I Am Not Myself These Days and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. Book has been read but is in excellent condition. No missing or damaged pages. Maybe some identifying marks on the inside cover. Quality guaranteed from the largest seller of used books online.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

I am Not Myself These Days Hardcover – 5 Jun 2006


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£0.01


Product details

  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam Press (5 Jun. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0593056248
  • ISBN-13: 978-0593056240
  • Product Dimensions: 14.4 x 21.9 x 3.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 519,101 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"Compulsively readable ... honest and entertaining ... sometimes affecting, always engaging, this is a confession to relish." -- Time Out, 19 July 2006

Book Description

A stunning memoir of drag, drugs and doomed love, for fans of James Frey, David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
First Sentence
I'm freezing. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Sarah Durston TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 18 Aug. 2007
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
By day Josh Kilmer-Purcell was an advertising executive, by night he was 'Aquadisiac' a hard talking, hard drinking drag-queen on the New York circuit. When Aqua meets Jack she thinks the permanent attachment to his pager mean that he is a doctor. In fact, he's a male escort specialising in S n' M. Here starts an unlikely love affair, which is seemingly doomed as Jack starts to take more and more drugs.

This is an incredible memoir because of its unstinting honesty and fabulous touches of humour. Once you've read it, it'll take you a long time to forget the fantastic characters (who could forget L'il Debbie, a 300-pound drag queen who sings 'The Candyman' whilst doing something unspeakable with Mn'Ms!!)

But it was Aqua herself who was the highlight for me. How can you fail to love someone who claims that their liver wins their body's 'employee of the month' and who comes out with such pithy and witty comments...just a taster:

'Some people might get obsessed with figuring out how they wound up on the F train in drag, with no bag and one shoe, but that's simply not my style. What's done is done. I'm sure I had my reasons.'

As the relationship with Jack deteriorates, the book starts to have a really painful element. If you've ever been in a relationship where you feel you can't control what is happening and you can't walk away even though things are really rough, this book will strike a chord.

I loved, loved, loved this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Penny Harvey on 23 Mar. 2008
Format: Hardcover
Not my usual read - in fact light years away - but this was a wonderful book.

Yes it's about drag queens, sex, alcohol, high and fast living with a mix of drugs the odd shady character and the kind of life you love to look in on but would hate your kids to be involved in.

BUT - this is a book about relationships. Relationships with yourself, partner, friends and the world around you. It is funny in parts, incredibly sad in parts and frustrating - particularly as the relationship is falling apart and Aqua is trying desparately to keep it together.

Whatever genre you enjoy reading is irrelevant - read this book and enjoy - you will not regret it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kiwifunlad on 10 Nov. 2010
Format: Paperback
A cocktail of drugs and alcohol set in a relationship between an amateur drag queen and a S/M hustler would normally have me not wanting to even read the first page but I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this light and amusing memoir. There is an abundance of gay writing about hedonistic lifestyles of young gay men and most of it is very predictable. Too often anything written about drag queens tends to be over camp and resembling the tranvestite world. Set in New York, this memoir stands above most of this genre for the realism and entertaining way the author writes about the excesses of alcohol and his partner's drug habit interspersed with the realities of life: visit of Josh's mother, 'bitching' with work colleague Laura and the juggling of the drag queen nightlife and a daytime job (albeit with a very tolerant employer!). Josh tells his memoir in a well paced manner without ever being too sentimental. Overall a good holiday read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By C. Richards on 10 July 2006
Format: Hardcover
I bought this book looking for a taste of a genre where I had not ventured before. This was however no starter but a full three course meal. The depth of warm emotion that I found from such 'alternative' situations as depicted in the novel was truly astounding. Josh I greatly thank you for an outstanding work.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By hmmmm on 5 Feb. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I read this book in a single weekend, the weekend just gone... I bought it on Friday night, because I didn't want to go out... I'm bored of going out. I'm bored of clubs and bars and the people I know... I've partied hard: with all the best of them in Vauxhall; I've even become friends with two of the male escorts with whom I've been a regular (it's easy to be unashamed when you're writing an anonymous review)... although, these days, "friends" is too strong a word. They're acquaintances now. And soon they'll disappear from my life altogether...
This is an amazing book. It's so close to reality that it frightens me. But the writer, was lucky. He's clearly smart and eloquent. And thoughtful: I've never read anyone write so accurately (and wittily) about a certain marginal "scene", that few people enter and fewer still leave, intact. Swap crack for GHB and New York could be London. So that's the gay interest thing done...
But even if you're straight, please do read this book. The "funny" Alan Carr, the times you laugh at the gay guy on TV cos he's clever and witty and worldly wise... this will give you the best insight into what makes such a man tick. There's a delicacy and humanity in what this guy has written:- an explanation of so much. Particularly, the seemingly pathological desire of so many men for danger.
As it draws to an end, this book made me cry. I've gained a stiff upper lip (from British public schooling) and the hedonist's lack of soul (from too many nights in a club). If it could affect me so deeply, I suspect it may touch you too... Or perhaps, you and I, perhaps you and I aren't so different.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By karol on 12 Oct. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I must admit i did put the book down because of the extremes it goes to. After picking it back up i learnt that Mr Kilmer-Purcell has no boundaries when it comes to description. This book pushes the boundaries of description as your left stunned at how detailed it is when describing violence. It will make you sit there horrified at the violence and the lengths the author goes to show the abuse and pain felt by the author. If this is in fact a true story then the author has had one hell of a life and i'd have to admit i feel sorry for him and his pain. If you get this then continue reading, no matter how extreme the story is KEEP READING!
its a strange feeling, i feel like I've learned a lesson in life but i cant explain it.
Just get it
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback