Once a Rake and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£5.96
  • RRP: £7.99
  • You Save: £2.03 (25%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Once a Rake (Drake's Rake... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Once a Rake (Drake's Rakes) Mass Market Paperback – 31 Oct 2013


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.96
£0.85 £0.74

Trade In Promotion


Frequently Bought Together

Once a Rake (Drake's Rakes) + Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes) + Never A Gentleman: Number 2 in series (Drake's Rakes)
Price For All Three: £18.94

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Forever (31 Oct. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1455519324
  • ISBN-13: 978-1455519323
  • Product Dimensions: 10.8 x 3.2 x 17.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 576,522 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

Readers will love the well-rounded characters and suspenseful plot, and will cheer on intelligent, resourceful Olivia and Lady Kate as they take on disparaging men, backstabbing relatives, and stealthy assassins. (Publishers Weekly Publishers Weekly)

Book Description

New York Times bestselling author Eileen Dreyer delivers the fourth book in The Drake's Rakes series which will appeal to fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Mary Jo Putney.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I haven’t read the previous books in the series, and although this one can be enjoyed as a standalone, there were a couple of times I found myself wishing I had a bit more background information. But that wasn’t often, and it didn’t cause me any major problems in following the storyline.

The thing that hooked me in straight away was the quality of the writing, which had great warmth and depth to it. Our heroine, Lady Sarah Clarke, is working herself into the ground trying to run her small estate with very little help, and to cope with her self-centred mother-in-law and frequently petulant fifteen year-old sister-in-law. Sarah’s husband is in the army and has not been heard from for months and his smarmy cousin, Martin, is his heir. Martin is convinced his cousin is dead, so wants the ladies out of the house and off the land - and isn’t above employing underhand tactics to get what he wants.

Money is scarce, and Sarah works hard on the farm and to keep her little family together, even though Lady Clarke the elder shows her little real consideration. Even so, because Sarah has never really had anywhere she can call home, or anywhere she feels she has ever belonged, this is the closest thing to family she has ever had. Still, the intensity of her feelings of isolation and loneliness leap off the page.

Given the struggle she has to keep things on a reasonably even keel, the last thing Sarah needs is to find a wounded man hiding out in one of her barns.

Colonel Ian Ferguson, an officer in the Black Watch, is on the run, having been accused of making an attempt on the life of the Duke of Wellington.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 34 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Enjoyable Read 31 Oct. 2013
By Duchess of Oakmoor - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Another wonderful addition to the Drake's Rakes series - interesting characters, intriguing story lines, dialogue that keeps you riveted and sweet, steamy scenes... If you haven't read the previous books, you are really missing out on some heart wrenching and heart warming romance.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Disappointing 27 Dec. 2013
By J. Weaver - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I loved the first three books in Dreyer's Drake's Rakes series, but am sad to say that this installment left me feeling rather disappointed. As always, Dreyer has a deft hand for turning a phrase. But this story just dragged for me. While I love the build up of sexual tension in a romance novel, what this book provides instead is a series of overly drawn out kissing scenes that seemed rather cliched and lackluster. The "romance" just wasn't believable to me.

Ian Ferguson might have made for a great hero but for the fact that I don't really see why he would find Sarah so danged attractive. She has been such a doormat to her adoptive parents, to her husband, and to his unappreciative family that I find her difficult to like her much. I also thought the situation with her missing husband and his scheming cousin also was a bit too predictable. Likewise, the female antagonist (Mimi) who has played a role in all of the Drake's Rakes books. By the end of the book, I just got the feeling that "Mimi" would be thrown into all of the planned nine books in the series simply for the sake of providing a continuity, but that she really just detracted from the romance of the story.

In the end, this book is more about continuing the intrigue of Mimi than about the romance of these two characters. I'll probably give the next Drake's Rakes book a chance, but the series is no longer going to be an auto-buy for me.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Love Drakes Rakes and this story! 29 Oct. 2013
By Annette Tilch - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I so had been waiting for this installment of the stories and I was not disappointed. You won't be either if you buy this book. Ian and Sarah have some memorable lines and situations. And se of the other characters are in here too. Including Minette/Mimi is back too. And the flask.
Now I can hardly wait for Fiona and Alex. And what is Lizzy hiding??? And Pip and Beau??
I will be re_reading the other stories before the next book comes out. Enjoy!
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Can one single moment change everything? 29 Oct. 2013
By Mary Gramlich - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Lady Sarah Clarke is keeping everything running until her husband returns from battle. She tends to the lands and the animals fighting off a blood thirsty relative looking to take it all away. The last thing Sarah needs is any more complications so find a traitor in her barn is really turning things in a negative direction

Colonel Ian Ferguson has been accused of an attempted assassination for which he had no part and was in fact wounded himself. He has been keeping under cover and now finds himself in Sarah's clutches because the luck has run out he thinks. Sarah is always one to do the right thing but that is not as clear cut as usual and deciding to help Ian may cause a ripple effect that will ruin everything. However, Sarah looks into Ian's beautiful eyes and sees the truth he is telling and knows she is making the right decision to help him. The upside is everyone believes Ian is deceased and with Sarah's ability to convince the hordes coming to prove otherwise maybe they will get out of this alive.

Fighting for her home, her way of life, alongside a man she has come to love makes Sarah think fate is dealing her an interesting hand. Does she tell him about why she is free to love him, what her true lineage is, or why when dreams come true they are not the ones you have always looked for.

Eileen Dreyer is such a brilliant writer she transports the reader to a time and place with such accuracy you are spellbound with the love and drama one couple is sharing.
Great stand alone - first read in the series for me! 25 July 2014
By Ruckasaurus Rex - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
I stepped into this series at book four, meaning that I had no idea what was going on prior to book four and I had no emotional investment in any of the characters. Despite the lack of connection with the series, Once a Rake stands alone very well, and I am definitely interested in the rest of the series following this read. Ian’s struggle to survive and overcome the many obstacles that are thrust upon him is admirable, and the heroine is (delightfully) no dishrag herself, having taken it upon herself to keep the farm running and fend off all threats to the livelihood of those she considers under her protection. Smuggling, fighting, death threats, military men, Scottish barbarian hunks, gentry and royalty, and of course espionage – what more could the reader ask for in this delightful read? The back story for both the hero and heroine only endear you to them more, and the history provided is more than believable, making you want to root for the home team as the story progresses. There is never a dull moment in this exciting tale of “Historic Romantic Adventure” as the author labels the books in this series.

Ruckie

To Find the Author:
http://www.eileendreyer.com/index.shtml
https://www.facebook.com/EileenDreyer
https://twitter.com/eileendreyer

To Find Me:
http://www.romancereviewsbyruckie.com
https://twitter.com/reviewsbyruckie
https://www.facebook.com/#!/ruckasaurusrex
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback