Our Lady of Pain and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by PAGETURNERS
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Very Good condition with no significant faults. Clearly used but very few minor defects. Will look good on your bookcase after reading but may not be suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere DAILY POSTING FROM UK. 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Our Lady of Pain Hardcover – 7 Aug 2008


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£39.95 £0.01


Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus (7 Aug. 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847243592
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847243591
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 3.2 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,248,393 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Forbes is good on plot, tension and lurking evil - The Times



A well-written, cleverly plotted first novel - Literary Review



A page-turning and assured debut in the vein of Ruth Rendell and P.D.James from a bright new voice on the scene - Irish Independent



… Absorbing mystery… Did I enjoy this book, yes - am I eager for the next in the series. Very definitely YES. Mystery Woman Magazine

From the Back Cover

What shall rest of thee then, what remain, O mystic and sombre Dolores, Our Lady of Pain? A young woman's naked body is found in the undergrowth of Holland Park. Gagged, with her wrists and ankles bound, she has been posed, almost like a statue, kneeling as if in prayer - or begging for mercy. Stuffed into the woman's mouth is a wad of paper on which is written a verse by a Victorian poet, renowned in his time for his sadomasochistic tendencies. Progress on the investigation is frustratingly slow, until a link is made to another murder that occurred exactly a year earlier… “Forbes is good on plot, tension and lurking evil” The Times.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Gothic Angel on 4 Nov. 2008
Format: Hardcover
I bought this because I enjoyed Elena's first Novel "Die With Me", I wasn't disappointed it was MUCH BETTER than her first one.

The plot slowly develops and I had no idea who did the murderer until the last page.

The characters are very believable but I thought that the pain & perversion could have been brought out more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Walter Hypes on 4 Sept. 2008
Format: Hardcover
As cold and chilly as London in Winter time, this compelling police procedural is a harsh reminder of the price we pay for obsession and the sacrifices we can sometimes make for love. Set just a few months after both Mark Tartaglia and his colleague Sam Donovan battled the serial killer known as the Bridegroom, where both nearly lost their lives, this novel opens as DCI Carolyn Steele calls Mark to a suspicious death at Holland Park, the victim female, late twenties or early thirties, stripped naked, her body kneeling in the snow. When a positive ID is released the Barnes Murder Squad discover that her name was Rachel Tenison, an art dealer who was last seen at work in the West End on one late afternoon a few days ago. According to her business partner Richard Greville she failed to turn up for work the next morning. Rachel's Knees and ankles were taped together and there is bruising on her face and scratches around her mouth; it's also possible that she was sexually assaulted.

Mark, Sam and the rest of the team are certain that if she was killed in the park, this means she was there roughly two days, but there's no evidence of a struggle. Her head was bent right over, touching the ground, and her face was almost entirely hidden beneath a tangle of pale blond hair that spread out stiffly in front of her like waterweed, her skin as white as snow.

Toxicology reports say that she reeked of booze, and there was bruising on her neck and breasts, as though she had been raped and killed by two different people in the space of a few hours. It is almost as though she was drunk and had rough sex, whether consensually or not.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Cloggie Downunder TOP 500 REVIEWER on 2 April 2015
Format: Paperback
Our Lady of Pain is the second book in the Mark Tartaglia series by British author, Elena Forbes. When a naked body is found in the snow in Holland Park, posed in prayer, a Swinburne poem stuffed in her mouth, DI Mark Tartaglia and his Barnes Murder Squad investigate. On closer examination it transpires that the victim, an attractive, wealthy and well-liked art dealer, had secrets of which even her family and closest friends were unaware. Then a journalist claims a link to a year-old cold case, complicating the investigation even further.

In this instalment, Forbes expands on her two main characters, Tartaglia and DS Sam Donovan, both of whom are appealing, in spite of, or perhaps because of, their flaws. The story features S&M, more than one stalker, and a bit of psychological profiling. This page-turner has a clever plot with a red herring or two, a heart-stopping climax and enough twists that the author should worry about being sued for whiplash injury. A brilliant read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Sarah Durston TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 6 Sept. 2008
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
As the novel opens, a body has been found in Holland Park. It is the body of a young woman, posed to appear as if she is praying and with a poem written on paper and put inside her mouth. The woman is identified as Rachel Tenison, an art dealer with secrets to be uncovered. DI Mark Tartaglia and DS Sam Donovan, from the Barnes Murder Squad, are called in to investigate and establish a link to an earlier murder.

This is the first book I have read by Elena Forbes, although I am aware that the characters from this book also appeared in her earlier novel `Die With Me.' This novel does contain several spoilers for the earlier book and so it might be better to read them in the correct order.

I enjoyed this novel immensely and Forbes really does deserve the comparisons to some more established crime writers. Mark Tartaglia is an interesting character (I can just imagine him bombing around on his Ducatti!) and the relationship between him and his DS is interesting and plausible. There is also an impressive cast of minor characters who all appear well-rounded in contrast to the cardboard cut-outs you can find in other similar novels. There are several plot turns, and although I spotted a couple I didn't manage to get them all! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book and am looking forward to seeing what she does next.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Thomas Paul on 15 Feb. 2009
Format: Hardcover
There are several things that I look for in a mystery. The story should make me care about the characters. There should be plenty of clues. The solution should be an "of course" moment. It should be well-paced. "Our Lady of Pain" has all of these. The author does a great job of avoiding the "sophomore jinx" by writing a good follow-up to the first book in her series.

Rachel Tenison, a beautiful art dealer, is found dead in a park one snowy winter morning. Her body is found in a way that suggests a sadistic killer. Who wanted her dead? Was it her business partner, Richard Greville? Her half-brother, MP Patrick Tenison? Her occasional lover, Jason Bourne? Her friend, Liz Volpe? And is this murder related to the murder of Catherine Watson? Detectives Mark Tartaglia and Sam Donovan have to sift through the clues and find the killer. There are enough suspects and clues as well as red-herrings to keep the story moving.

London is a used well as a backdrop in this "noir" mystery where it is always either snowing, raining, or night time. The author creates a dark atmosphere which permeates the story and helps creates a sense of impending evil. It's not the greatest mystery ever written but as an entertaining read it fills the requirements. If you are looking for something fast and cleverly written, then you can do a lot worse than "Our Lady of Pain".
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback