Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles Book 1) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
Price: 2.00

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles Book 1) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles) [Paperback]

Angus Donald
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (99 customer reviews)
RRP: 8.99
Price: 6.79 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 2.20 (24%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 3 Sept.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 5.99  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Paperback 6.79  
Audio, CD, Audiobook, Unabridged --  
Audio Download, Unabridged 14.85 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial

Book Description

23 July 2009 Outlaw Chronicles (Book 1)

When he's caught stealing, young Alan Dale is forced to leave his family and go to live with a notorious band of outlaws in Sherwood Forest.

Their leader is the infamous Robin Hood. A tough, bloodthirsty warrior, Robin is more feared than any man in the county. And he becomes a mentor for Alan; with his fellow outlaws, Robin teaches Alan how to fight - and how to win.

But Robin is a ruthless man - and although he is Alan's protector, if Alan displeases him, he could also just as easily become his murderer....

From bloody battles to riotous feast days to marauding packs of wolves, Outlaw is a gripping, action-packed historical thriller that delves deep into the fascinating legend of Robin Hood.


Frequently Bought Together

Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles) + Holy Warrior (Outlaw Chronicles) + King's Man (Outlaw Chronicles)
Price For All Three: 18.32

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (23 July 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0751542083
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751542080
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (99 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 11,729 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Angus Donald was born in 1965 and educated at Marlborough College and Edinburgh University. He has worked as a fruit-picker in Greece, a waiter in New York and as an anthropologist studying magic and witchcraft in Indonesia. For the past 15 years, he has been a journalist in Hong Kong, India, Afghanistan and London. He is married to Mary, with whom he has a baby daughter, and he now writes full time from home in Tonbridge, Kent.

Product Description

Review

A lively and enjoyable book (Daily Mail)

A tale well told via the thoughts of a flawed hero...not a read for the squeamish (Nottinghamshire Today)

Book Description

An historical epic in the vein of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A familiar story from an original perspective 5 Sep 2009
Format:Paperback
I happened to pick up Outlaw by chance and I'm thoroughly grateful that I did. There are very few people in Britain that don't know the Robin Hood legend, and it seems everyone wants to tackle it lately with books cropping up all over the place and a new film on it's way. So, I wasn't sure what to expect from Outlaw - perhaps a jolly jaunt through the traditional myth.

What Angus Donald has actually done with his first book, is write a story which at it's heart is a coming of age tale. The reader follows the story of Alan, a young boy just beginning to approach manhood, who lives day to day on what he can snatch with his own two hands. It only takes one ill-fated instant for his entire life to take an entirely different turn, and Alan finds himself under the protection of Robin, the outlaw lord of Sherwood. As the story develops the reader is confronted with the same conflicting notions of Robin as Alan, a boy who is both in awe of a man who has already become a folk hero and horror at the violent brutality of a man who will shy at nothing to achieve his goal.

Donald handles the Hood myth with care, introducing all of the traditional characters respectfully but in a historically believable way. He conveys the hardships of life at the time, the political turmoil and the rarefied notions of nobility despite the day to day squalor of life.

All in all, an exciting and enjoyable read. Full of vicious battles, poignant moments and a well written historical setting. It's a good début and I think both the writing and the story will improve from here. I look forward to the next instalment.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Take on Robin Hood 17 July 2009
By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
With Robin Hood currently being back in vogue with many authors tackling the famous outlaw, few seek to strike out on their own as well as Angus Donald as he tells the tale from Alan Dales old age as he looks back on his past as a cutpurse and soon to be outlaw. The tale is not only well written but told with a freshness that has a sense of history injected as the tale clearly shows. You can't help but be drawn into this world through the characters eyes as the brutality of the age meets the cunning of well matched chess opponents. Add to the mix a realistic sense of adventure and the promise of more to come and its definitely a book that could be used to help the Young Adult in your home cross to the world of Historical Fiction in one easy step. I'll look forward to Angus' next novel Crusader currently scheduled for a 2010 release date.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outlawed Men In Tights 6 Aug 2014
Format:Paperback
A good fantasy adventure if that is what you are looking for. Fast paced with plenty of action, and all the traditional characters from the Robin Hood stories. However this is billed as historical fiction and the writer seems completely oblivious to any historical fact in this novel.

