don't Come Knocking' & the stand out track for me (like they did with 'Freeze Sucker' on the last album) is tucked away at the end ... 'I Got No Words'. If you only buy this album for one song buy it for this track, its what a Rock track should sound like.
Roll on with the next album!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album rocks! 1 July 2004
Format:Audio CD
I used to be friends with the Datsuns when I lived in Hamilton, but this album exceeds all my expectations. When I met John Paul Jones backstage at a White Stripes gig, he told me he was going for a stripped-back sound. He's a liar! But I'm glad he went the other way. When I was in the D4, we talked about making a really big, glam, 70's sounding rock album. It looks like the Datsuns have beaten the D4 to it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.4 out of 5 stars  13 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite outta sight 20 Sep 2004
By E. A Solinas - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Here's a cool idea: A band that straddles the fence between garage rock and hard-rock. It has no gimmick, save that the band members all call themselves "Datsun." They don't have funny costumes. They don't have a theme. They don't openly imitate retro bands, though they are influenced. They love adrenaline-charged guitar'n'bass rock, and that's what they play. What do you call that? I call it the roots of rock'n'roll -- back when it was all about the turbocharged music.

After a solid self-titled debut, the New Zealand rockers return with an equally solid sophomore album, "Outta Sight Outta Mind." They still have that wonderful bass-heavy, slightly fuzzy sound, reminiscent of Led Zeppelin at their peak -- which isn't hurt by the fact that John Paul Jones (of Led Zeppelin) produced "Outta Sight."

They may not have the flamboyance of the Darkness or the acidic sharpness of the Hives, but the Datsuns have that stripped-down rock flavor. "Blacken My Thumb" opens the album on a fast-driving, hard-rock note, followed up by the cascading riffs of "Lucille," or the percussion-heavy catchiness of "Hong Kong Fury." They sound a bit softer in songs like "What I've Lost," which still rocks as it talks about a girl's pretty face.

Musically they're a lot tighter this time around than they were in "The Datsuns." And they aren't trying to be ironic or too cool. They're just rocking, and they sound pretty passionate about it -- snares, electric guitars and roaring bass all sound ready to explode. Everything runs at a breakneck pace, except "What I've Lost," which is the sweetest song they've done... and it isn't even a ballad.

Definitely the themes aren't too original -- it's mostly about pulling girls and playing rock. These songs were apparently written on the road in mid-tour, so there isn't too much more than that. It's not incredible, but it's definitely not badly written either. It's just... well, it sounds like a rock tour from the inside of the bus.

Is it wildly original and innovative, or multi-dimensional and deep? Not too much. Rather, the Datsuns refine their sound and give it a new jolt, harkening back to when rock was a way of life. In short, it's fun and it rocks.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good indie heavy metal 28 Sep 2004
By alexander laurence - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
This is the second album from the New Zealand band. They hit like a big truck two years with their first album. I saw them play live two years ago and couldn't believe it. They have a lot of talent and conviction bringing back exciting rock. The only problem is The Darkness. The Darkness seemed to come in last year and steal the thunder. The first Datsuns album was near perfect. Even with John Paul Jones on board, they would have pull off a miracle to better themselves. With songs like "Blacken My Thumb" and "Messin' Around" you would think they have answered the tall order. "Messin' Around" even seems like a song from the first album. While the album is pretty rocking it seems like they rushed it. The album loses focus halfway through and you are left scratching your head. Maybe live these songs are a hell of a lot better. The Datsuns can deliver onstage. They spent a lot of time on the road and maybe didn't have enough time to revolt against generic sounds.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed blessing. 10 Oct 2004
By Spoon - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Great stuff! Genius!...But just why in the flaming depths is it so expensive?!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent 4 Feb 2010
By Bill Your 'Free Form FM Print DJ - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
You can tell this was produced by John Paul Jones--yeah, him. This is chunky hard rock from the Datsuns. Great heavy guitar based music, ready to blast the roof off. It has that meaty bass drive that is so typical of Jones' production. Think Presense without the funk and on steroids

Ready for some of the good ol' romp and roll. Get this.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Datsuns ROCK! 12 Nov 2004
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
Hey - I don't care WHERE this group is from - the Datsuns are one of the best new groups on the scene right now. This is one opening act (currently on tour with the Pixies), you DON'T want to miss. I'd say Frank Black and co. are a pretty good judge of talent and they are giving this group a big opportunity (and rightly so) to take advantage of some serious exposure among alternative (whatever the h#ll that means) audiences.

I was quite impressed by their set and immediately went out and purchased their two CDs. The music is unabashedly fast, hard, and loud, high-octane, unadulterated rock and roll. Yep, that description is pretty corn-ball, and yep, that description is dead-on Datsuns.

These guys play with energy and a lot of attitude. Its all very welcome in my book. I like their moxey. I've had enough of 1) angst-ridden, whiny crap bands 2) preachy, political groups telling me who I should vote for and what to think, and 3) deep, self-important "artists" who take themselves WAY too seriously.

These guys get back to the basics - sex, drugs, and rock and roll - kind of like the nihilistic, guitar-driven rock of Janes Addiction back in the Nineties. Take one part Bon Scott's AC/DC, one part early Zeppelin, and one part Cheap Trick (before they sucked) - turn the amp up to "11" and speed it up.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Look for similar items by category


Feedback