Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles Book 1) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Outlaw Audio CD – Audiobook, Unabridged

128 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Audiobook, Unabridged
"Please retry"
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Customers also viewed these available items

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: Magna Story Sound; Unabridged edition (15 Aug. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1846528437
  • ISBN-13: 978-1846528439
  • Product Dimensions: 18 x 3.9 x 19.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (128 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 4,455,437 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Angus Donald was born in 1965 and educated at Marlborough College and Edinburgh University. He has worked as a fruit-picker in Greece, a waiter in New York and as an anthropologist studying magic and witchcraft in Indonesia. For the past 20 years, he has been a journalist in Hong Kong, India, Afghanistan and London. He is married to Mary, with whom he has a son and a daughter, and he now writes full time from a medieval house in Tonbridge, Kent.

His bestselling Outlaw Chronicles series will be eight books in total and features a ruthless, gangster-ish Robin Hood and his loyal lieutenant Sir Alan Dale. The books take place in a meticulously researched historical background in the reigns of Henry II, Richard the Lionheart, and King John. Angus is always happy to chat to readers on Facebook, Twitter and at his website www.angus-donald.com

Product Description

Review

A lively and enjoyable book (Daily Mail)

A tale well told via the thoughts of a flawed hero...not a read for the squeamish (Nottinghamshire Today) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Book Description

An historical epic in the vein of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful By R. Griffin on 5 Sept. 2009
Format: Paperback
I happened to pick up Outlaw by chance and I'm thoroughly grateful that I did. There are very few people in Britain that don't know the Robin Hood legend, and it seems everyone wants to tackle it lately with books cropping up all over the place and a new film on it's way. So, I wasn't sure what to expect from Outlaw - perhaps a jolly jaunt through the traditional myth.

What Angus Donald has actually done with his first book, is write a story which at it's heart is a coming of age tale. The reader follows the story of Alan, a young boy just beginning to approach manhood, who lives day to day on what he can snatch with his own two hands. It only takes one ill-fated instant for his entire life to take an entirely different turn, and Alan finds himself under the protection of Robin, the outlaw lord of Sherwood. As the story develops the reader is confronted with the same conflicting notions of Robin as Alan, a boy who is both in awe of a man who has already become a folk hero and horror at the violent brutality of a man who will shy at nothing to achieve his goal.

Donald handles the Hood myth with care, introducing all of the traditional characters respectfully but in a historically believable way. He conveys the hardships of life at the time, the political turmoil and the rarefied notions of nobility despite the day to day squalor of life.

All in all, an exciting and enjoyable read. Full of vicious battles, poignant moments and a well written historical setting. It's a good début and I think both the writing and the story will improve from here. I look forward to the next instalment.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 17 July 2009
Format: Paperback
With Robin Hood currently being back in vogue with many authors tackling the famous outlaw, few seek to strike out on their own as well as Angus Donald as he tells the tale from Alan Dales old age as he looks back on his past as a cutpurse and soon to be outlaw. The tale is not only well written but told with a freshness that has a sense of history injected as the tale clearly shows. You can't help but be drawn into this world through the characters eyes as the brutality of the age meets the cunning of well matched chess opponents. Add to the mix a realistic sense of adventure and the promise of more to come and its definitely a book that could be used to help the Young Adult in your home cross to the world of Historical Fiction in one easy step. I'll look forward to Angus' next novel Crusader currently scheduled for a 2010 release date.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By JPS TOP 500 REVIEWER on 26 July 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As many other reviewers have mentioned, one of the main originalities of this book is the way that Angus Donald has chosen to portray Robin Hood: ruthless, cruel at times, unscrupulous and even callous, but also absolutely loyal to his liege lord and to his men, and expecting the same from them. This take is, of course, rather original, and tends to make the character of Robin very plausible, much more so than the traditional paragon of virtue and chivalry that is associated with him in so many other stories about him.

Most reviewers, and in fact the subtitle of the book ("Meet the Godfather of Sherwood Forest") have insisted in his outlaw and robber side. However, the parallel with Marlon Brando or All Pacino's incarnations of the Godfather has its limits. This is largely because, unlike these modern criminals, Robin of Locksley was also fighting what was a kind of civil war against the supporters of John which is superbly illustrated by the battle of Linden Lea (towards the end of the book, of course, because this is the book's climax).

It is also because he was "outlawed", a Germanic legal concept that existed in Anglo-Saxon England, in the Danelaw (where the outlaw was called a "nithing" if I remember correctly) and in Normandy after 911. An outlaw in Anglo-Norman England was, quite literally, "out of the law", meaning that he had not protection to expect from the law, could be killed by anyone without any fear of punishment and anyone who helped him would be punished for it. In the Duchy of Normandy and the Kingdom of England, being outlawed implied confiscation of a lord's lands, who was therefore left destitute, and exile, if this lord or knight wanted to save his life.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ben Kane on 10 May 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This has been on my radar for a long time - pretty much since I saw the iconic cover when it came out actually. Anyway, I finally got around to buying a few months ago. Started it a few weeks ago, and have been gripped by it since. I finished it today! Quite simply, it's a great read.

The main hero and narrator is Alan Dale, a young thief who's taken in by Robert Odo, the outlaw chief. I liked this approach, because all too often, books are written from the historical or main hero's point of view, and that can be a little boring. Having someone who's not on centre stage all the time is very useful. Alan is a clever and endearing character, whom I liked a lot. Robin wasn't the person I expected either - in Donald's book, he's a brooding, complex character who can be very brutal, even downright cruel. There's no 21st century sensitivity here. It's a refreshing and very realistic approach for which Donald is to be applauded. Only the outstanding Robert Low, author of the Oathsworn books; The Whale Road is the first - springs to mind for bringing this to the fore. Centuries ago, no one could be a strong warlord without also being brutal.

Donald's descriptions of 13th century England are excellent, well researched and full of detail; so too are his gripping fight scenes. His torture scenes are excruciatingly well written - I found myself cringing at two of them in particular. I won't go into details here...

In short, Outlaw is a thoroughly welcome addition to my bookshelf. My heartiest congratulations, Angus! I'll be moving onto Holy Warrior, the second volume asap...

Ben Kane, author of Hannibal: Enemy of Rome.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback