Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2013
An admirable study of the assassination and its background. Summers' work is characterized by restraint and an academic scepticism. As an investigation, the book is very well researched and well written, and it proceeds with a convincing logic.

Summers has an excellent historical method, seen for example in his clear and objective examination of the evidence on how Jack Ruby managed to get in the right place, at the right time, for Oswald's transfer through police headquarters.

Evidence is given the space to speak for itself. It becomes clear that it is not the author's intention to grind axes for particular angles on this mystery -or to pin the reader to one point of view. Here the author's task is to raise questions based on the available evidence. Though he points the way, he allows the reader to form his own opinions.

In other books, details about Oswald's background and about probable Mafia intrigues can be confusing. These questions naturally remain complicated but here for the first time I found Oswald's strange story made sense. Fluent, gripping -and possibly the best in its field.
2020 comments|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I initially came across the predecessor to this Kindle book whilst out shopping one Saturday afternoon way, way, way back in the autumn of 1988 and I've been hooked on the whole damning minefield that is the JFK murder quagmire ever since. Having acquired more books on the case than I care to admit to (or acknowledge for that matter) I will say this: Anthony Summers provides the most thought-provoking and lucid account of the most controversial murder case of the last century. Having bought several later editions of the book I am now looking forward to reading this latest - and updated - version. I particularly like Summers in-depth analysis of the life and times of alleged assassin Lee Harvey Oswald. By reading this work alone convinces me (totally and utterly) that Oswald was not the President's killer and was framed for the murder of JFK. The word "patsy" has oft been uttered in this case and, in my opinion, read this book and you will see why that word was invented for Lee Harvey Oswald. The book was a formidable contribution to the JFK assassination riddle back in 1988 and this updated version remains true some 25 years later...
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Heard the Author on a radio program and had too buy the book, myself and my Son have always been fascinated about the cover up (well were both sure that there was one) and the very in-depth information contained in this book only confirms our suspicion's. It grips you that much, you don't want too put the darned thing down! If you ever wondered about the killing of JFK- THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK....10 out of 10.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
When it comes to telling the story of what happened in Dallas 50 years ago & answering the just as interesting Why? I find It hard to believe that this book will be bettered.

Cuba, Russia, the Mafia, the CIA, there's a lot going on here, and the fact that the truth is nestled somewhere within these pages makes for a tantalising story.

Anthony Summers - I salute you!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
This study of the JFK assassination is well researched, supported by careful attention to detail in important stages of the case before, during and after the shooting in Dallas. I found this book to be a refreshing change from those that simply attempt to discredit alleged assassin Lee Harvey Oswald's guilt or innocence. I deducted one star, only because I felt the book ended too quickly, when I became eager to read another two or three chapters. I would recommend this book to anyone seeking an objective analysis of the assassination.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
Read this years ago under the original title "Conspiracy". Now available on Kindle, hurrah! In my view it is still one of the best books on the Kennedy assassination around because it is well-researched and even-handed in its approach. Unlike many titles in the genre, the author has no pet theory other than that Oswald was not the only gunman in Dallas on that fatal day, which is pretty much accepted by any rational person even remotely in interested in the key event. Summers therefore does a great job of investigating all the angles, the role of shadow government agencies, organised crime and the essential Cuban connections all get a thorough going through as does Oswald's own very interesting life and times.

This is not just a re-edition, there are updates and alterations of the original text made due to new information that has come to light in the last few years. Also contains some interesting graphics and photos which can be enlarged using the Paperwhite's controls.
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
This is an update on Anthony Summers previous work 'The Kennedy Conspiracy'. I have been convinced for many years that the Warren Commision's report was a shallow, misleading cover up of the real events in Dallas on 22 November, 1963. There is a huge volume of evidence that the assassination was the result of a conspiracy between organised crime, renegade CIA officers and anti-Castro Cubans and that Lee Harvey Oswald was a 'Patsy', set up by the aforementioned to take the fall - it is possible, but not likely that he even fired a weapon in Dealey Plaza that day. As an expert historian and investigative journalist, Summers did not start out with a preconception - the evidence led him to his conclusion. From a judicial point of view I can categorically state that if it appeared in court today, there could be no possible verdict other than a conspiracy.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
The assassination of JFK, as an undeniably powerful event, attracted both masses of serious scholarship and some seriously nutty theories. (My favourite among the latter came from a young man I knew back in the day - he took my place as ward secretary of the Labour Party, later turning out to have some pretty scary right-wing views and shagging Hayley Mills. I kid you not. He was researching a book that would prove that the assassination was a Masonic ritual murder, with the coup de grace being applied by Kennedy's driver, William Greer. But I digress.)

