North of Nowhere and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£5.99
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.00 (14%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
North of Nowhere has been added to your Basket
Trade in your item
Get a £0.25
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

North of Nowhere Paperback – 6 Feb 2014


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 6 Feb 2014
£5.99
£2.54 £2.73

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

North of Nowhere + A Year without Autumn + Butterfly Summer
Price For All Three: £17.97

Some of these items are dispatched sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together



Trade In this Item for up to £0.25
Trade in North of Nowhere for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.25, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Orion Childrens (6 Feb 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444007939
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444007930
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 1.9 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 71,221 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Liz Kessler studied English at Loughborough University, has worked as a teacher and a journalist and has an MA in Creative Writing from Manchester Metropolitan University. After taking a year off to travel around Europe in a camper van, Liz now lives in Cornwall.

Product Description

Review

Lis Kessler has done it again...I thought North of Nowhere was stunning! Mindblowing! (SERENDIPITY REVIEWS)

compels and intrigues its reader and provides an excellent, enjoyable read along the way. A must-read (ARMADILLO)

a gripping read, an atmospheric adventure (NEWBOOKS)

Book Description

A night of storms. A lifetime of secrets. A week to find the truth. Time is running out as Mia tries to solve the mystery of her missing grandfather, in the second standalone novel by BLUE PETER AWARD-shortlisted author, Liz Kessler. Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 15 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By SJH @ A Dream of Books on 20 Feb 2013
Format: Hardcover
I haven't read anything by Liz Kessler before but when this beautiful little hardback book arrived, I couldn't wait to start reading it. I'm always looking for new British authors to try and I'm pleased to say that after thoroughly enjoying 'North of Nowhere', I'll definitely be hunting down some of Kessler's other books.

Set in the small fishing village of Porthaven, Mia and her mother arrive to stay with Mia's Gran after her Grandad mysteriously disappears. Initially friendless and unhappy, Mia eventually makes friends with a girl called Dee who she hasn't met in person but communicates with through Dee's diary.

The story is unpredictable and changeable like the seas that surround Porthaven. Things aren't always as they first appear and to a degree you need to suspense your disbelief, particularly near the end when things take an unexpectedd turn. There's an element of magic about the book which I loved and I thought it wa beautifully written.

Infinitely intriguing, I was hooked by 'North of Nowhere' and impressed by the very clever conclusion of the story which didn't disappoint in the slightest with it's imaginative ending. I had no idea what was going to happen and although not everything was explained this didn't matter in the slightest.

I was intrigued to read that the story was actually inspired by the real village of Hallsands in South Devon which collapsed into the sea. Due to terrible gales and high tides, only one house remained habitable in the village. It's terrible to think of people losing their homes and the hardship and heartache they must have gone through.

'North of Nowhere' is the perfect book to read on a stormy night, curled up indoors with the fire crackling. I was gripped by Mia's story and the mystery of Luffsands. This was a truly magical and captivating read which I will definitely be recommending to everyone I know.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Jenni (Juniper's Jungle) on 17 July 2013
Format: Hardcover
When this book arrived in the post the first thing that grabbed my attention was the gorgeous cover. I love the silhouettes of the trees against the stormy twilight sky, straight away I wanted to get reading to find out who the two children on the boat are and what they’re doing.

This is going to be a book that’s a little tricky to review, the plot is clever and needs to be discovered by reading rather than be me trying to describe it without giving anything away. At its most basic this is a story about family and friendship, but it’s so much more than this at the same time. Two or three times as I was reading I started to think I knew what was happening and where the book was going and then was thrilled to find that I was wrong or only half right.

I liked Mia, the main character, a lot. I found that as I was reading I felt like her thoughts were my thoughts from when I was in year 8, so many years ago. I think many young readers will really identify with Mia, particularly those in that tricky stage of trying to be the person they think their peers want them to be when at the same time they don’t really want to give up on things they love just because they might be perceived as babyish.

This book is targeted at the 9+ audience so I found it to be a lovely, quick read. There’s plenty packed into it and I found that I didn’t want to do anything other than keep reading it – there was no quick checking of Twitter or anything else until I’d finished reading, this is an exciting book that complete drags you in. I was really impressed by the book, it’s definitely one that I’m going to be pushing into young relatives’ hands.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Me on 27 May 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book is really good with lots of twists and turns in the story line I would recommend it to 8 to 13 year olds
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Xxx on 18 May 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed this book. Once you've started reading it you can't stop ! Really good book and will definitely read again!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
to be honest its possibly one of the best books ive read before, it has amazing characters but can be confusing at times. really unpredictable (but thats what makes it great) !!! and is a must read, i think this book is aimed for 11-14 years of age. if liz kessler makes a sequel for 'a year without autumn' & 'north of nowhere' then it will be a dream come true!!!! thankyou wrote by a 11 year old girl
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Hello on 19 Aug 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm very sad i finished it. It was a Fabulous book and obviously i didn't want to put it down. Very gripping, a must read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Arabella on 2 July 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
This book is good, but at times can be a little bit confusing and it was a good book! The end is very good, but very very confusing and complicated.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
There has yet to be a book from Liz for me to read that I have not liked. Though I guess needed found the interruption of Mia and Dee's story with two page out of time events by Vera, Eric and other people who aren't among the main story characters was a bit confusing.

The book deals with Mia who goes with her parents to her grandmother aid when her grandpa mysteriously disappears. With no friends in the small fishing village Mia can't help herself when she comes across a diary aboard a fishing boat and read about a girl much like herself. Though Dee is upset about someone having read her diary they soon become diary pen pals but never seem to have the luck of getting together. When a tourist name Peter and his parents come to the village Peter offers to help and disappears. Mia and Peter's sister Sal begins investigating Peter's disappearance and what they discovers baffled their minds.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback