Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars18
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2012
I've used a couple of different, cheaper, windbreaks when camping. Whilst they 'cope' with good weather they fall down as soon as it gets windy, usually because the poles are weak and haven't got ground spikes and too few guy ropes. The difference in quality is apparent as soon as this is unpacked. The poles are sturdy and connected with springs, so putting them together is simple. They also have spikes on each end. One for the ground and one for the fabric. There are 6 guy ropes supplied which are attached ready to go. Having wasted money on inferior products I wish I'd bought this one first. It also matches the tent.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Good quality product, well made and smart looking. Extra height means it works well. Guy ropes ensure it stays up in strong wind. Would recommend.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
Great product! Used cheaper varieties before and come a cropper but this one is great. Plenty of support, pegs are plastic but do the job without any problems and the screen itself is hard wearing and very durable.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Only used the once but so far full marks. Seemed a bit fiddly to put up but as this was the first time and we know what we are doing this won't be a problem next time. Appears to be very good quality and once set up correctly with all the guidelines in place it is really solid. Got up in the mornings expecting it to be collapsed after winds through the night but this was never the case. Great product which I would recommend to others.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
Having purchased one recently and about to use it in anger next week, I can't give too much feed-back yet. However it looks very well made, the bags are also well made and everything is well packed - the poles have their own bag and that fits into the main bag; hence the 5 Stars, BUT READ ON.

At 5mtrs I would like to see five poles, both from a resistance to wind point of view and to be able to 'shape' the wind-break. In higher winds, they can be shaped into a V etc. to protect areas, tents etc. from wind damage, this could be tricky with four poles.

In the past we have used traditional wind-breaks with stakes, sometimes with guys fitted in strong winds.

Having set it up in turbulent winds in the back garden, the first thing I noticed was that the thin poles (16mm) drill into the ground making the guys useless, as they soon became slack due to the poles getting shorter. It is difficult to understand where (ground type) this windbreak is supposed to be pitched in it's current set up; sand or damp ground would result in a fail.

So! I have made a modification. Using a hole saw, I have made four 5mm x 63mm plywood washers and painted them with a waterproof varnish (I have used similar techniques for a folding picnic table feet and a folding cooker table to increase the foot print).
The idea being that the spike (poles are reversible) will act as an anchor and the washer will prevent drilling.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
A good investment overall, as it really does stop the wind factor dramatically.

Lightweight, excellent quality materials used and nice touches like the transparent strip running parallel to the top of the windbreak to allow you to scan outwards visually whilst sat down (!). A spare strip of material is also provided for repair - excellent idea.

My only quibble was that (somewhat ironically) due to the high winds on the camp site we stayed on, the windbreak kept on getting blown down and needed extra tensioning with bungees to keep it upright. Nonetheless, we're very happy with it. A bit fiddly to put up the first time, but once you get used to it, it becomes second nature.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
It's a good windbreak, which I would expect because of the cost but not good in strong wind, easy to erect.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
I found this shield to be very effective. Admittedly there were no strong winds but I feel sure that the guys would have been up to the job. Would certainly recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Looks good quality, but the two middle poles would benefit from guy ropes on both sides otherwise it would have got the extra star.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Seems to stand up to the winds, very stable a bit fiddly to put up, ground spikes could have been a bit longer
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)