Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars41
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2011
This book is a conventional AS Revision Guide with a wealth of essential material relevant to students wishing to improve their knowledge and grades as well as an important teaching tool for Chemistry Tutors, Lecturers and Classroom Teachers. I found that it contained much information that was not always contained across the spreads in the main course book, for instance the rules regarding Oxidation Numbers, whilst the questions were useful spot checks on a student's knowledge, progress and confidence at a given level.

For these reasons I use in conjunction with rather than instead of the equivalent course book, but be careful as not all spreads are given equal prominence in this leaner, more compact Guide. There are no "mind maps", but highlighting in bold, key words, quick checks, worked examples and examiner's tips are liberally scattered to focus the individual's attention, and the diagrams are not too small so easy to follow.

This book failed to achieve a five star rating with me because it is poor on structural relationships where 3D shapes have to be represented on a 2D page: bromine with alkenes, P58, hydrogen bonding in alcohols, P60, structures and shapes on Pp 24 & 28, etc etc. Good on Hess's law, reaction rates, and tolerable on Spectroscopy, the book nevertheless represents very good value for money.

Nonsuchmike.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2008
A fantastic addition to the main book condensing the information very well and giving you many walkthroughs on how to do questions. The questions offered at the end of each spread are very useful to just check yourself to see if you understand everything.

If you're doing OCR Chemistry AS, I very much recommend you buy this book!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
Compact, but summarizes information from the textbook extremely well. No unnecessary history behind the science, concepts etc. just facts laid out in a simple, understanding manner. Though sometimes it lacks on a few examples, a good resource beside the student textbook.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Essential learning tool which I highly recommend to anyone looking at choices. My son used it thoroughly and has improved his predicted grade.

You will not regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
good book. it contains only the strict necessary for last-minute revision so if you're using it throughout the academic year you might need to refer to an actual text book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Deserves a credit for the tables and diagrams. The text is not however as good as in the CGP guides.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
I would say this book was good for last minute understanding of complex concepts and revision, however it was lacking in lots of detail and was a little over simplified in many areas.

If you are someone who struggles with chemistry and understanding chemical concepts I would not recommend primarily using this as a revision resource, but in conjunction with a more detailed guide like the philip allen update books alongside the exam board specific CGP revision guides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Saw this book with my tutor at college and had a look and took the ISBN number at first.

When I received it, after further reading, it is a very concise, well-written book that doesn't waffle and get's to the point.

Only thing I would have preferred is for it to be in colour rather than black and white-- but highlighters do the trick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
I purchased this for my son who is studying AS level Chemisty.It is a text that is used within his college. It has proven to be an excellent resource to support him with both his homework and revision for exams. The text is easy to follow, presented in a logical format and has useful tips and activities to support learning.It is well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My daughter has been hammering away at OCR AS Chemistry for most of this year. This book is just the right thing to help her over the finishing line towards her anticipated grade. It is clearly put together and efficiently ordered for max success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)