Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars84
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2012
Downloaded this after reading the preview novella, Teasing Trent. Thoroughly enjoyed being totally immersed in a contemporary romance for a change! (It's usually paranormal romance that I go for.)
This author has a real knack for writing emotional, well-rounded characters that find themselves in the ultimate dream world of true love, and all that physically involves!. Add to that a fully functioning family prepared for all eventualities, even the broken and complicated life of Ridley Wells!!
Oh, I can't wait to read more about the Alexanders.......!!
Must admit this was so much better than I expected from an writer with a name that sounds like a retired porn star!! No trashy erotica here!! Just loving (and lustful) sex with a bit of action adventure thrown in!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 September 2013
I've read and enjoyed one other book in this series. So I was keen to read more. This time it's Ridley Wells and Jackson Alexander.

Ridley's friend has been murdered and then her home was vandalised, so she heads to where she will feel safer. At her twin Raina's home. She's a supermodel but she's out of town. So when Ridley gets mistaken for her sister. She realises where better to hide but right under everybody's noses.

The suspense part of this story was very cleverly done and worked well alongside the romance between Jackson and Ridley. Of course pretending to be someone else has its own problems. I really enjoyed this addition to this series. I have only one reservation in that this book was a tad too long. But overall another enjoyable read.
ARC courtesy of NetGalley
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
I had high hopes for this book, the first in a series, from the summary. I haven’t read many, if any, rockstar books so I went into this one with certain expectations. Sadly, they weren’t quite fulfilled. Not completely anyway.

I have to admit, most of my problems stemmed from the characters of Ridley and Jackson. Let’s start with our hero…

From the get go it’s obvious that he’s a doting dad to his two young sons and a serious songwriter/producer. When we read his POV, it’s very clear he’s not after a serious relationship after the passing of his wife, the mother of his boys. And let’s be real, who could blame him? Yet… I expected more music to be interwoven into the story be it performances or jamming sessions. If he’s such a serious musician, he’s very 9-5 about it which just struck me as odd, almost as if he’s a session or jobbing musician in between work. Having said that, he is very much book boyfriend material.

Ridley… well. I have to admit she was the more irritating of the two. I’m sorry, if someone mistook me for someone else the way Jackson does, I wouldn’t go along with it. I would put them straight with a simple explanation – regardless of how ill or scared I was feeling at the time. It just really grated on me as she lied to everyone. Jackson’s acceptance of her really confused me too. I get that he’s not a cynical man, but to introduce an almost stranger to your family the way he did baffled me. I have a large family, and we welcome near enough everyone, but that just didn’t ring true – especially the way Ridley’s inconsistent with some of the things she tells him about herself – or he believes her to be. For example – she’s staying at his house because she’s locked out, yet once she comes clean about her identity, she’s back and forth to Raina’s house for clothes – It felt weird.

It took her over half the book for her to come clean. Once that happened, the book improved for me.

29% into the book, Ridley is lusting after Jackson. I understand insta-attraction, but this felt a little too serious and edging into the insta-love territory which is something I can’t stand in books. Thankfully, this didn’t happen, yet there was a lot of longing on both sides after they first have sex which got frustrating after a while.

The first chapter where Ridley and Jackson head out to the industry meal together is quite possibly my favourite in the book. The entire thing felt natural and really allowed the characters to get to know each other beyond the misunderstanding a lies, and away from Jackson’s house. It could quite easily have been a midpoint chapter in any other romance book.

The mystery side to the story was far too spaced out in the first 2/3 of the book. I wanted to know/read more about the mystery man who followed Ridley to build up to the big reveal which felt a little anti climactic because I’d almost forgotten about him. The big ‘action scene’ was well written and well paced, but felt too pivotal for the build up. It was almost as if everything else in the story was mere filler for this one moment.

The second half of this book was much better and more engaging, but sadly not enough to make me want to read more of the series. I’m just not interested in learning more about the other characters in the Alexander family.

On the whole, it wasn’t a bad book, but could have been so much better. I don’t quite understand how this series is a best-selling one, but that’s just my opinion. I guess it appeals to the masses. I’m glad it was a free download!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Downloaded this after reading the preview novella, Teasing Trent. Thoroughly enjoyed being totally immersed in a contemporary romance for a change!
This author has a real knack for writing emotional, well-rounded characters that find themselves in the ultimate dream world of true love, and all that physically involves!. Add to that a fully functioning family prepared for all eventualities, even the broken and complicated life of Ridley Wells!!

Ridley's friend has been murdered and then her home was vandalised, so she heads to where she will feel safer. At her twin Raina's home. She's a supermodel but she's out of town. So when Ridley gets mistaken for her sister. She realises where better to hide but right under everybody's noses.

Jackson a single father, who knew what love was and lost it. He doesn't know how to open up his heart again, he is the joker, the kind caring guy, the amazing father and the goffball within his friends.

When he comes across Ridley for the first time he is shock at the sudden feelings he has, considering he thinks that she is just his every day next door neighbour that his sons are fond of.

The book is full of great characters - my favourite had to be Jackson - he is sweet, sexy, caring and protective, yet cautious with his heart since he lost his wife in a car accident.

The story is well written with some plenty of twists to prevent it becoming predictable despite the obligatory fairy tale ending. I read it in on sitting, definitely recommend and will be one clicking the rest of this series! The whole Alexander family are so captivating, loving, and damn Scolding HOT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I spotted this book in the book chart and decided to give it a read after enjoying the short prequel Teasing Trent. I'm really glad I did, this book is fab and it was a bargain too at 49p!

The book is full of great characters - my favourite had to be Jackson - he is sweet and sexy yet cautious with his heart since he lost his wife in a car accident. The story is well written with some plenty of twists to prevent it becoming predictable despite the obligatory fairy tale ending.

I can't wait to read the next instalment of the Alexander brothers - The Things I Do For You.

Favourite quote:
"**WARNING**
This book contains cloak and dagger intrigue, family drama, brothers fighting, supermodels with attitude and hot sex between people who can't keep their hands off each other. Just saying..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I absolutely loved reading this book. I read the prequel first and enjoyed that so much that I had to download this book. Would have loved the ending to go on for a bit longer but nevertheless still enjoyed it. Cannot wait for Book 2 and 3 to be published.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
This was a great book! Best book I have read in a while, kept wanting to read more. The characters felt real and although there were naughty bits in it there was also an actual good storyline! Worth a read indeed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
After reading teasing Trent, i downloaded one more day.
This story is about Jackson, a widowed dad to two small boys, and Ridley, twin sister to model Raina.
As you can imagine Ridley gets mistaken for her twin sister, and seeing as how she has gotten herself into a bit of trouble, she decided to play along with it.
As time passes she falls in love with Jackson, as he does with her, but when secrets are revealed it tears them apart.
As with all good love stories this does have a happy ending and no cliff hanger.
I really enjoyed this story so i will be downloading the next in the series.
A lovely easy reading romance story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I loved the free novella and immediately downloaded this book. I always enjoy a good stand alone story. Even though this is part of a promising series(can't wait for Matt's story) this is a full length story in its own right. The characters are really likeable, flaws and all. Which makes them more believable. Ridley was sweet, but feisty enough to avoid being insipid. I enjoyed a heroine that wasn't a blue eyed blonde for a change! The brothers were all yummy and Jackson was irresistibly vulnerable. I will be down loading more! Thanks Ms Malone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Wow, what an excellent read! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. So much that I read it in one day. It's always good to have a love story to get so engrossed in. Most people would say that love doesn't happen as fast as it did in this book but when it happens to you and you are still as in love with your husband 7years on as you were at the start, reading a story like this reminds you of the start of your own wonderful and loving relationship. What a happy read. Thank you M. Malone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse