Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars33
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2010
Mixed 6 to 1 with water on a dry tent we did the roof first whilst the tent was 'on its knees' (frame tent) using a long handled squeeze out floor sponge. It was easy to paint the product onto the tent. Then we erected the tent properly and did the back and sides using the same sponge. We found that we didnt need as much of it as the bottle said. Only disadvantage is that the plastic windows had to be cleaned off afterwards as the wax dried on them leaving run marks. We did this using water with washing up liquid in it and then polished off with a dry cloth.Nikwax Cotton Proof Waterproofer For Cotton/Canvas
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
I have used the spray variety to rain proof boot/ski bags sucessfully. The wouldn't survive being hosed down, but the bag contents have remained dry whilst travelling in rain and snow and sitting in baggage carriers in the pouring rain at the airport. Prior to treatment we have arrived to find some very soggy clothes inside.

I've used the wash in variety to reproof my polycotton walking trousers very sucessully. Again they won't survive a complete downpour, but they are certainly back to being showerproof again and keep me reasonably dry when I get caught in the rain on my bike.

Couple learning points we've picked up over the years of using various manufacturers proofing products:
Normal washing power will breakdown the best of proofing products, make sure there's no build up in your washing machine tray or drum. Also try to make sure there is no residue on the garments you are trying to reproof either by using a specialist washing product or by giving the garment an extra rince in clean water before you start.
Make sure you use the correct amount of product, we keep a liquid wash measuring ball to one side for this so we can measure accurately.
Do wash at the temperature specified if possible.
Always tumble dry if you can, this seems to set the product better than line drying and produces a finish that doesn't just work better, but lasts longer as well.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I used Nikwax cleaner in the washing machine to clean two non water proof cotton jackets. The jackets did not need to be dried before going through the machine again. This time using the Nikwax Cotton Proofer.
I can now be out in quite heavy rain for over an hour before water starts to find it's way through.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Big fan of this product(and all Nikwax products) since i've found it somewhere around 2010, been using it since then on my cotton clothing(jackets, cargo pants ) really works and will keep your clothing dry to some point, even when soaked wet it will be quite easy to dry your clothing. I think this is one of the essential products every hiking/ survivalist/ bushcraft person should be aware.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I bought this with some suspicion, and used it on my winter coat, with great results. Hardly anything from the bottle seems gone, and the coat is suitably water resistant, the fabric has not changed in colour or texture, and I will be trying it out on a pair of cheap ugg boot look alikes just as soon as i have a day off!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I have an old NATO camo smock that ponged a bit and had not been used for a while. Into the washing machine with the smaock and some stuffy. Smells fine and keeps out the showers. I may do it again soon, just the inmprove texture a little further. Can't get this stuff in the shops.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
This product is easy to apply as directed; being water based it produced no fumes or toxic waste. There was no change in the tent's colour
It has extended the life of the aged tent by many more years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
We tried the option to apply it via the washing machine, but it didn't seem that effective. We then applied the diluted solution with a watering can and this worked very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
bought this to waterproof a very old wax cotton coat that had been scrubbed to remove mould. easy to apply -( found a sponge easier than a brush)
then hung it on the line to dry for 48 hrs - turned it upside down after 12 hours to allow under arms to dry - and it did the job perfectly
first day of heavy rain the water ran off.
Liz - Yorkshire
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Items to be proofed need several washes in tech wash before getting good results with this product. Now that I have the technique the product is good.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)