Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars20
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2014
The book looks very good for my purposes at least but watch out as although the picture of the cover says "Com CD" there is no CD with my version nor is the cover so marked. I have referred this to Amazon and will try to update when I get answer.
Update: As someone else has since said, there is no cd but the audio is available online. This is through the rather difficult to navigate (and not just because it's in Portuguese) website of the publisher. The reverse cover explains this but doesn't provide a web address that links directly to the page so you have to go searching around the site when you find it and indeed you do have to register to be able to download. The explanation is that the picture here is of the old version of the book which did used to have a CD. I have emailed Amazon a while back suggesting they change the picture but they have not done so yet.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
I would say you would need a basic understanding of Portuguese to start this book as it is all in Portuguese.
There are lessons and then there are exercises to do with a listening CD to accompany the book, which is very useful but again not for complete beginners as the language is spoken quite fast and starts with conversations rather than basic words and sounds.
I bought from a bookseller linked to Amazon and delivery was very slow, so pay the extra and get it direct from Amazon if you need it in a hurry!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Would have been nice to have the English translation next to the Portuguese. Seriously, for £35 odd you would expect a language book to have the English translation next to it as well.

I have had to purchase numerous other books now because of no translation in this book.

This book is fine if you already know the basics of Portuguese. If it was not for my tutor helping me, this book would have been completely and utterly useless.

1. You buy Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics book over this expensive Novo Avenida Brasil 1.

That is my tip and advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
It's very useful, but be aware it is 100% portuguese, no english at all, it's an aid for a language class, not something to use on it's own.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Need a basic understanding of portuguese to be able to use the book as everything is in portuguese. Found this book to be completely unhelpful, there is no explanation on grammar or idioms, not explanation on rules, nothing. Meant to be used in class and even then the excercises are quite limited. Not sure how you are supposed to learn from this because its so basic but then you need basic knowledge to understand the things in it. I did not feel like it challenged me at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Doing an evening course in Portuguese at a local university, the book is primarily Brazilian Portuguese but very adaptable for European Portuguese. Good exercises, oral and written included in the book; only downside with the CD, not suitable for use in the car as you need to replay parts of the tracks several times to practice the language, OK when used in a computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
It's good, but not as thorough as Falar, Ler, Escrever. More examples would have helped. Used with a Brasilian speaker it's OK, but for a sole self-didact, not much use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
CD would not play on many occasions

Information is ok and listening CD is average.

Generally an ok product to begin learning Portugues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
This book was enforced on me by the class that I was taking. It's OKish. Lacks clear structure. Page 110 onwards, though, is highly useful for reference
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I needed this book for a language course, but required the version with an audio CD. I ordered this from Amazon but it is just the book - no CD included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)