Start reading Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love
 
 

Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love [Kindle Edition]

Laurence Levin
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.00 (57%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Paperback £5.24  
Audio, CD, Audiobook £10.49  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more


Product Description

Review

"This is a story about what can happen when the worst in people meets the best in people and the best wins. In spite of its subject, this is a gentle tale of one man's love for his dog and the angels along the way who brought Oogy into his life" (Susan Richards, bestselling author of "Chosen by a Horse" and "Saddled")

Review

"This is a story about what can happen when the worst in people meets the best in people and the best wins. In spite of its subject, this is a gentle tale of one man's love for his dog and the angels along the way who brought Oogy into his life."---Susan Richards, "New York Times-"bestselling author of "Chosen by a Horse" and "Saddled "

Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oggy the dog only a family could love 18 Feb 2011
Format:Hardcover
What a beautiful book, it made me laugh, cry and feel so many emotions.Our family like the authors have adopted two children both who suffered severely abusive backgrounds and have also had a dog in our family fortunatly our chocolate lab came to us as a 8 week old pup and knew nothing but love and security all his life,sadly we lost him last year due to a heart tumour but his presence is still felt in our home. Our children bonded with him as did the Levin boys with Oggy and sometimes only the dog would do for them as a source of comfort in times of stress in their lives so I know how important dogs are within family life.A lovely book adults and children will love too im sure highly recommended to all.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
In the tradition of Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog and A Buffalo in the House: The True Story About a Man, an Animal, and the American West, two of my all-time favorites, Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love demonstrates how love transcends between an owner and his dog. Rescued by police after his face is mauled as a "bait dog," Oogy is adopted by the author Larry Levin and his family. Levin shares their experiences together with eloquence and genuine insight. As an owner of three rescued dogs, I highly recommend this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book 20 Feb 2011
Format:Hardcover
When I saw the photo of Oogy on the cover of this book I knew I had to find out his story. This is a great heart-warming book about a very loving family and an equally loving dog.
Great read for any dog lovers, thoroughly enjoyed it
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute! 10 Aug 2011
Format:Paperback
The story of Oogy is both touching and inspirational. The author Laurence Levin bonds with this rescued bait dog to a very high intimate level, he and his wife and their adopted two sons warm to Oogy (arised name from ugly) the moment they saw him and agree to adopt him. The story tells of the close bond between author and dog and the hardships that Oogy has faced before coming to a loving caring home.

Oogy inspires people to keep their heads high even when times are tough and is a motivational book to keep moving forward. The dogs soft hearted nature is so sweet that even the exterior of this animal is beautiful =]

a wonderful read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "God Bless You" 20 Mar 2011
Format:Hardcover
I am about a chapter from finishing this book - Loved it. I love Oogy, Larry, all the Levins', Diane and everyone that gave Oogy this wonderful LIFE!!! I was crying so much reading this on a plane - that the flight attendants got quite worried about me. I told them it had a happy ending (that would still make me cry). Larry "God Bless your Heart" - I cannot say that enough xx
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Warming Story! 13 Mar 2011
By Pops
Format:Hardcover
This book is a joyful read. What a dog, What a family!
A wonderful story of a dogs life after horrifying injuries after being a bait dog for dogfighting!
This book gives you hope in humanity and just illustrates have extraordinary dogs are!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely remarkable story 11 Mar 2011
By bugs
Format:Hardcover
I saw his adorable face and just had to no his story.I new then this book i was not going to be able to put down.I was right!!! this truly amasing story of a dog savaged and mutilated and still loved so very dearley.he has found the perfect companions this is a heart warming story left with a warm feeling and a happy ending a truly feel good book !!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever!! Get the tissues out though! 5 July 2013
By Belle
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I love this dog! The story is a true one and will tug at even the strongest of heart strings! Oogy is such a loveable boy and his good nature and love of life after everything he has been through is so courageous and inspiring. He shows humans how to live, love and make the most of life. I believe everyone should read this book at some point in their life. You will cry through most of the book but you won't be able to put it down. Oogy shows us humans the true kind spirit of a dog xXx
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Lovely story.
Published 7 days ago by Jhl Hojsgaard
5.0 out of 5 stars Some humans make up for the cruelty of others.
A wonderful, inspiring book - there are some deeply caring people in the world.
Published 19 days ago by M. Boyd
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational
I liked that there are good people out there. I would recommend this book to anyone dog lover or not
Published 2 months ago by Jackie
5.0 out of 5 stars A good dog
I spotted this book while looking for another one. I ordered this book and was surprised when it arrived within two days. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Williamina M. Gardiner
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely story
Lovely story about the levin family and how oogy became part of it.
An enjoyable read of their journey together and a fabulous example of the relationship between man and dog!
Published 3 months ago by terrible muriel
5.0 out of 5 stars a truly magical story, from great cruelty and sadness to unending...
I was glued to this book, finding it hard to read about the cruelty imposed, but heartened to see that man's cruelty had not destroyed such a wonderfully loving, charismatic, loyal... Read more
Published 3 months ago by Mrs. W. A. Kewley
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding.
Oogy takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions. Shame and despair at how some people treat animals; worry as to whether the vets will be able to help Oogy; gratitude and... Read more
Published 3 months ago by JH
5.0 out of 5 stars very moving story - happy ending
I loved this story, it is kind, heart warming and shows the love humans have toward rescue dogs.

Dog lovers should all read.
Published 3 months ago by alfies
5.0 out of 5 stars oogy
What a lovely lovely story. Read it if you have feelings. Not only has it feelgood factor, but it is based on fact.
Published 4 months ago by Big Al
5.0 out of 5 stars Oogy
I really enjoyed this book. If you love dogs you will fall in love with Oogy who had such a horrific start in life but found a loving family and was such a loyal pet for them.
Published 4 months ago by GreekIT
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category