Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars53
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2010
...and that is a top quality Ninja film. Yes, in the past such a statement would have been laughed at, but Scott Adkin's charisma, acting and most importantly.. martial arts skills has resulted in a very enjoyable ninja film.
Watch the fight scene 3/4 through the film when Adkins has to fight a room full of attacking thugs. I smiled, as it was very reminiscent of Bruce Lee's scene in Enter The Dragon and Jet Li's scene in the police dojo in Kiss Of The Dragon. Superb. Scott Adkins is an under rated screen martial artist and he deserves to be elevated into the mainstream. Hopefully martial arts films will rise again so he truly can show us more of what he is capable of. A highly recommended film.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
i am truly a massive adkins fan and again he rocks with ninja.and for me it is nearly as good as number 2.but what number 2 has over this one is better fight and stunt choreography and less cgi gore effects,i just felt they were just a bit overdone.although i see ninja shadow of a tear first it didnt make any difference to me.i was still able to follow the story.adkins is truly the british version of jackie chan although he does not do all his own stunts.but he does do all his fight choreography and you have to also take in to consideration that the film company insurance does not cover him for certain stunts because they are so dangerous.but neverless i could watch him fight in any film all day.overall this has a better story but number 2 has better fight and stunt choreography.a really awesome ninja film
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
If this film came out in the 80s it would have been right up there with the American Ninja series. This is not a slight on Scott Adkins, as I think he is phenomenal talent in martial arts. There was just something missing for me in this film. All the ingredients seemed to be there. They had a lead man (Adkins) who looks and makes the part. There was just something miss for me. The film just seemed a little dated for me.

Adkins is brought up in a Ninja training school in japan. Being the only westerner he has to work harder then everyone else to earn his place there. The head boy (or best student) takes and instant dislike to him. Partly seeing him as a rival, and partly because of the attraction between Adkins and the Sensei's daughter. Not being able to control his anger at Adkins get him thrown out of the school, when he is over aggressive and uses a real sword in a sparring match.

After doing thrown out this student become more high tech version of a Ninja assassin. Complete with body armour and night vision goggles. He still uses ninja stars, but replaces the more traditional bow and arrows with guns (good choice). Yet he still wants what he feels was his, the traditional Ninja amour kept in a box in the dojo. Making his intentions know to take it by force. The box is moved to America. Adkin and the sensei's daughter are sent to guard it. Now the battle spills over to America. Complete with an evil cult of evil oil barons, with their own agenda.

Huge gore factor in this film. Absolute fountains of blood, after slashes or gunshots. The martial arts are great acrobatic displays, but the filming does look dated. If it was made in 30 years ago even with a fraction of the budget it would have been a block buster. The film was just ok for me nothing special.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2012
It's an 80's throwback, tipping a wink to the old martial arts pictures like the Octagon, Enter the Ninja and Pray for Death. The movie has been updated though with a decent budget and ok sets. The screenplay is well worn and a little flat if im being honest, but Scott Adkins is a decent leading man and the fight choreography is second to none. The gore factor is high on this one but not as high as Ninja Assassin.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The 2010 American 'First Look' BLU RAY of "Ninja" is a problem for UK buyers…it’s REGION A LOCKED.

Unfortunately this means that it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

But the film is available on a REGION B release in the UK and other European territories – and they will play on UK machines.

So check before purchasing the American release to see if your BLU RAY player is able to play REGION A discs...otherwise opt for the cheaper UK or Euro version…
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
A westerner named Casey, studying Ninjutsu in Japan, is asked by the Sensei to return to New York to protect the legendary Yoroi Bitsu, an armored chest that contains the weapons of the last Koga Ninja.

Well directed by Isaac Florentine, cool simple storyline, decent CGI, decent acting and good fight cheography.
You've got your Sensai betrayal, high tech ninja stuff and traditional weaponary and martial arts action that keeps you watching throughout. Enjoy!

Recommend this for fans of ninja films and scott adkins.

Overall a good ninja action film!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
fast pace and pretty exciting - well worth a watch - good entertainment and like all good action movies you don't have to think too much just sit back and enjoy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
Scott Adkins started out as a regular stunt man but finally got his break when he appeared in X-men Origins: Wolverine, Undisputed 2 and this film, Ninja. The storey of the film itself is nothing too silly or ridiculus as a school that teaches the martial art style of ninjitsu has two high ranking pupils who are both competing to be at the top, one disgraces himself and sets himself up as the bad guy of the movie while the other is the hero, years later the schools most valuable treasures are sent to America for protection from someone who may wish to steal it and our hero (Adkins) is assigned to protect it.
This movie proves that Adkins has some good acting talent and not just the skills and strength to engage 20 men at once (the scene in which he does this is very entertaining) so I would recomend a great fan of action and martial arts to get this movie as you will not be dissapointed. The films villian is very intimidating and the chemistry with the hero is very well done, however the movies heroine is far too fragile and weak even though she has been trained in the same art as the hero, so that is the only small let down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 November 2011
I bought this on the strength of the other positive feedbacks and to be honest, it was not bad all in all. I used to train Ninjutsu years back and I have to say it is really hard, well I thought it was, so you have to respect those who can master it. The film itself was full on "Ninja" with the girl thrown in as well for good measure - not a film to buy if you want something with real content and a deep meaningful story line, but if you like a film that reflects the more fantastical part of the Ninja - then watch this, it will not disappoint you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
brilliant, action packed. if martial arts is your thing this will certainly rock your world, scott adkins plays a fantastic role
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)