Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars74
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£34.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 January 2005
Not much to say other than classic british comedy, ignore those who are complaining about missing episodes. This is the series 1-7 nothing more, first off, white mice, xmas trees and licence to drill where never EVER released, the first 2 were Comic relief shows and the last was actually a school educational program! The rest are feature length episodes 1 hour upwards which are NOT classed as part of the series, they are go between episodeds so are not included in this set but! the Specials as they are called can be bought in a box set too.
33 comments|117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Complete Series 1 includes: Big Brother, Go West Young Man, Cash and Curry, The Second time Around, A Slow Bus To Chingford, The Russians Are Coming, and Christmas Crackers.

The Complete Series 2 includes: The Long Legs Of The Law, Ashes To Ashes , A Losing Streak, No Greater Love, The Yellow Peril, It Never Rains, A Touch Of Glass, Diamonds Are For Heather.

The Complete Series 3 includes: Homesick, Healthy Competition, Friday The 14th, Yesterday Never Comes, May The Force Be With You, Wanted, Who's A Pretty Boy, and Thicker Than Water.

The Complete Series 4 includes: Happy Returns, Strained Relations, Hole In One, It's Only Rock And Roll, Sleeping Dogs Lie, Watching The Girls Go By, and As One Door Closes.

The Complete Series 5 includes: From Prussia With Love, The Miracle Of Peckham, The Longest Night, Tea For Three, Video Nasty, and Who Wants To Be A Millionaire.

The Complete Series 6 includes: Yuppy Love, Danger UXD, Chain Gang, The Unlucky Winner Is ...., Sickness And Wealth, and Little Problems.

The Complete Series 7 includes: The Sky's The Limit, The Chance Of A Lunchtime, Stage Fright, Class Of '62, He Ain't Heavy - He's My Uncle, and Three Men A Woman And A Baby.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
I don't normally post reviews but there seems to be some confusion about this product so I hope the following helps.

Unless it is different from the one I have enjoyed for several years (and I am certain it isn't) this is not a newly produced boxset, rather series 1 to 7 as originally released on DVD collected together in one place (box), if you see the difference. You will notice for example that the discs look different - not all identical or "pretty" as they would be in a major overhaul of the product.

There have been cuts, and it says so on the bottom of the box, for contractual reasons to do with the music played as background during some scenes. However, I have all the scripts to the series and there isn't much missing at all (although the subsequent stand alone "Christmas Specials" have been knocked about to their detriment).

I have been really enjoying the set again over Christmas with my 10 year old son - the first time he has seen it - and he loves it, as does the rest of the family. In my view the question of edits is superfluous unless you are an absolute completist. Nothing wrong with that, but if you aren't you will not notice or miss anything of any consequence at all which might spoil your enjoyment and you can buy this collection of top notch comedy with absolute confidence.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2005
Suely the best BBC comedey ever for sheer development alone if nothing else. David Jason is undoubtedly Britain's finest TV actor after John Thaw (and better than many UK film actors) and Lyndhurst is an excellent partner.
The best series are 5, 6 and 7 as the writers progress into much more story based scripts rather than disasters waiting to happen but there is not a single duff episode amongst them.
33 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2005
Only Fools And Horses has been voted Britain's best ever comedy and rightly so. There are many classic moments to be had - too many to mention.
One of my favourite episodes is when the Trotters win a holiday overseas but Rodney has to pretend to be a 14 year old who's part of the "groovy gang" and take part in all the "fun" activities set up by the organisers. Then a young girl in the group develops a crush on our Rodders. Classic stuff!
In this box set you get to watch all 7 series but this does not include the feature length specials which are all sold seperatly.
Only Fools rarely has a bad episode although I did come across one in the first series disc (that I had never seen before even though I thought I'd seen everything there was of Only Fools) where the Trotters find a nuclear war shelter. This was a rather poor episode very low on laughs.
Also there is a distinct lack of extras... as in none whatsover! Why it was decided to add nothing extra is beyond me. Surely there are lots of interesting things hidden away in the vaults. Whatever the reason, the fact of the matter is you're left with a no-frills DVD adaptation of the best British comedy ever. It's worth buying for anyone who's a fan of comedy because Only Fools is timeless.
Go on, buy it you plonker! You know it makes sense!!!
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
The best British sitcom ever......YES! The best put together DVD...NO!
Despite what some reviewers say this is edited by the BBC...it says so on the underside of the box!
However having watched the lot and having seen many OFAH on TV recently the edit is not bad, I have not noticed anything major missing. There is music in the background where its ment to be generally although the exception i noted was in 'Class of 62' where the music to The Mighty Quinn is missing. Otherwise i have noticed nothing else and the DVD is hours of laughs. This is the full collection of series and not the specials and havong read the speical episode DVD reviews I am glad I went fo this as the special;s have been ruined by BBC editing.
If you love Only Fools then this is great value @ arund £30.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
Please not this box set has scenes edited and cut, despite what other reviewers say. To date the BBC has released NO Only Fools box set has been released that is unedited due to licensing of music using in the broadcasting episodes.

If you read the base of this box set it will confirm that "For Contractual Reason Certain Edits Have Been Made From The Broadcast Programmes". The majority of the edits are simple music changes but some scenes have been removed completely, but overall it is till worth the price for such a superb collection.

Also note that it is the specials (such as The Jolly Boys' Outing) that have received the biggest edits compared the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
Excellent DVD box set, can definitely recommend it,it is great to watch Only Fools whenever I like and without adverts. Even my 10 year old daughter loves the series. Great value for money.Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
We love Only Fools and Horses and it was great to be able to watch the complete series. It doesn't have any of the specials included but still great to watch. Would not hesitate to recommend, it was well worth the money. Just need to get the specials now!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2009
Buy THIS VERSION for one reason only!!!!

this is the full UNCUT/EDITED boxset!

almost all the boxsets were edited with missing scenes due to tv regulations and some inappropriate refrences

this is THE ONLY UNCUT SERIES BOXSET THERE IS!

buy any others and scenes will be missing/epsiodes cut short!
22 comments|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)