The main characters all seem to be either medieval aethiests or medieval protestants, both concepts thoroughly alien to medieval society. Anyone claiming to be an aethiest in the middle ages would be regarded as dangerously insane, and anyone criticising organised religion to the degree they do in this book would have been executed for heresy. Records of medieval life show that they lived in constant fear of their immortal soul and did not casually renounce the church and run off into the woods in some sort of pre-rennaissance utopia.

This however is part of the problem of writing a novelisation of Robin Hood. The actual legend is little more than a popular folk song, written long after any real version of Robin Hood might have lived. Angus Donald has therefore based his book essentially on modern television and film versions of Robin, which explains the casual attitude to religion. This version of Robin Hood is perhaps more ruthless and less fun loving than most adaptations but all the other aspects of the myth are present. There are still the clashes with the Sheriff of Nottingham, and the usual members of the Merry Men are all accounted for. It's all largely based on modern ideas rather than any historical evidence about how a real Robin Hood might have lived.

Perhaps I am taking the whole thing too seriously but it did seem as if Angus Donald might have been happier writing a fantasy novel rather than a supposedly historical novel. It can be enjoyable to read if you can accept that, but to me it just seemed a little bit silly.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story - well told 24 Sep 2013
By Mark Shackelford TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
I found this thanks to an Amazon recommendation (when looking for something completely different!)

I have now read the first four in this series (Outlaw, Holy Warrior, King's Man and Warlord) with delight.
The author takes a realistic view of the life and times of one of England's more colourful legends, and imbues his stories with well written descriptions of the places that our hero visits.
There is a splendid sequence in one of the books, where the narrator (Alan Dale) is going down the Thames in a little boat and describes the various "little villages and open fields" around places like Battersea... great insights!

Plenty of historical events to hang the stories on - whether the Crusades, or the struggle between King Richard and his "dastardly" brother John (... segue into A A Milne... "King John was not a good man, he had his little ways, and sometimes no-one spoke to him, for days and days and days", sorry - don't know where that came from (!)).

This Robin is a little bit of a super-hero, always managing to escape from certain death, and having a "Hustle" [TV] style way of always having a cunning plan, which is never outlined before it happens... which adds to the fun of the stories - how WILL he manage to escape this time!

If you have enjoyed Bernard Cornwell's Authurian series then this is for you
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it
MY FIRST BOOK ON MY KINDLE I LOVED IT CAN,T WAIT TO READ MORE
Published 17 hours ago by David Booth
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved
Wauw... powerful story. Loved it
Published 12 days ago by Schalckens Francine
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
very good book
Published 16 days ago by Dennis Smith
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
not bad, loses a bit towards end.
Published 1 month ago by Peter Nice
5.0 out of 5 stars good
good read
Published 1 month ago by Lorraine Nicholls
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent take on a old story
I like many people grew up reading and watching Robin Hood in various guises and whilst a number of them still hold a place in my heart I always felt they lacked a certain... Read more
Published 2 months ago by S M Wilson
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book
A really enjoyable book and a cunning plot based on the stories I heard as a kid about Robin Hood...and the book arrived prior to expectations
Published 3 months ago by Roger Dixie
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be Read.
An excellent book - bar the usual misprints of this publishing house.
I read 3 of the series after this before gaining this - it is a 'stand alone' historical novel that... Read more
Published 3 months ago by Eve Barratt
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Prompt delivery as described. Will order from again. Fine seller, many thanks and best wishes. What I have come to expect.
Published 3 months ago by Howle Hammer
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great book.
A good read . a lot of action from start to finish. A different story about Robin Hood . very enjoyable. I have got to read book 2 now .
Published 5 months ago by alan
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
Stieg Larsson 1 3 Jun 2010
See all discussions...  
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback