Otter Country: In Search of the Wild Otter and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £20.00
  • You Save: £12.06 (60%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Otter Country: In Search ... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Hardback with title page removed. Half title page remains. Contents are clean, bright and tight. Book appears unread. Dust jacket missing.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Otter Country: In Search of the Wild Otter Hardcover – 6 Sep 2012


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£7.94
£1.21 £1.20

Trade In Promotion


Frequently Bought Together

Otter Country: In Search of the Wild Otter + What Has Nature Ever Done For Us?: How Money Really Does Grow On Trees
Price For Both: £14.93

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Granta Books (6 Sept. 2012)
  • Language: Unknown
  • ISBN-10: 1847084850
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847084859
  • Product Dimensions: 17 x 20.9 x 3.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (38 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 314,086 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

‘You don't have to be an otter fanatic to love Darlington's book... Otter Country is proper nature writing, revealing as much about the writer's obsession with otters as of the animal itself and leaving us in awe of both -’ Sir John Lister-Kaye

‘Wonderful... her book is equal to its subject’ Carl Wilkinson

‘Beautifully evocative... Written in prose as sinuous as the creatures themselves... Otters apparently enjoy a rather illustrious club of fans. Readers of Ms Darlington will be glad she is among them’

‘Sharply observed and lyrically written’ Jason Goodwin

‘Beautifully written... A truly mesmerising and inspirational read’

‘The author is a teacher and poet who writes beautifully and informatively... I have no hesitation recommending this book’

‘Darlington is consistently an agreeable companion - inquisitive, but never a know-it-all, and frequently funny... I challenge anyone not to find [her] writing buoyant and inspirational’ David Profumo

‘A passionate journey, travelled beautifully’ Paul Evans

‘Otter Country captures the raw beauty of the landscape, distilling knowledge from some of the most renowned experts’

‘The writing is sublime ... a piece of sheer joy’

‘Miriam Darlington has written a personal tale of burning quest for one of the most charismatic of all our animals. It is a beautiful book full of sensuous lyricism, but it is also an important contribution to British writing on otters, a tradition in which this country is especially rich’ Mark Cocker, author

‘Otters are one of British conservation's success stories, and this wonderful book is their anthem. The strong clear writing, fascinating research and warm personal voice make it a lovesong not only to otters but to Britain’ Ruth Padel, author

‘Seeing an otter in the wild is one of the most precious and magical wildlife experiences that these islands have to offer, and Miriam Darlington captures that magic perfectly’ Neil Ansell, author of 'Deep Country: Five Years in the Welsh Hills'

‘Miriam Darlington belongs with writers like Mark Cocker and Paul Evans at the peak of the genre. If a better nature book is published this year, I would be very surprised’ Jim Perrin, author of 'West: A Journey through the Landscapes of Loss'

‘This is a diary of utter devotion where landscape is interpreted as otter-text, its messages elusive but traced with deep sensitivity’ Jay Griffiths, author

‘A book to restore that sense of nature red in tooth and claw and our place in amongst it... I turned the last page of Otter Country full of admiration’

‘I was immediately captivated. Darlington is a poet and her prose has a wonderful flow and lyricism... Her passion and forensic attention to her subject are infectious’ Julia Brigdale

‘This book will have you creeping along river banks and lying quietly by pools’

‘The known and loved landscapes of her past and present are evoked with as much care as she gives to her musteline quarry’ Esther Woolfson

‘Beautifully produced... a worthy successor to Tarka and Ring of Bright Water’ John Harding

‘It follows in the tradition of Gavin Maxwell and Henry Williamson, and stands comparison with both... Delightful’ Stephen Moss, Books of the Year

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

About the Author

Miriam Darlington was born and brought up in Lewes, Sussex. A prize-winning poet, she taught French and English for twelve years, before becoming a full-time writer in 2007. Her poetry collection Windfall was published in 2008 (Oversteps Books). She writes for The Countryman magazine, Resurgence and Archipelago. She lives in Devon with two children, one dog, two cats, four chickens and her husband.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Simon Zonenblick on 12 May 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
It is hard to sum up all the qualities of this stunningly beautiful, well written, thoroughly researched and highly readable book, other than by saying it is simply one of the finest books I have read in a long time, and engrossed me from the start.
Miriam Darlington is an accomplished poet whose deft observations of animals and nature are always engaging, and in Otter Country, her first venture into the world of prose, she doesn't disappoint. Split roughly into regional sections, as the author visits various parts of the country in search of the elusive animal, the book provides a fascinating overview of natural Britain, from the "True North" of Scotland, to the "wide curve of sand and mountainous dunes" of Northumberland, with its "gnarled, windblown hawthorns," taking in the Lake District and the surprisingly wildlife-rich canals of east London, to the "glittering river Dart" and the idyllic sounding environs of the author's local area, England's south-west.
There is a lot of thoughtful, insightful poetry and nature writing emanating from this part of the country right now, with writers like David Caddy, Mandy Pannett and Alice Oswald bringing the ancient land-and-water-scapes to life, and Miriam Darlington's fluent style of writing, non-judgemental observations and obvious love of wild animals fits perfectly into this poetic melting pot.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Jonas on 11 Dec. 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I bought Otter Country: In Search of the Wild Otter as soon as it came out in September 2012 and was immediately taken by the brilliantly evocative writing combined with a clear contemporary analysis of the state of the otter in the UK. The author describes Scotland, Northumberland and the Lake District with a skilfully poetic air. The book also has a great narrative structure and is also a page-turner. A highly recommended read for all nature lovers- eco-criticism of the highest order.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By James on 7 Sept. 2012
Format: Hardcover
I bought this speculatively after reading the rave Guardian review that said the author had immediately catapulted herself into the company of the nature writing greats with this book - and they got it just about spot on! This is a great read - part journey across the country in search of the author's beloved otter and part excavation of this animal's literary past, this is really readable and rewarding stuff.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Marc on 30 Nov. 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
On the cover of Otter Country is a puff from Jim Perrin 'If a better nature book is written this year I would be very surprised.' As we approach December I think we can be safely say he was right. Otter Country is a delight; beautifully crafted, passionate and authentic, it chronicles Darlington's quest not just to observe but to understand the otter - and in so doing to discover more of herself. And it's this aspect - the willingness to place herself and her responses into the narrative - that I enjoyed so much. Too many supposed new-nature books use the landscape as a prop for the author's ego - reams of research material supported by a fleeting visit to the 'wild' (the much lauded Edgelands is a classic example). Otter Country is the real deal - Darlington's lifetime obsession is genuine, so too her initial naivety; her need for help, empathy and patience in understanding her subject - Otter Country is as much inner journey as outward quest. All this and exquisitely written too - I read it in a weekend, then again a month later - a rare event for me and further endorsement if it were needed.

Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Wild Hare on 19 Oct. 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This beautiful and readable book is the story of Miriam Darlington's continuing obsession with Britain's wild otters. While another Richard reviewing the volume was disappointed that Otter Country was not a straight ahead account of the natural history of the otter, there is much to be learned about this elusive mammal from this book because what Miriam Darlington has spent much of her life doing is immersing herself both figuratively and literally into the otter's watery world. Every birder knows about 'jizz', the characteristics and feel of a species or family, that helps with identification - this book gives a real sense of the 'jizz' of the otter.

As the author recounts her forays to some of Britain's wildest places, she imparts information on otter biology and the story of its remarkable recovery, but this book is also an exploration of hers and our relationship with the (natural) world, a book about values. The otter is her entry point to a better understanding and perhaps the best way to describe Miram Darlington's relationship with the otter is to use Philip Pullman's concept of the daemon.

The book is beautifully written and that Mirian Darlington is also a poet is evident on every page. The writing is fluid and few books I have read have captured the essence of these island's watery habitats better than Otter Country.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback