Odds and Gods and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Odds and Gods Audio Cassette – Abridged, Audiobook


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio Cassette, Abridged, Audiobook
"Please retry"
£46.85

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Download your favourite books to your ipod or mp3 player and save up to 80% on more than 40,000 titles at Audible.co.uk.




Product details

  • Audio Cassette
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; Abridged edition edition (23 Jan. 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0001048899
  • ISBN-13: 978-0001048898
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,038,002 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Tom Holt's first book was published when he was just thirteen and, to his horror, he was hailed as an infant prodigy. While studying at Oxford, however, he discovered bar billiards and turned from poetry to comic fiction.

Product Description

Book Description

From one of the best-loved comic writers in fantasy fiction comes another absurdly witty title - perfect for fans of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett --This text refers to the Perfect Paperback edition.

From the Back Cover

In Sunnyvoyde Residential Home the gods pass their days of retirement in quarrelling and generally getting on each other's nerves. Then one day Osiris, Sunnyvoyde's proprietor, discovers that his godson Julian is plotting to take over the world by having him certified. Forced to flee, Osiris seeks refuge in Wolverhampton at the home of his nurse, Sandra, and turns for help to his old friend Pan.

As if that wasn't enough, a group of Sunnyvoyde residents are at large on a flying traction engine…


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Abel on 21 Sept. 2002
Format: Paperback
Odds and gods was the first Tom Holt book i read and he had me hooked. The fantasy is almost believable and the mayhem truely tickles. Some may say its just a farce but hey at least its full of sardonic wit. Downright funny, laugh out loud stuff.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Junior Hornet VINE VOICE on 22 Jan. 2002
Format: Hardcover
I love the way that Tom Holt takes mythology and brings it up to date. After all, if the Romans, Greeks, Egyptians, Norse etc were right (and they were just as devout as the followers of modern religions) then the immortal Gods must still be around.
In this case, they are all geriatrics living in an old Gods' home and subject to Tom Holt's wonderful sense of the ridiculous. Of course, they all get involved in an adventure requiring them to save the universe from the power crazed Godson and which features amongst other things, a traction engine (lovingly restored by some of the Gods) and an Aussie dragon.
This ranks among his better works and is definitely worth reading.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mr. Kevin P. Futers on 5 Sept. 2010
Format: Paperback
I really wanted to give this book more than three. Think of it more like seven out of ten.

Odds & Gods is the story of how the old gods of the world have (mostly) come together in Sunnyvoyde Residential Home and how they react when one of their god-children starts getting ideas above their station.

It is funny, well paced and seems to predate Dan Brown on discussing the minutiae of the workings of hand guns (how did he know this could be a rich vein of humour?)

I think at times he gets too clever for his own good and can hopelessly botch his own premise. For some reason when he has the three witches who share an eye, he throws in that they share an ear too and yet they all somehow manage to have conversations with each other. Perhaps the one with the eye lips reads?

Also, some of the gods are only sketchily studied. Bragi, the Norse god of poetry for example is compared to the head of the Swiss Navy, in spite of there being more Norse poetry available than perhaps any other ancient language other than Greek and Latin. To add insult to injury he has poor Bragi stumbling for rhymes for Glock and other such words. Rhyme? What about alliteration? What about kennings? Rhyme really is an unimportant issue in Norse poetry!

Still, it's humour, not high fantasy. Not even Pratchett, the lord high almighty of funny fantasy, manages convincing levels of thematic continuity. As I say, more of a 7/10 than a 3/5.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 25 April 2001
Format: Paperback
I haven't read this book in a while but I am definatly going to now I've found it here, I originally borrowed it from a friend and it has stuck in my memory ever since. It is extremely funny and Holt never ceases to amaze me with the way he draws you into his books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback