Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2011
There are not many textbooks out there for medical students on such a specialized medical field - ophthalmology. This book is, in my opinion, the perfect book for any medical student that want to know a little bit more than 'just enough' in the field. I found the clinical pictures in this book very useful and better than some of the 'crash course' books out there in the market. I like how the book covers from the basics to ophthalmology (i.e History and examination, drugs, and microbiology) to the diseases in ophthalmology. I love the section at the end of the book called 'clinical decision making' and it helps bring all aspects of the book together - allowing medical students to start thinking clinically in ophthalmology.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2009
Excellent set of pictures which I find is far more useful than text generally. Good concise text summarising key learning points by topic. Would recommend to all GPs and Junior doctors but for more detail then Kansky is a must for those GPwSIs or budding opthalmologists
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2005
This book is written in a way that is easy to understand, but gives all the useful information you need if you are a nurse or doctor learning about ophthalmology, with excellent pictures.
I have the 1999 version at the moment and have found it very useful for post-reg nursing assignments, but it would be equally useful for pre-reg nurses or doctors.
I am assured by Brad Bowling himself that the new version is an improvement even on the 1999 version and intent to get one.
0Comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
It isn't going to give you everything you need for undergraduate ophthalmology exams e.g. duke elder but it touches on a lot of topics that other books don't e.g. ocular oncology which is often not touched on. It is written by a guy from liverpool which has a big centre for oncology so this may explain why. I would recommend it as a stepping stone book and you need other bigger books to help you get to the deeper knowledge. It is good for what it claims to be. Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
this is a very good book with lots of coloured pictures. Very useful when I was on a student placement in an eye department.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
This book has really helped me with my studies. I'm studying Optometry. I particularly like the way that pathology is broken into smaller digestable chunks. Each 2 page spread refers to a particular eye condition. Lots of really helpful diagrams
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
great book,with sections easy to understand,very informative with good clear colour photo's covering a large section of all aspects of the eye.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Clear and concise, everything you need to know if you are a doctor but not an ophthalmologist. Good explanation of pathology.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Very organised book, helpful for my course!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Useful tool at work
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Comprehensive Ophthalmology Care. Voted Top Doctor in Northen VA & DC
  -  
Speak with a Dry Eye Doctor to Get Relief From Chronic Dry Eye Disease
  -  
Need a local eyecare professional you can trust? We can help!