Start reading Ocean Strike on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Ocean Strike [Kindle Edition]

Damien Lewis
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

  • Length: 70 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more

Book Description

December.

Most of the world is preparing for Christmas.

But a small fanatical group of lethal terrorists are preparing for something very different - the most devastating terror attack the world has ever witnessed.

The target.

Britain.

A cargo ship has been hi-jacked.

It is heading for the British coast.

But what is the plan? And how many millions of innocent lives will be lost if it cannot be stopped.

All leave cancelled, the Special Boat Squadron is sent in to action. For the small, dedicated squadron tasked with dealing with the threat, it will be the most lethal mission of their careers.

And the most vital.

The Ocean Strike must be stopped - and the SBS must use whatever force is necessary to foil the terror plot.

And if necessary they must lay down their own lives.

'Ocean Strike' is a chillingly authentic military thriller that brilliant combines operational detail with a page-turning story. It is perfect for fans of Andy McNab and Chris Ryan.

"A gripping, gritty thriller. It hooked me from page one.' - Matt Lynn, best-selling author of the Death Force thrillers.

Damien Lewis has spent twenty years reporting from war, disaster and conflict zones around the world. He has written a dozen non-fiction and fiction books, topping best-seller lists worldwide, and is published in some thirty languages. Two of his books are being made into feature films.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 592 KB
  • Print Length: 70 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (7 Feb. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BDPQSE8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #61,191 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but flawed 26 July 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Terrorists plan to use a hijacked cargo ship in a devastating attack against the UK and only the Special Boat Service can save the day.

Ocean Strike gets off to a promising start and builds tension nicely despite a string of minor errors that really should have been picked up by a good editor.

This novella starts to fall apart around halfway through though with illogical plot decisions that harm the credibility of the tale. The resultant ending feels rather flat.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor 24 July 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This has to be the most disappointing book I've read. Limited plot, a string of one directional characters and a plod along storyline. The book read like a stretched out version on an Ultimate Force TV episode but without the visual impetus. From reading the opening of the the next book Zero Six Bravo it looks like the author hasn't improved any!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great short read 12 Mar. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I downloaded this on a whim and am so glad I did. The author seems to know his stuff and wrote well about the situation and about the characters. I will be downloading more of his books in future as I liked the storyline and the fast pace of it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punchy and Smart 1 Mar. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Ocean Strike is a short but punchy book. Following a well-trodden formula, Lewis still manages to create a page-turner. If you like a thriller that involves a story of an impending threat, a group of highly trained special forces and an explosive action-filled ending - then this is the book for you. Lewis obviously knows his stuff and the soldiers are strong characters with flaws and all. A good read and a nice length for readers who want to sample a well-written thriller.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Frightening Scenario 1 Mar. 2013
By Miss HP
Format:Kindle Edition
It's Christmas, there are terrorists with a plot and a group of highly-trained specialists. Strong characters and a frightening scenario. Lewis's book does what it promises to. For those who are fans of the more `military' style thrillers and soldier banter. It's not as long as some books, but great for injecting some action into your day. Lewis knows his genre well and it shows
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced and Gripping 1 Mar. 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I'm a fan of Damien's books and this one doesn't fail to deliver. Involving some of the scariest villains and one of the most thought-provoking plots. The Special Boat Squadron sent in to stop the attack on Britain has those strong and daring characters that I've come to love in Damien's books. These are no-nonsense men, with courage and a frightening amount of adrenaline. Ocean Strike is perfect for those who like military thrillers and characters who go to extreme lengths to prevent chaos.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
By P.T.S.
Format:Kindle Edition
Short and punchy, this testosterone-fuelled story livens up one's day! Grounding it in the 'it might actually happen' formula, Lewis' story featuring the SBS - the shadowy sister of the SAS - is stripped back to the core elements. There is no side plot distracting the reader, nor is there a differing viewpoint that breaks the breathless momentum. The operational detail, the chilling and page-turning focus, the whatever means at whatever cost culminates in a satisfying half hour read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick read 22 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
Action packed short story that is easy to read. The author seems to know quite a bit about the military but it is easy to pick holes in the chain of events if you really want to. It is far better just to read and enjoy, passing away spare few minutes.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Ocean Strike
SBS - Good story, a bit boy's own for me, but I enjoyed it anyway. Too quick a read to have paid for it, glad I got it through prime. Read more
Published 15 days ago by Frank
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
One to avoid
Published 2 months ago by Dave P.
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
full of trite. I deserve 5 stars for having persisted to the end.
Published 3 months ago by jeremysantos
3.0 out of 5 stars Short on story
To be honest I love all the previous Damien Lewis books. This one though was short, obvious and not very impressive. Shame as the story idea is a good one.. Read more
Published 5 months ago by C Hallam
1.0 out of 5 stars Short story
Not a book, more a short story. Not worth the price. Huge plot holes including unnecessary boat chases (4 helicopters disappearing for no apparent reason? Read more
Published 12 months ago by G. McGowan
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but entertaining.
Recently read author's Bravo Six Zero, which I loved. Ocean Strike is much shorter and not as good but novella is still entertaining and captures mindset and banter of soldiers. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Brittany Poulin
2.0 out of 5 stars good story too short
Good start but a very short tale, left hanging wanting more and feeling slightly chested for my two quids worth.
Published 16 months ago by Huge GW
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor clone
Very limited character investment and development. Just cliche stock characters. Few typos which gave confusion. Read more
Published 17 months ago by lous dad
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally implausible and poorly researched
Too many howlers in this for my enjoyment, the research was poor regarding the voyage times of cargo ships and the plot line was week - not for me.
Published 17 months ago by Carlo
2.0 out of 5 stars Good plot idea spoilt by poor writing craft or editing
This book has a great plot idea but the author fails to apply basic writing techniques to develop it fully. Read more
Published 20 months ago by Kevin Chilvers (Author)
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category