Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2006
An in-depth look into the life of the person who lead, in my opinion, the greatest cricket team ever to have played the game. A man who always played his cards very close to his chest, and was able to play mind games better than Jose and Ferguson put together. Finally, we get the chance to see what was going on in the head of one of crickets greats.

Out of My Comfort Zone gives the reader a great interaction into the thinking of the man. The mind games not only with other players, to name but one, Curtley Ambrose in 1995 where we actually find out how he managed to get under the skin of one of the greatest fast bowlers, but also the mind games with himself, and the occasional bought of self doubt that crept into his game. As every cricketer knows, self doubt in a batsman leads to self destruction.

What is also very revealing is the problems that the whole Australian team had with the professional bodies of the game, from the ICC to the ACB, and all the problems of touring and team selection. The difficulty of touring the sub-continent is brought about in stark terms, especially the car bomb in Sri Lanka just before the Aussies arrived for the 95 World Cup. The decision of whether to go ahead with the game in Sri Lanka or not and the conflict this caused is bore out in great detail.

The quality of the book is excellent. To date I have not come across an autobiography which has so much detail in it and is so in-depth in recounting events and scores from the past. A fascinating book which is also excellent rounded off with a chapter from Steve's wife Lynette, who describes life as a cricket widow..... of which much of it my own wife can relate to!!!

An excellent book for any cricket fan.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
Im English, not Australian. And Ive watched test cricket since was I around 8 - and as a ludicrously optimistic England fan. But there comes a time when you simply have to applaud the opposition - and as a player and laterly captain Waugh has no peers (over the last 40 years anyway).
Likewise this book. A league of its own. And youre not short changed at over 800 pages. Why do I love this book so much? It tells you everything you need to know about how to succeed at the very highest level. He WAS an awesome player. His personal collection of photos adds another aspect and dimension to the life of an inspirational sportsman. As does the epilogue from his wife. Easily the best cricket autobiography that I have ever read - and Ive read LOADS. Its a shame so few modern day autobiographies give you value for money like Mr Waugh does - AND some of what you pay goes to his Indian charitable foundation.
If you love test cricket - you cannot fail to devour this greedily.
Thank you Steve
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2007
Steve Waugh may not have been the most attractive player to watch, but as the sort of man who seemed to get runs when it mattered most (or for that matter, pluck a catch out of nowhere or take a wicket with a magic ball), he is certainly one to be respected and admired. He was probably the best of Australia's modern-era Ashes-winning captains, too. So I was expecting this to be full of sage words about the sport - basically the sort of thing the current England team should be using as bedtime reading. It is, too. Especially marked is the difference in attitude between Aussie sportsmen (and non-sportsmen) and their English counterparts. It's a good read. I'd say that this was only marred by three things: a strange reticence about his relationship with his twin brother Mark, the book's extreme length and a tendency towards the end to the sort of self-justification that all too often mars a sporting career.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2010
This is a great book by a great cricketer. As a veteran of over 150 tests, captain of one of the greatest cricket teams of all time, and someone who was ranked the #1 batsman in the world for quite some time, Steve Waugh's credentials aren't in doubt. The impression of Waugh as captain and batsman - astute, decisive, dogged, thorough and inspired are all borne out in this book. Despite it's considerable lenghth, it's an easy read - he writes in a straightforward manner and in an engaging style. It's filled with insights into so many things. Particularly interesting are Waugh's views on his travels - he was clearly keen to get to know the countries and people in the parts of the world he travelled to, and conveys a clear sense of the privilege he's felt in being able to do this. There are some great stories about his times with the Australian team, including such colourful figures as Merv Hughes, David Boon and Allan Border. Waugh is also a fine analyst of the game, offering critiques of his own methods, his views on opponents and the different types of the game. He's also honest in his appraisal of the state of the game over the period he describes. A must for any serious fan of cricket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
This book I was looking to buy for 2-3 years now and finally bought it ! Its the life and endeavor of one of the greatest athletes in the field of Cricket. He is a great sportsman as well as a great person.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2007
I've always been a huge fan, and Im an Aussie, so I am biased. His career went for such a long period you tend to forget a lot of his moments. I for one found this to be a very enjoyable read. I would say that I would have loved if he spilt a lot more beans on some of the behind the scenes stuff but then again he wouldn't be the steely-eyed iceman, never allowing a moment of ill-dicipline if he did. He is the type of cricketer, mentally, that anyone that has played cricket would love to be. As anyone who ever talked about cricket would say, "if you ever wanted someone to bat for your life...it would be Steve Waugh" I found many aspects of the book revealing especially his early years in England and his relationship with his wife.

As to the pearls of wisdom that are in there. I think they're dotted all over the place. I know a lot of clubs took sections out of them and placed them around the club house. As ever they're typical Steve, internalised but in a team motivating way.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Great read, providing insights into the mind of one of the toughest cricketers to have played the game.
I received the book also in great condition and proving my skepticism, of buying a used book, wrong. Kudos to the seller for maintaining the book well and providing an accurate description as well as a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2010
Steve Waugh is a true great of the game & this autobiography shows why - the mental edge & physcological preparation he gave himself before every Innings show why he (along with that great team) stayed ahead of the opposition for a decade and a half.
A real winner in every sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Excellent! Can not believe they make you write so many words for this, you get the idea, I liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
As advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)