Officium Defunctorum has been added to your Basket

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Amazon
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Officium Defunctorum
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Officium Defunctorum CD

1 customer review

Price: £13.74 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Fulfillment Express and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
16 new from £9.23 4 used from £6.99
£13.74 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by Fulfillment Express and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Conductor: Philip Cave
  • Composer: Tomas Luis de Victoria
  • Audio CD (1 Jan. 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Linn Records
  • ASIN: B000027QUT
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 299,320 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Taedet Animam Meam
2. Ego Sum Resurrectio
3. Benedictus Dominus Deus
4. Introitus: Requiem Aeternam
5. Kyrie Eleison
6. Graduale: Requiem Aeternam
7. Offertorium: Domine Jesu Christe
8. Sanctus: Benedictus
9. Agnus Dei
10. Communio: Lux Aeterna
11. Motectum: Versa Est In Luctum
12. Absolutio: Libera Me

Product Description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By William Burn VINE VOICE on 2 Sept. 2006
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Phillip Cave's ensemble "Magnificat" might be regarded as just another in the long line of professional mixed voice choirs which specialise in music from the Renaissance, were it not for the consistently high quality of their recordings and interesting choices of repertoire. This disc, made in 1995, demonstrates the group's excellent blend, tone and musicality in performing the wonderful Officium Defunctorum by Victoria.

The music is quite marvelous: richly sonorous, sustained, and yet frequently harmonically taking turns which the listener does not expect. The opening movement of the Requiem will be immediately recognisable to anyone familiar with Spanish Renaissance music, but it demonstrates Victoria's distinctive gift for extended suspensions and plangent harmony. In all, this is a wonderful piece of music.

My only question about the disc is the inclusion of a considerable amount of plainchant, weighing in at almost five minutes in total across two tracks. This criticism is not down to the performance: the chant is sung expressively and musically, but it smacks rather of an attempt to "recreate" the mass "as it might have been heard", somewhat in the vein of Paul McCreesh's work with the Gabrieli Consort, but whereas McCreesh includes instrumental music as well as prayers, responds and plainchant psalms, this disc is a mass with a bit chant tacked on for good measure. I would rather Cave had included another motet or two, and made the disc thereby of more wider appeal.

However, this is but a very small criticism of a very enjoyable and excellent disc. Treat yourself.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category