Start reading Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love [Kindle Edition]

Laurence Levin
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (80 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £4.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £2.00 (29%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.99  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £5.99  
Audio, CD, Audiobook £11.83  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

In 2002, Larry Levin and his twelve-year-old sons, Dan and Noah, took their elderly cat to the vet to be put to sleep. Yet what began as one of the family's saddest days took a sharp turn for the better when the oddest-looking dog they had ever seen bounded across the waiting room into their arms. The friendly white puppy was missing an ear and half of his face was covered in scar tissue, but Larry and his boys soon discovered the truth - the puppy had been used as bait in a dogfight and left for dead, and it was only the tireless work of their local veterinary staff that had saved him.



The Levins accepted the young pup as one of their own from the moment they met him and from that point on he marked himself indelibly on their lives, healing old wounds and showing the boys, themselves adopted as infants, that unbreakable bonds can be formed in all kinds of families.



Product Description

Review

"This is a story about what can happen when the worst in people meets the best in people and the best wins. In spite of its subject, this is a gentle tale of one man's love for his dog and the angels along the way who brought Oogy into his life" -- Susan Richards, bestselling author of "Chosen by a Horse" and "Saddled"

Review

"This is a story about what can happen when the worst in people meets the best in people and the best wins. In spite of its subject, this is a gentle tale of one man's love for his dog and the angels along the way who brought Oogy into his life."---Susan Richards, "New York Times-"bestselling author of "Chosen by a Horse" and "Saddled "

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 983 KB
  • Print Length: 241 pages
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital (20 Jan. 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004J4VZ3E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (80 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #40,349 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oggy the dog only a family could love 18 Feb. 2011
Format:Hardcover
What a beautiful book, it made me laugh, cry and feel so many emotions.Our family like the authors have adopted two children both who suffered severely abusive backgrounds and have also had a dog in our family fortunatly our chocolate lab came to us as a 8 week old pup and knew nothing but love and security all his life,sadly we lost him last year due to a heart tumour but his presence is still felt in our home. Our children bonded with him as did the Levin boys with Oggy and sometimes only the dog would do for them as a source of comfort in times of stress in their lives so I know how important dogs are within family life.A lovely book adults and children will love too im sure highly recommended to all.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute! 10 Aug. 2011
Format:Paperback
The story of Oogy is both touching and inspirational. The author Laurence Levin bonds with this rescued bait dog to a very high intimate level, he and his wife and their adopted two sons warm to Oogy (arised name from ugly) the moment they saw him and agree to adopt him. The story tells of the close bond between author and dog and the hardships that Oogy has faced before coming to a loving caring home.

Oogy inspires people to keep their heads high even when times are tough and is a motivational book to keep moving forward. The dogs soft hearted nature is so sweet that even the exterior of this animal is beautiful =]

a wonderful read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Format:Hardcover
In the tradition of Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog and A Buffalo in the House: The True Story About a Man, an Animal, and the American West, two of my all-time favorites, Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love demonstrates how love transcends between an owner and his dog. Rescued by police after his face is mauled as a "bait dog," Oogy is adopted by the author Larry Levin and his family. Levin shares their experiences together with eloquence and genuine insight. As an owner of three rescued dogs, I highly recommend this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book 20 Feb. 2011
Format:Hardcover
When I saw the photo of Oogy on the cover of this book I knew I had to find out his story. This is a great heart-warming book about a very loving family and an equally loving dog.
Great read for any dog lovers, thoroughly enjoyed it
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "God Bless You" 20 Mar. 2011
Format:Hardcover
I am about a chapter from finishing this book - Loved it. I love Oogy, Larry, all the Levins', Diane and everyone that gave Oogy this wonderful LIFE!!! I was crying so much reading this on a plane - that the flight attendants got quite worried about me. I told them it had a happy ending (that would still make me cry). Larry "God Bless your Heart" - I cannot say that enough xx
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever!! Get the tissues out though! 5 July 2013
By Belle
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I love this dog! The story is a true one and will tug at even the strongest of heart strings! Oogy is such a loveable boy and his good nature and love of life after everything he has been through is so courageous and inspiring. He shows humans how to live, love and make the most of life. I believe everyone should read this book at some point in their life. You will cry through most of the book but you won't be able to put it down. Oogy shows us humans the true kind spirit of a dog xXx
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truely remarkable story 11 Mar. 2011
By bugs
Format:Hardcover
I saw his adorable face and just had to no his story.I new then this book i was not going to be able to put down.I was right!!! this truly amasing story of a dog savaged and mutilated and still loved so very dearley.he has found the perfect companions this is a heart warming story left with a warm feeling and a happy ending a truly feel good book !!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous. 2 Mar. 2012
By sam
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I saw this book in a supermarket and had to have a look- based purely on the picture. i wanted to know what had happened to such a beautiful dog- who looks so much like my own! i didnt buy it then, but i couldnt stop thinking about it so i bought it and i am so glad that i did. The blurb says its about the angels who gave him his life back and his courageous battle to be himself and you know what -its true! this is an amazing story, and it makes me so glad that there are people out there who dont give up on the hopeless and who see with their hearts not just their eyes. The levins and oogy are an inspiration.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category