Anthony Summers co-authored, The Longest Day, the seminal debunking of all the crazy rubbish spouted about 9/11, so his scholarship holds real credence. This book is a dense - sometimes impenetrably so - analysis of the movements of the main suspect, Lee Harvey Oswald, and the tangle of links between him, elements of the CIA, the Mafia, pro- and anti-Castro Cubans in the hall of mirrors that was the world of American intelligence operations in the Cold War. It's a sobering thought that this, coming only a year after the Cuban Missile Crisis, could have tipped the world into nuclear war.

Unlike most writers on the assassination, Summers does not have a particular solution to peddle, so he is able to give a calm and detailed analysis of the pertinent facts. He does pull a couple of rabbits out of the hat towards the end and clearly leans to the idea that the assassins were Oswald and a long-dead Cuban hitman, but does not bash the reader round the head with it. This has its disadvantages, of course, in that there is so much smoke and mirrors involved that it is almost impossible to know what one can believe. As a basic primer on the theories for someone who knows the basic facts, this book will take some beating.

But anyway, you want to know the solution? Here it is. Lee Harvey Oswald, a bright but frustrated underachiever, who knew he was passionately angry about the state of the world but had no clue what else he really believed, entangled himself (or got entangled, it doesn't matter much) in the murky world of political activism in the southern US. As someone with a seriously unusual background - an ostensibly Marxist ex-Marine with a Russian wife and a stint in the Soviet Union - he was potentially useful in a minor way to every side in the endless war of words and propaganda. For a while. He was used, flattered, fed money when he was dirt poor.

By October 1963, though, mundane reality was setting in: he was a zero, who had achieved nothing, was estranged from his wife and no longer of much use to anyone. Through personal introduction that no-one has ever seriously suggested was fixed from the outside, he got a dead-end clerical job working in a school book depository, outside which, it was later decided by processes that were not, could not be 'fixed' and which was only decided, President Kennedy's motorcade was to pass. 'Right you b*stards,' he thought, or words to that effect, 'here is my chance to make a mark on the world'. He did it. No-one else did it. No-one else put him up to it. But he had enough links to enough people to cause serious embarrassment to many people who were not unduly upset that it had happened. Hence all the subterfuge. You're welcome.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
If you are looking for a definitive answer to the question of who killed JFK then this book will disappoint you. It is however, authoritative and incredibly detailed. Every possible angle is covered, every one of the many personalities involved is investigated. Was there a conspiracy? Almost certainly. The Mafia, anti-social Castro activists and the CIA all appear to have played a role. Was Oswald a patsy - again almost certainly. But it is incredibly complex - all the main characters seem to have had links to the intelligence services. The Mafia or both. What cannot be in doubt is that the CIA engaged in a massive cover-up of the evidence. And it would appear that they continue to do so. The book contains many bizarre facts of which I was unaware ,- for example Kennedy's brain is still missing. The autopsy photos do not match the injuries reported by those who attended it. At one point it appears that there was more than one Oswald in circulation. So who was the imposter? This is a fascinating but also frustrating book. The truth is that it will probably never be possible to say who exactly conspired to kill JFK. Perhaps the most shocking aspect of the book is the evidence that the CIA worked closely with the Mafia, beyond any political or democratic control.and in the end both wanted Kennedy dead.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
This is one of half a dozen books I have on the topic. It's much more accessible than 'A Farewell to Justice' by Mellen (which is a forensic dissection of the case, but somewhat 'dry.') Summers dismisses Posner's 'Cased Closed' as "a heavily promoted tome which hoodwinked its readers." 'Not in Your Lifetime' is the latest and possibly the most comprehensive yet readable submission on the topic. It's interesting to note that some 75% of Americans questioned in 2013 do not believe in the 'lone gunman' theory. With much of the evidence surrounding the case still suppressed until 2017 (and beyond), this case is far from over. As more information comes to light, it's looking increasingly likely that Oswald really was the 'patsy' set up to take the wrap.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)