Start reading Nurse! Nurse!: A Student Nurse's Story on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Nurse! Nurse!: A Student Nurse's Story [Kindle Edition]

Jimmy Frazier
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (114 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £4.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.00 (38%)
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
This price was set by the publisher
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.99  
Paperback £7.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

As punishment for some youthful high jinks, 16-year-old Jimmy Frazier is made to volunteer in a London hospital. The experience shocks him, and he swears he will never set foot on a ward again.



Two decades later, older but not a lot wiser, some strange twists of fate lead Jimmy back to hospital - but this time as a student nurse.



Along with a motley crew of fellow students, Jimmy throws himself into the heart of the NHS. Whether caring for patients in children's hospitals, prisons, mental health facilities or post-surgical wards, Jimmy and his fellow students attempt to make a difference. On their way they are inspired by the angelic Super Nurse and the acid-tongued Mr Temple. But can they stick out the three years it takes to make the grade as a fully-qualified nurse...?


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Review

Engaging, compassionate and often very moving--Daily Mail

Fans of Casualty and Holby City will love this brilliant and infectious--Books Monthly

Jimmy Frazier's book tells it like it is. Thanks to his mischievous comical streak it's often amusing. At other times it is heartbreakingly poignant...a wonderful book. --Your Choice NHS Magazine

Book Description

You're a male trainee in Britain's toughest profession - think you can make the cut?

Product details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, fresh-eyed look at the NHS 14 Mar. 2011
Format:Paperback
I ordered this on a whim having read a newspaper review. The title, Nurse! Nurse!, makes it sound like a Carry On romp. Don't be fooled though. It may have a light style with plenty of funny moments but this is a serous book too, and often impresses with its rawness and honesty.

The story grabbed me from the start. I really cared about Jimmy Frazier and his fellow trainees and whether they would cut it as fully-fledged nurses. But above all, it was the descriptions of the patients - everyone from children in a post-surgical ward to prisoners at Holloway prison - that made this a great, often moving read.

Frazier is prepared to criticise the NHS but clearly also has affection for it and, thank goodness, rarely rants or preaches. In fact, one of the author's strengths is being able to poke fun at himself, and his mid-life crisis, without excessive navel gazing.

Though it contains some fascinating medical nuggets, especially regarding mental health, Nurse! Nurse! is at heart a human drama focusing on all too real people - patients, nurses, doctors, friends - that anyone can relate to, whether they work in a hospital or not. If I have one criticism I thought the book ended a bit abruptly. But don't let this put you off. Nurse! Nurse! completely hooked me and I read it in a couple of days. It made me laugh, it made me shed a tear (not easy) and it made me think. Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge this book by its title! 1 July 2011
Format:Paperback
Jimmy Frazier is a pseudonym for this frankly autobiographical account of a mature student nurse that reveals human stories about him and his fellow students, struggling to last the distance on the rocky road to their degree.

The easy but uncensored narrative provides emotive insights into the complex personal lives of both patients and nurses. But it avoids jargon and gory medical detail. Jimmy has an interestingly chequered career path and a nagging sense of altruism that has led him to nursing training. This brings him face to face with the realities of nursing and the NHS, all handled with admirable tact and discerning balance. He demonstrates how the mundane can unexpectedly impact upon a student's determination to succeed - having to obtain a computer driver's licence, being required to work in the family shop, but the tone is invariably upbeat. He treats individuals sensitively as he progresses from child nursing through to community visits before specialising in mental health. He talks us through hair-raising flashpoints inside secure hospitals populated with convicted murderers. He takes us into the coping mechanisms of people who work in these institutions as well as his own, much of which involves unusual fitness programmes. But this does not prevent him from questioning the wisdom of the smoking ban in these secure institutions, drawing the link between lack of nicotine and violent behaviour.

This book is one of balanced candid observations. Jimmy sees the good in everyone, from the aloof egotistical consultant to the volatile mental patient. The narrative is light-hearted in line with the whimsical title but the underlying theme is the serious one of the underrated and difficult role performed by nurses, the gel that holds our health system together. Just don't judge this book by its title!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very worthwhile read. 23 Jan. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I've read quite a few of these nurse/doctor/paramedic 'confessions' style books and this is an excellent example. I have seen this before in my amazon recommendations but perhaps been put off by the cover of the book-it is a bit 'cartoon style' so I thought it was going to be a bit silly or trying to be a 'laugh out loud' book but this has so much more substance. It's a true account about a man who comes relatively late to the nursing profession. It details all of his student nurse days and all the different departments he works in. It proves really interesting reading. There are some humorous moments but so much more besides. There are some real characters in the book eg. Mr Temple, one of Jimmy's nursing tutors-hilarious re the songs that help with the timing of the CPR compressions! What I found refreshing throughout this book was the author's choice of words, so different, not the normal descriptions, some I hadn't heard of but all really accurate on looking up. It's really well-written. Sad tales as well as light-hearted, things you just don't think about that nurses have to deal with each day. Enlightening and humbling, a great reading experience. Some surprising moments, shocking moments, humour, what a brilliant book. I hope he writes a sequel, he certainly does have a way with words. Despite reading so many of this sort of book before, I have learnt so much in this one. Some other reviews I have looked at thought it ended abruptly-I don't agree-he ties up the loose ends and gives reasons.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read for anyone!! 19 Jan. 2014
By Bobby
Format:Paperback
I got this book with a voucher that was given to me as a prize. The book is well written and gives an honest look into the NHS and perceptions about mental health. Being a student, studying to go do nursing, I found it interesting to see the mental health side as it is something I have yet to experience. I found the book to be an easy read and provided me with a few laughs but also moments to reflect upon things that we see in our lives. Excellent book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good 'factual' story
Written in the first person this book relates the up's and down's of nurse training fom day one to the end of year three. Read more
Published 3 months ago by Lt Col Val
1.0 out of 5 stars a very boring book!
I did question weather this man had ever indeed trained to be a nurse!!! a very boring book!!! lent it to my fellow friends and we all decided it was unfunny and dull!!!!
Published 3 months ago by nhartley
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great story
It is just a good story as a retired ex nurse l found it so interesting well written but sad that so many fell by the way side and I found the change in how they were trained so... Read more
Published 4 months ago by aquababe
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
I enjoyed this book even though I am not a nurse . Its a hard struggle. Good read
Published 6 months ago by lindy red
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book. I don't 'read' and have never read ...
Fantastic book.
I don't 'read' and have never read a full book until this one. I had it as a gift during my 2nd year nurse training and could empathise with 'jimmy' and his... Read more
Published 7 months ago by g e preece
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
havent read it yet
Published 9 months ago by peter
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny
very funny account of one guys nurse education!
Published 10 months ago by Mrs. Helen Brown
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
good
Published 10 months ago by eileen
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great item
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
good
Published 11 months ago by tom
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category