Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £3.00 (38%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

One Under (The Faraday and Winter series Book 7) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.99

Length: 500 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Similar books to One Under (The Faraday and Winter series Book 7)

Get a Free Kindle Book
Between now and 26 February 2016 you can earn a free Kindle Book by simply downloading and registering the free Kindle reading app, buying a Kindle Book, or buying a book. Learn more
Get a £1 credit for movies or TV
Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle ebook from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle ebooks) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at on Friday, 26 February, 2016. Terms and conditions apply

Product Description

Review

"Dense, layered plotting, complex character development, and thought-provoking details and motives add depth to an engrossing tale of twisted motivation behind a murder. Fans of P.D. James, John Harvey, and Jill McGown will appreciate this solid British crime novel." "Library Journal""

Book Description

Two crimes, two tangles of emotions and thwarted love...From the author of BEYOND REACH.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1163 KB
  • Print Length: 500 pages
  • Publisher: Orion (8 April 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003G4GMRW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #143,867 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
No, I don't think this is his best, but that still puts it pretty high up in my opinion. Hurley has to be the best this country has in trerms of police-procedural. As others have said, begin with the first one [Turnstone] and read them all [this one is N07]. So why not 5*? I think he may have taken on too much here. There are two inquiries with inevitably a whole heap of characters which I tended to find confusing. He does go into psychology quite a bit as well and I'm not sure if I like the ending. I'm another one who didn't know Faraday had a beard!!!!!!! As in other books, Winter tends to dominate, even if he's a bit different this time [for an obvious reason to those who've read thus far] but he's nonetheless likeable. I don't know Portsmouth that well but I do get the feeling Hurley has it spot on. Excellent feeling of place. I'm already looking for the next one!
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
First of all, I should state I am from Portsmouth.

Graham Hurley's novels about Portsmouth, Faraday and Winter are absolutely spot on. He captures the spirit of the city and its environs - the Isle of Wight and parts of south east Hampshire - to a "T". His characters are realistic and his narratives are spell binding.

Ian Rankin, Michael Connelly eat your respective hearts out!

As you may have gathered, I highly recommend Graham Hurley's Faraday novels - buy the lot and start from the beginning!
Comment 15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Hurley is the top of the police-procedural hierarchy. I find Rankin a vastly overrated self-publicist, and many other police procedurals are ho-hum at best.
The key to Hurley, as another reviewer pointed out, is the sense of place. My father was a cop in Portsmouth, and the atmosphere, the language, the description and the sense of sneering, striving desperation is spot-on.
Allied to this, Hurley's characters ring true, and he is prepared to leave a crime unsolved, something many others in the genre would do well to attempt.
1 Comment 11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Michael Watson TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 9 Mar. 2010
Format: Paperback
This seventh novel from Graham Hurley to feature DI Faraday has at last, for me, anyway, reached the five star slot; something not achieved since the very first book, 'Turnstone'. Having said that, these novels seem to concentrate equally, if not the more so, on the rather more interesting character of DC Paul Winter. This book is no exception. Faraday is a likeable charcater in his own way, a loner perhaps searching for something he lost a long time ago when the mother of J-J, their son, died from cancer. But he comes across as a decent, by-the-book copper - thankfully, there are still some around - but this makes his character less vivid from the storytelling point of view. It needs Winter who has now survived a brain tumour op to set the pages alight and this he manages to do with aplomb. Again, we have his ongoing battle to put Bazza Mackenzie away whilst at the same time investigating the case of a missing man whose bank account has been cleaned out. Unfortunately for Winter, the two issues are not connected so Bazza lives to fight another day.

Faraday, on the other hand, has to solve the reasons why a man's mangled body was found in a train tunnel. The way the author deals with the procedural aspects of police work is, as ever, excellent. Portsmouth has not improved during the life of these seven books but then, neither has my hown town. I've been hooked on these books since day one and now, reading the latest Lee Child book, it is interesting to compare the two very different styles of putting a crime mystery thriller on to paper. I like them both but I'm still looking forward to picking up a copy of 'The Price Of Darkness' as soon as I can.
Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A body chained to a railway line, and a missing person. Two seperate crimes. Probably the best 'Joe Farraday' novel yet. As usual, it is Paul Winter that excels as the best character, but this is a plot that you just couldn't guess at. Simply fantastic. Good that Farraday's son JJ is kept out of it (not a character I particularly like). And surprised that Farraday has a beard!! (Has this been mentioned before? I dont recall). It does not fit the mental image that I have of the man. As always, I urge you to read these novels in sequence, not essential, but o so much better! This IS the best so far, highly recommended.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Another well-plotted story in that den of iniquity, Portsmouth. Faraday is the main detective character in this series of crime novels though it was what his assistant Winter gets up which is usually more interesting. Winter The investigation of a particularly gruesome murder becomes two as Winter does his own thing again and gets his own spin-off investigation well underway before sharing it with Faraday. Winter is 5 years on from the death of his wife Joannie and it's been a year since he had surgery in the US to remove an almost fatal brain tumour. He seems even more 'independent' than usual in this case, acting as investigating officer, jury and judge. Things are not as they seem and the manner in which the threads of these parallel deaths are untangled then rewoven culminates in a final picture which may or may not leave you feeling that justice has been served.

This is not Agatha Christie however where by the end, at least, you know 'the goodies' from 'the baddies' and 'the baddies' get their just desserts. Life, alas is much more complicated than that. I won't spoil the end but you can feel it coming from a little way out, just like the train which the book title alludes to. I was hoping that I was misreading the signs. I wasn't, and for me the ending was satisyingly unsatisfactory - unsettling, just because I would have liked things to have worked out differently for all the protagonists.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions