Original Works And Transc... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Original Works And Transcriptions
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Original Works And Transcriptions

Price: £28.22 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
12 new from £10.92

Product details

  • Audio CD (7 Oct. 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Tacet
  • ASIN: B004D0YXM4
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 33,150 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Ricercar a 6, C Minor, BWV1079 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
2. O Lamm Gottes, Unschuldig, BWV Deest - Duo Koroliov - Duo Koroliov
3. Durch Adam's Fall Ist Ganz Verderbt, BWV637 - Duo Koroliov - Duo Koroliov
4. Aus Tiefer Not Schrei Ich Zu Dir, BWV687 - Duo Koroliov - Duo Koroliov
5. Allein Gott in Der Hoh' Sei Ehr, BWV711 - Duo Koroliov - Duo Koroliov
6. Sonatina, 'Gottes Zeit Ist Die Allerbeste Zeit', BWV106 - Duo Koroliov - Duo Koroliov
7. Sonata I in E Flat Major, BWV525 - Duo Koroliov - Duo Koroliov
8. Passacaglia in C Minor, BWV582 - Duo Koroliov - Duo Koroliov
9. Kyrie, Gott Vater in Ewigkeit, BWV672 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
10. Christe, Aller Welt Trost, BWV673 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
11. Kyrie, Gott Heiliger Geist, BWV674 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
12. Allein Gott in Der Hoh Sei Ehr, BWV675 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
13. Fughetta Super, 'Allein Gott in Der Hoh Sei Ehr', BWV677 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
14. Fughetta Super, 'Dies Sind Die Heiligen Zehn Gebot', BWV679 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
15. Fughetta Super, 'Wir Glauben All an Einen Gott', BWV681 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
16. Vater Unser Im Himmelreich, BWV683 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
17. Christ, Unser Herr, Zum Jordan Kam, BWV685 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
18. Aus Tiefer Not Schrei Ich Zu Dir, BWV687 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
19. Fuga Super, 'Jesus Christus, Unser Heiland', BWV689 - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
20. Prelude - Evgeny Koroliov - Evgeny Koroliov
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A piano fan on 6 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase
Koroliov's Bach is all about concentration, focus and the clarity of the musical lines. On the one hand, he can bring, when he chooses, a meditative quality to pieces in which time appears suspended; on the other, he is a master in ellicitng and building the tension inherent in the composer's counterpoint. Koroliov's is not an approach to Bach that always works: for me, his recording of the French Suites for Tacet was too austere and lacking in the exuberance that some of the dance-based movements demand. But in his recordings of the Well-Tempered Clavier, and again here, it is an approach that pays rich dividends.

Besides the excellent playing, an attraction of this disc is the unusual and rare selection of pieces that are collected on it. Koroliov plays the 'Ricercar' from Bach's 'Das musikalische Opfer' and several of Bach's two-handed arrangements of Chorales from Book III of the Clavieruebung, short pieces normally played on the organ (I have never heard them on the piano before). There is also Liszt's famous transcription of the Prelude and Fugue in A minor (BWV 543) and Koroliov's own arrangement of the C minor Passacaglie (BWV 582). A real highlight on the disc are Kurtag's lovely Bach arrangements for piano duo; Koroliov plays them here with Ljupka Hadzigeorgieva. These are played more forthrightly and robustly than in the performance by Kurtag and his wife on the ECM Jatekok disc, whilst at the same time retaining the delicacy that is needed to conjure the beautiful, almost reedy sounds of the chorale lines in the treble in 'O Lamm Gottes' and 'Durch Adams Fall'.

Indeed, an unexpected virtue of the disc is Koroliov's pointed and calculated use of colour throughout - not an aspect that I have come to associate with his playing. This is a beautiful disc.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By John Lester on 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase
Great record, marvelous playing
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category