Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2001
Published in 1987, but still an excellent introduction to good nutrition, I keep my battered copy by me and still refer regularly to this book. When writing an article on nutrition it's always an excellent starting point, especially for getting the basic statistics on particular nutrients or the nutritional implications of a particular disease. I'm not the worlds greatest writer, but this book really helps me get my bearings.
Before starting to write this review, I'd actually never read systematically through it but used it as a reference, going straight from the excellent index to the information I wanted. Now, having gone through it systematically, I'm even more impressed. The first section deals with basic nutrients - vitamins, minerals (including some micronutrients which got very little attention 14 years ago but whose importance is now beyond doubt), proteins, essential fatty acids (ahead of their time again), carbohydrates and fibre. This section concludes with examples of the health problems associated with some common components of the western diet - eggs, milk products, wheat, caffeine and alcohol. Environmental poisons and problems associated with medicinal drugs are also covered.
This is followed by a short section on allergies concentrating on food allergies and environmental causes of asthma and other respiratory allergies.
Next is the longest section of the book, over 200 pages on the nutritional management of a wide range of disease conditions, ranging from arthritis to zinc deficiency (as a cause of senile dementia) by way of just about every group of diseases common in the Western world. Clear indication is given when a doctor must be consulted for serious complaints.
The appendices deal with healthy living, nutritional deficiencies and supplements, exclusion diets for identifying food allergies and information souces (the latter now unavoidably out of date). The strongest point of this book is probably its treatment of food allergies - which makes sense as this is an area where self diagnosis and treatment stands a reasonable chance of success.
A useful addition would have been a chart giving sources, recommended daily intake and deficiency signs of nutrients; presently, one has to read fully the sections on different nutrients to get this information. Where this book does show its age is in the scanty coverage given to antioxidants and their role in protection fron free radical damage. Only half a page is devoted to this important group of nutrients, mentioning solely the antioxidant vitamins and enzymes. The authors cannot be faulted for this, as the importance of pycnogenol (pine bark extract) and the phenolic compounds in grapes were little known in 1987. It is sincerely to be hoped that they feel moved to bring out a new edition!
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 September 2013
I picked up a copy secondhand and have not put it down since. Considering it was published in 1987, it explains very comprehensively topics such as Essential Fatty Acids and their transformation into various Prostaglandins. I would agree with other reviewers, that they were ahead of their game in this regard. So many people are ill from avoiding fats/oils like the plague, and this book really explains how totally non-sensical that approach is. It also complements my other books on say, amino acids really well, because it really doesn't 'assume prior knowledge'.

What I particularly like about this book is the writing style. It explains background information and chemical processes in a very refreshing way. I think this is partly because the writers themselves have developed their interest in nutrition as part of their long medical careers, realising, as we all do eventually, that its not so much what you're eating, as what you're NOT eating that could make an appreciable difference to your health.

Personally my main interests are better metabolism, anti-cancer & anti-Alzheimers pathways.

Biohacking is now such a complicated business in the light of human genome discoveries and the like, that you find a lot of sources very quickly become quite convoluted and at times hard to follow. This book winds the clock right back, to supplying the basic background for what is understood now.

I don't really care that it pays scant attention to things that have become key players these days e.g. peroxidation, oxidation and free radical damage, because it remains a very thorough and engaging reference book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
A very usefull Book ,recomended for all people who know that the only real way to cure almost all disease is by doing it yourself.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
I have bought copies of this book many times over the years for myself as well as family and friends. It was published in 1987 and there are many more up- to- date health books around and some I have also bought. But Davies and Stewart's Nutritional Medicine opened my eyes to dealing with everyday ills some years ago and it remains my go-to 'bible' of good health through nutrition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
This is a great book, well written and absorbing too. Currently studying nutrition so this is ideal for ma and keeping me interested in what can at times be a tricky subject. I know I will be referring to the pages in this book again and again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
This is a good book on nutritional medicine. Good for students of nutrition or for anyone wishing to know more on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Excellent book. Had to get a second copy because I'd used the first one so much it fell apart,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
Based on a few other reviews I had read I had high hopes for this book, but these were not in the main fulfilled. To be fair, it was published in 1987 and there have been huge advances in the science of nutrition since then. It is at best quite easy to read, but by today's standards the content is frequently naive or over-simplistic. Far better is available, both for the layman and for those embarking on a study of nutrition, for example Dr. Paul Clayton's 'Health Defence'
One strange anomaly is the fact that in a book that is described at the outset as 'the drug- free guide to better family health' the authors on numerous occasions sing the praises of certain drugs, aspirin and ibuprofen being two examples.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)