Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars31
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2010
I'm a white London guy (just saying that so you can see how all types of folk will enjoy this movie) and, although I have watched a few Bollywood films just for fun, this one is absolutely THE BEST ! It's BRILLIANT !!
Yes, of course, you have to completely suspend any sort of belief right from the start and accept that it's a kind of fairytale.
There will be some folk who just won't ever "get it" but, if you DO, then it's a treat.
Shah Rukh Khan (Om) is completely winsome in this role, which is so suited for him & his talents. He is excellent at over-the-top comedy, sings well, can dance, looks good (he worked-out in a gym for 3 months to get that body for his reincarnation "Pain of Disco" number) and is truly a Star.
Deepika Padukone (Shanti) is absolutely beautiful .... my God !

Yes, ok, there are flaws.... yes... ok.. how did he get in the building just by smashing a small pane of glass? ... blah...blah... forget it... just enjoy the drama of it all !
Farah Khan did an excellent job with her movie (I like the in-joke cameo appearance by her, with SRK, at the start!)
The 1st half is very funny & takes the piss out of the 1970s Bollywood films, but it's also quite touching. I love all the banter between him & his brother, and his romantic song with Shanti.
But the 2nd half really shows what Shah can do. The scene when he gets reunited with his Mother & brother is truly tear-jerking, but the scene is played honestly & tenderly, with no melodrama.
The final shot of Shah at the end as he sees his Shanti for the last time is great stuff .... real emotion, torment & pathos showing in his face and, when Shanti turns, smiles & sheds a tear, it's a wonderful moment. Aaaaah!
I just happened to watch it when it was shown the other weekend on Channel 4. I immediately bought the DVD & then watched it 8 times in 2 weeks.
Am really surprised to like this movie as much as I do, but I find something extra in it everytime I watch it.
The music numbers are just great ! Sing along now .... "All hot girls wave your hands in the air. Om Shanti Om. All cool guys c'mon make some noise. Om Shanti Om". !!
Take the plunge & buy it. Accept it. Enjoy it. Love it.
22 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2008
Being a white westerner bollywood films are a new experience for me - Ive only seen a handful up to now and i can easily say this is my favourite up to now, i absolutely ADORED this movie! Myself and a friend saw this at the cinema and we laughed our way through the movie - you cannot help but love Shah Rukh Khan after seeing this! Of course the storyline is incredibly dramatic but it just makes it more fantastic! The acting is amazing and the music just outstanding. Being a huge fan of the phantom of the opera stage show i loved the homage to that - there were homages to old bollywood movies, a lot of which obviously i didn't get, but for true bollywood fans i think they would doubly love this film. Oh but a love of 'cheesy' movies is an absolute essential to appreciate this film!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
Om Shanti Om is a brilliant film with re-incarnation as the central plot line. It has catchy songs, tonnes of star cameos and it is really funny.

It seems to be very popular with first time Bollywood-ers, which is interesting because the first half of the film is filled with many in jokes about 70s Bollywoods that I would imagine such people would not understand at all! Also, the many cameos will probably go unnoticed by them - the Deewangi Deewangi song is literally chock-a-block with famous Bollywood stars and the bit at the awards ceremony references lots of recent films and stars. However, the film is so light-hearted and fun that you can still enjoy it even if you don't get all the jokes.

One reason that many first time Bollywood viewers seem to say that they enjoyed this film is because it was wonderfully silly and slightly over the top. However, I must point out that a lot of this is because this film is gently (and good naturedly) taking the mick out of certain aspects of Bollywood films, especially those from the 70s.

I reccommend this as the perfect feel good film - it will have you feeling wonderful about life by the end.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2008
The plot summary is as follows: Om (Shah Rukh Khan) is a lowly actor in the 70s trying to make it in Bollywood. Throughout his journey in the film industry, he has idolized and fallen in love with Shanti (Deepika Padukone), a big time actress. Eventually, the two meet and strike up a friendship; however, a tragic series of events sees Om being killed and then reincarnated in modern day Bollywood, where there remains some unfinished business to resolve from his previous life.

The director, Farah Khan, manages to successfully pay tribute and mock the film industry and its actors and cliched scripts. For Shah Rukh, this has been a perfect film for his brand of (over)acting and Padukone could not have wished for a better launch into the industry's A list: she is definitely going to be one to watch in the future! For the Bollywood fanatics, many actors from today and yesteryear make guest appearances throughout the film: and at one point, no less that 31 guest appearances in one song! Some of the songs are great and extreamly catchy, whereas others are more average. All in all, Om Shanti Om is a fantastic film to watch because it is so different; while some of the special affects are not perfect, the 70s theme throughout the film is a great reminder of a by-gone era in Indian cinema.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2009
The film is purely artistic because of the wonderful imagery and creativity. Mixing the 70s with modern era divides the film in to two different moods and makes you forget the long hours of bollywood movies. The storyline is full of drama in a very imaginative way! Shahrukh's acting is amazing as usual and it seems like every movie that he does opens up a new dimension to his acting! The rest of cast have also done a good job and the music is one of the strong points of this movie!

As an artist I totally enjoyed the movie and watched it a couple of times and I'm sure that I would want to watch again pretty soon! To summarize 3 strong points in this movie I would say:

Shahrukh , Imagery and the Music
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2008
This is such a terrific movie. Very accessible to Western taste with catchy tunes, good dance numbers and a big leap from recent Bollywood movies - a big step into this Millenium. It has a great plot and Shahrukh Khan is excellent.
This is the movie I saw early on and it hooked me (and my daughter) to Bollywood and we havent stopped watching them since. Highly recommended.
I was raised on musical theatre and Hollywood musicals and this is the real deal in that tradition.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
I've already seen this movie on DVD, and it's great. But on Bluray. WOW, absolutely mindblowing.
These vibrant colors and the cristal sharp picture quality.
This is really a Bollywood experience.

I wasn't sure when I bought this Disc that an Bollywood Blu-Ray Disc could really achieve Blu-Ray quality. Especially when the DVD's often have picture quality problems. But it really does.

I can only recommend to buy this movie on Blu-Ray.

Cause the movie itself is also really great. A real Bollywood-Blockbuster with an interesting and new story and Shahrukh as always at it's best. Ok, the 8-pack on Dard-E-Disco is maybe a bit to much, but hey, the guy is over 40 so it's impressing how hard he must have trained to gain them.

The movie is fun, romantic, emotional, powerful and a great watch.

I'm from germany, but I really prefer the english Blu-Ray than the german DVD release. The DVD has good quality but it really can't compare. This movie is simply too good to miss this exprerience.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This `film within a film' starts off as a light-hearted bit of fun. Trivial points and obsession over becoming a celebrity are dragged out into desperate drama, this is the main source of comedy to start with. It all seems a little bit overacted with no real depth. Once you accept this as a silly film with little substance you can settle down to enjoy camped up performances with some incredibly vibrant visuals - this is one of the most colourful films I've seen in a long time.

*But*...there's a surprise in store. The first half might be plagued with a general feel of dipping below average, but the film makes a comeback!

After Om Prakash Makhija is reincarnated as Om `OK' Kapoor - the rich celebrity he always wanted to be, we see how wealth and fame aren't the true measures of a great man. The annoyingly shallow celebrity obsession we first saw is met with the more balanced reality of the business. The musical numbers start to be less average and far more catchy, and the plot (though far from plausible) actually starts to become gripping!

The fact that this film is set bang in the middle of the Bollywood film industry means it can milk cameos from as many top names as possible. In-jokes about the industry made me smile, especially the build up to an award ceremony where big name Indian actors joined in - any film with a Hrithik Roshan appearance is worth watching! Abhishek Bachchan was a great sport and I loved the gag about "Dhoom 5"! The pantomime starts to redeem itself with this frankly very funny scene, this is a milestone and from here onwards the film gets better.

You get the song-and-dance-spectaculars you expect from a modern Bollywood film, but like I say - you have to wait until the second half of the film to get the best stuff. But when it comes, it's great! I heard people mention that there was a likeness to The Phantom of the Opera, I couldn't really see any parallels until the final part of the film, and what you get is a satisfying conclusion to a film which initially looked to let itself down.

In a nutshell: To start with you have to skip through the individual trailers because you can't get straight to the main menu and when you do eventually play the main feature there's an advert for a finance company - the cheek of it! Then you get a good hour or so of unchallenging dialogue and mediocre dance routines - albeit presented in a vibrant bright way. Just when you start to feel let down by a film which has been marketed as an extravaganza, you find yourself toe tapping away to some of the catchiest tunes to come out of the Indian sub-continent and grinning at all the industry in-jokes before a meaty ending reassures you that this was a film worth watching after all.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2009
There were different reviews about this movie and we were very sceptical to watch it, however it was all well worth it! In the beginning it is a little over the top but it was an excellent movie. Yes, it would not happen in real life, but then how many movies do we see that are not realistic? If you like Farah Khan's movies then you will not be disappointed. A very good story line and it was thoroughly enjoyable. The songs were brill and it was cleverly written. I love all Shah Rukh's movies and I have watched it again and again! Filmy..... very filmy!

If you are thinking of purchasing this movie, go for it! Hope you enjoy it as much as we have as a family!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 'film within a film' starts off as a light-hearted bit of fun. Trivial points and obsession over becoming a celebrity are dragged out into desperate drama, this is the main source of comedy to start with. It all seems a little bit overacted with no real depth. Once you accept this as a silly film with little substance you can settle down to enjoy camped up performances with some incredibly vibrant visuals - this is one of the most colourful films I've seen in a long time.

*But*...there's a surprise in store. The first half might be plagued with a general feel of dipping below average, but the film makes a comeback!

After Om Prakash Makhija is reincarnated as Om 'OK' Kapoor - the rich celebrity he always wanted to be, we see how wealth and fame aren't the true measures of a great man. The annoyingly shallow celebrity obsession we first saw is met with the more balanced reality of the business. The musical numbers start to be less average and far more catchy, and the plot (though far from plausible) actually starts to become gripping!

The fact that this film is set bang in the middle of the Bollywood film industry means it can milk cameos from as many top names as possible. In-jokes about the industry made me smile, especially the build up to an award ceremony where big name Indian actors joined in - any film with a Hrithik Roshan appearance is worth watching! Abhishek Bachchan was a great sport and I loved the gag about "Dhoom 5"! The pantomime starts to redeem itself with this frankly very funny scene, this is a milestone and from here onwards the film gets better.

You get the song-and-dance-spectaculars you expect from a modern Bollywood film, but like I say - you have to wait until the second half of the film to get the best stuff. But when it comes, it's great! I heard people mention that there was a likeness to The Phantom of the Opera, I couldn't really see any parallels until the final part of the film, and what you get is a satisfying conclusion to a film which initially looked to let itself down.

In a nutshell: I initially saw this on DVD but on Blu-Ray the colours are absolutely incredible, this is a truely beautiful film. At first I considered this to be a 3 star film because of the mediocre first half. But after becoming more familiar with the Bollywood genre I can now appreciate the in-jokes and I knew that the film had an ace up it's sleeve - a fantastic second half! The high definition aspect allows this to burst onto your screen in an explosion of glorious technicolour.

You do get a good hour or so of unchallenging dialogue and mediocre dance routines - albeit presented in a vibrant bright way. Just when you start to feel let down by a film which has been marketed as an extravaganza, you find yourself toe tapping away to some of the catchiest tunes to come out of the Indian sub-continent and grinning at all the industry in-jokes before a meaty ending reassures you that this was a film worth watching after all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)