or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a 0.25 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Outlaw Nation [Paperback]

Goran Sudzuka , Goran Parlov , Jamie Delano

RRP: 11.99
Price: 10.87 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 1.12 (9%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 30 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details
Trade In this Item for up to 0.25
Trade in Outlaw Nation for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 0.25, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

28 Nov 2006
The complete saga complete in one volume! Story Johnson, a hundred-year-old semi-deranged amnesiac pulp fiction-writer returns home from 25 years MIA in Vietnam. All Story wants is to recover his missing time and catch up with some legendary, larger-than-life Johnson Family members. Trouble is, a lot of cousins have "disappeared," and those that are left have put the blame on him.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details


More About the Author

Born in 1954, Jamie Delano has been writing comics professionally since the early 1980s and admits responsibility for contributing to the development, among others, of such titles as:

CAPTAIN BRITAIN - Marvel Comics
NIGHT RAVEN - Marvel Comics
HELLBLAZER - DC Comics
ANIMAL MAN - DC Comics
CROSSED - Avatar Press

His original comics work includes:

WORLD WITHOUT END - DC Comics
2020 VISIONS - DC Comics Vertigo
THE TERRITORY - Dark Horse Comics
GHOSTDANCING - DC Comics Vertigo
CRUEL AND UNUSUAL (co-written with Tom Peyer) - DC Comics Vertigo
OUTLAW NATION - DC Comics Vertigo

A. William James is Delano's prose-writing incarnation. His novel, "BOOK THIRTEEN" is recently published under his Lepus Books imprint and is available as a KINDLE edition.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars  3 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest comic series EVER! 11 Aug 2009
By D. Moler - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book came out originally from Vertigo and only survived a short while. That's why you can get the entire series in this one, highly accessible volume. The only problem is that it is reproduced without color, which does not damage the reading so much, though the color is missed. Regardless, I would lend this grpahic novel to anyone.

I think Outlaw Nation is an excellent postmodern text, not to mention comic book. To really understand this book fully one has to be familiar with the works of William S. Burroughs. Burroughs invented a mythology that intertwines in and out of his novels, and there are many allusions to it here. Also, Outlaw Nation is about creating a mythology for America, in its own insanely twisted terms, with all of its raw and unfettered history. Highly, highly recommended for fans of Vertigo or Beat-type literature.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A better Westernish yarn than Preacher. 12 Sep 2009
By Ryan - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
This b&w collection of all 19 issues of the canceled Vertigo series "Outlaw Nation" by Jamie Delano, who has written oodles of great comics.

He's sorta took some stuff about America, Burroughs' works, Westerns, and spun it all together into a kind of commentary on the American way of life. It's violent and full of drugs and a little sex (but not tons of nudity really, and one of the characters does phone sex as a job and her kid is perhaps comfortable with that knowledge), and it takes place in the American west. It even has an old timey cowboy sheriff. What more can you ask for?

I reckon some folks would ask for Preacher, a series that took some 70 issues to tell more or less the same story with 200 more uses of profanity, nakedness, violence, and fecal matter, but I suppose Ennis is all about the shock value more than the actual story *coughCrossedcough*. I can't say I really enjoy Ennis, but I know John Q. Publicomix loves his work, enough that for some reason Preacher has hardcovers coming out, which doesn't make lots of sense to me because the story isn't that good, even for the years it came out, and Dillon's got a fan base that seems to think he can draw realistically, but all he does is draw 2 different men and 2 different females. Jim Lee does the same thing almost, but at least his work looks sweet when it's inked.

This collection is not in color, and the issue break pages just have an image of one of the main characters, a hippie chick, instead of B&W covers, which kinda made me sad, but it's also like one of those Essential/Showcase books by the big two, and really, it's like looking at the inked artwork only, which is still pretty awesome and doesn't detract from the tale. In fact, it's possibly enhanced by being Black and White in this comic fan's opinion. The only flaw with it is since it was canceled, some of the events are sort of forced in the last 3-4 issues. But still, this collection is less than a buck an issue!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "Lost" Vertigo series that trumps PREACHER by a mile! 14 Dec 2006
By JackFaust77 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Just caught up with this book years after its premature demise. It is right up there with all the Vertigo classics, from TRANSMETROPOLITAN to PREACHER. Hunter S Thompson would have loved this book!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback