Nightingales on Call: (Nightingales 4) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Nightingales on Call: (Nightingales 4) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Nightingales on Call: (Nightingales 4) [Paperback]

Donna Douglas
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (80 customer reviews)
RRP: 5.99
Price: 3.50 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
You Save: 2.49 (42%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 1 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 0.79  
Paperback 3.50  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook, Unabridged --  

Book Description

24 April 2014 Nightingales (Book 4)

From the author of The Nightingale Girls, The Nightingale Sisters and The Nightingale Nurses - perfect for fans of Call the Midwife

1937 sees new challenges for the trainee nurses

Dora and her old enemy Lucy are paired up on the children's ward for the final three months of their training. The two nurses couldn't seem more different, but they may have more in common than they think, as each hides a secret heartache.

. and new faces at the Nightingale

Jess is the feisty eldest daughter of a notorious East End family and determined to prove herself as a ward maid.

And new trainee nurse Effie can't wait to escape her small Irish village, and make her way as a nurse in London. But Effie's sister Katie soon begins to worry that Effie's behaviour is out of control.

Nightingales on call and in crisis: have they got what it takes?


Frequently Bought Together

Nightingales on Call: (Nightingales 4) + The Nightingale Sisters: (Nightingales 2) + The Nightingale Nurses: (Nightingales 3)
Price For All Three: 9.99

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (24 April 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099585154
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099585152
  • Product Dimensions: 20.2 x 13 x 3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (80 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 4,769 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"a fascinating journey into the past filled with historical detail ... Highly recommended" (Jera's Jamboree)

"Breathes the life and times of the late 1930's into you" (A Novel Thought)

Book Description

From the author of The Nightingale Girls, The Nightingale Sisters and The Nightingale Nurses - perfect for fans of Call the Midwife

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovers of Call The Midwife Will Love This 10 May 2014
By cassam
Format:Kindle Edition
I don't usually like reading a book midway through a series and Nightingales on Call is the fourth book in this series by Donna Douglas. I needn't have worried as soon as I read the first few pages I was hooked and immersed in the lives of the nurses from Nightingale Hospital.
It took a brave girl to train to be a nurse in the 1930's. It was a very strict, like being in the army. The ward sisters were like dragons and the nurses terrified of putting a foot wrong. All day they scrubbed floors and bedpans, made beds so tightly that a coin had to bounce off them. I found it quite sad that after three years of training a nurse had to give it all up if she wanted to be married. All that hard work for nothing, it's a pity the hospital board didn't give a thought about all the effort to train the girls just to let them go.

This book follows the girl's rotation on the children's ward. We follow Dora, Lucy and a few of their friends who only have three months left before they are staff nurses. Effie begins as a probationer following in the footsteps of her successful sisters but doesn't expect the hard work she is faced with.
I really liked the character of Jess who begins a job as a ward maid mainly cleaning the nurse's homes and looking after the home sister's needs. Jess is told she is worth less than the student nurses and she has not to speak to them but she becomes friends with Effie the probationary much to the displeasure of some of the other girls.
We learn more about the home life of the nurses than we do in the TV series Call the Midwife but if you're a fan you will enjoy this book too. Knowing what the nurses have to face at home gives you an understanding of why some of them are not so nice on the wards,everyone has a different story.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to read the next book in the series 30 April 2014
By Sharon TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
Now in their final year of training we mainly see Dora and Lucy who have never really seen eye to eye as they are from the complete opposite social classes working together on the Children's ward; Dora is an East End girl through and through who has had to work hard to get where she has, whilst Lucy, the daughter of an aristocrat, has been used to getting what she wants. But the one thing that they have in common is that they both have secrets that they are desperately trying to hide.

Then we get to meet a couple of new lively characters, Jess and Effie. Jess is another East End girl who is trying to make a better life for herself, and Effie is the youngest girl in the family whose four older sisters have all trained at The Florence Nightingale so she has big shoes to fill. Two completely different young women who become the unlikeliest of friends.

Another fantastic drama-filled story from Donna Douglas which takes us into the heart of the East End and the hospital giving you a real feel as to what life must have been like living and working in the 1930s.

As with the rest of the books in the series, Nightingales on Call probably could be read as a standalone as there are the odd mentions to previous events which would enable you to follow the storyline but I'd definitely recommend reading the books in order as you get a real feel for each of the characters and see how their lives have changed over the years.

Having now read the first four books in the series, I cannot wait to read the next book A Nightingale Christmas Wish which is being published later this year, in the meantime I'll have to satisfy myself with reading the Christmas novella, A Child is Born, that was published last year that I have just purchased.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nightingales On Call 29 April 2014
By Lincs Reader TOP 100 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
As with the other books in this series, Nightingales On Call can be read as a stand-alone novel, but having been a fan of these stories from the very first one, I'd urge readers to get hold of the other books too. Donna Douglas gives enough background information within Nightingales On Call to enable new readers to enjoy it just as much as old fans, but doesn't get too bogged down by things that happened earlier in the series.

This story concentrates mainly on Dora and Lucy who are almost at the end of their three year training,and will soon become Staff Nurses. These two girls have always had a tense relationship; Dora comes from the East End whilst Lucy's family are rich and she's been very spoilt by her parents. Their relationship changes dramatically throughout the course of the story as each of them deals with their own hidden secrets and shame. They find that they do have more in common than anyone could have guessed.

New characters are introduced, including ward maid Jess and trainee nurse Effie. Both of these bring a breath of fresh air to the nursing school in their own special way.

Once again, Donna Douglas effortlessly takes the reader into the world of student nursing before the NHS. The attention to detail is excellent and life on the wards for these young women is portrayed so well, from the back-aching scrubbing of the floors to the constant reminders that they should not grow close to their patients. Most of the nursing is playing out on the children's wards and I found this particularly fascinating. Imagine your beloved child is sick and in hospital and you can only visit him once per month?
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback