Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Platform: GameCube|Change
Price:£47.10+ £1.91 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2005
At first, I wasn't too sure about Mario Power Tennis but how wrong was I? It's a much improved version of the original N64 classic: the great, depth of the graphics, the fun and cheerful sounds, the voices of the characters, the sounds of the ball when it's hit and the all new ways to hit the ball like Power Shots - it's all very well done! And there's a lot more to choose from in the Special Games which are a lot of fun. It's obviously difficult to master but this is one game which will never tire you out - a worthy Purchase
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2005
Mario Power Tennis clearly surpasses it's predecessor in nearly everything, and it is a very enjoyable game.
Mario Power Tennis takes from the first game and builds upon it. This is what makes it such a success. It is as great as the first, with new features that make it even more enjoyable. I will describe some of the noticeable features of the game.
The modes of play: Exhibition, Tournament, and special games. Exhibition is just a round against a computer or 2nd player. Tournament is where you can play through several different games and unlock new fields, features, etc. New fields allow for different types of tournaments, as they have different features to them, aptly called "gimmick courts". Take the Delfino Isle (Mario Sunshine) court for example. This is one of the hardest fields to play on that I have found so far. On this field, pirahna plants spit out goop and it slows your movement on the field, which you can clean off with the water buttons on the field. Special games are the highlight of the game for me. You can play a variety of mini-games, and unlock harder levels or even more mini-games.
The mini-games are the highlight for me. You start off with many different fun and entertaining games, and can unlock a small amount more. My favorite that I have played is the painting one, where you have to hit paintballs onto a wall to color in a picture. The games get quite challenging when you get to the higher difficulties of them. There are usually 3 stages of difficulty on each, but some only have 2.
There are 14 characters to start off with. They are: Mario, Luigi, Peach, Daisy, Shy Guy, Bowser, Donkey Kong, Wario, Yoshi, Diddy Kong, Koopa Troopa, Waluigi, Boo, and Bowser Jr. There are also 4 other secret characters to be unlocked, but I will not reveal who they are at this time. Each charater has their own special moves, two a piece. These are executed by pressing "x" when the power of your racquet has filled. Each of the characters has a defensive and an offensive special move. The defensive can save your life by being able to hit the ball no matter how far you are away from it. Basically, it stops time and allows you to go hit the ball. The offensive lets out a large burst of power to hit the ball hard onto the other side. If the other player manages to hit it, then they are pushed far backwards from the impact.
If you had fun with the first, you should really consider picking this up.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2005
Mario Tennis is pure brilliant! I won't say too much but its fun to play, the graphics are the best I have seen on any console, its a challenge for you to play, four player is great fun and although the computer can pull off some neat tricks which will leave you bashing your mate in the head (lol), it does make it a challenge which is fun to do and some of the stuff the characters do is quite good too, even if they tend to get ya a few times near the end which may seem a cheat but least it keeps you on ya toes! Loads to win on too and the super moves, they are electric! A beautiful game to own!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Mario has come in tennis now here's the sidepoint

*cool tennis levels to practice with cpu or friends
*has some mini-games to master I guess they fun
*lots of charaters in the Mario world
*the music is just awesome

Badside's is

*the slow power shots which all you can't skip them makes the cpu use a lot if on
makes the game dull and boring
*pulling off how to lob balls really high is hard to do pressing A, B I find that it don't really help to do that and it tells you to do that anyway
*you can't pause the game so if you want to go to the toilet then you have to wait after your game to end

So they are extra modes to try out, overall a pretty nice game from Nintendo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Works fine, arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Just what I expected!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2005
MARIO POWER TENNIS IS GREAT WITH FRIENDS 4 PLAYERS JUST PULLING OFF SPECIAL MOVES ITS CRAZY ALL OUT FUN I HAD A PARTY AND WE PLAYED THIS FROM 8:00 TILL 1:30 IT WAS JUST WKD
BUT THEN U GET TO THE DOWN SIDE!!!!
WHEN ALL YOUR FRIENDS HAVE GONE THE SINGLE PLAYERS IS NOT BRILL
THE OPPONENETS DIIFICULTY IS TOO EASY
THOUGH IT IS AN AMAZING GAME. FUN WHEN YOU PLAY 4 THE 1ST TIME IN SINGLE PLAYER, BUT THEN U DON'T PLAY IT UNTILL FRIENDS COME ROUND
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2005
Being a big fan of the original on the N64 i would have expected this to be amazing. Oh how i was wrong. The game is TERRIBLY slow. Character movement is sluggish at best and shot placement is non-existent. No matter how hard you try your character will tap the ball very slowly down the centre of the court and unless you're playing against a human player with awful reactions you will NEVER see an ace. Now the power shots... Had this been a quick paced game they might have got away with this ridiculous idea but they just prolong the agony of being stuck in a awful match you can't wait to finish. Amimations are stupidly long and just when you think you've won the last thing you want to see is the opposition SWIM down the court and hit the ball back and basically start the game again. TERRIBLE! If you're thinking about getting this game DON'T! I'm sorry to say this about a Nintendo product because they are usually masters of quality but this is one game you'll be glad not to get in amongst your collection of gaming gems.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2005
Great 4un. Especially when u woop every friend u got.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)