Start reading A Night to Forget (An Inspector Jim Meldrum Thriller) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

A Night to Forget (An Inspector Jim Meldrum Thriller) [Kindle Edition]

Frederic Lindsay
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 650,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

After a fraught dinner with his ex-wife and her husband, Detective Inspector Jim Meldrum escapes early to drown the experience.

The next morning he awakes in an expensive Edinburgh hotel with bruised knuckles, aching ribs - and no memory of how he got there.

Over by the window, a woman he doesn’t know is getting dressed. If she is to be believed, they have spent the night together as lovers.

Later that day, the body of a man beaten to death is discovered in an unoccupied room of the second floor of the hotel - in the room next to the one in which Meldrum woke up.

Who was the dead man? And who killed him?

Tormented by doubts as to what might have happened during the lost hours on the night of the murder, Meldrum fears the answer may ruin his life.

Yet he conducts his search for the truth with unwavering integrity.

He will track down the killer...even if it might be himself.

'A Night To Forget' is a tense and chilling thriller of memory and murder. It is perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.

Frederic Lindsay’s thrillers have been widely praised:

'Intelligent, entertaining, gripping and well-written' Ian Rankin

‘One of the most interesting thriller writers around’ The Scotsman

‘One of the most potent voices in contemporary Scottish fiction’ The Herald

'Lindsay can chill your soul' The Listener

Frederic Lindsay was a novelist who lived and wrote in Edinburgh. Other books in his Inspector Jim Meldrum series include ‘Convictions’, 'Death Knock' and ‘A Kind of Dying’.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3314 KB
  • Print Length: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (31 Oct. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00GDIY5UE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #133,523 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars More murder mystery than thriller 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this book. It begins with Meldrum waking up to find his knuckles scratched and he has obviously been in a fight. However he has no idea why? Was it alcohol or something else? And why was he in a hotel?
The plot twists and turns as the investigation gets underway.
I would definitely read another book in the series ☺️
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Thriller 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase
This is a very good thriller which holds you all the way through. It was the first time I had read a Frederic Lindsay book and won't be the last. Very enjoyable
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase
Quick delivery and was what I expected
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.0 out of 5 stars  3 reviews
1.0 out of 5 stars Difficult read 6 Jun. 2014
By Nora Mary - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I always finish a book no matter if the first few chapters are annoying. I persevered with this novel and did not find it was a "thriller" in any sense of the word. It was confusion from start to finish, there was no plot to speak of. no individual to speak of within the story line. I regret the critical reaction, but I am afraid this is it.
3.0 out of 5 stars A Night to Forget 22 May 2014
By Diane McIntosh - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
This was an ok book. It was very hard to get started into ready. The author seemed was writing to fill up pages.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read all three in the series, you will enjoy 21 Nov. 2013
By gayle corbett - Published on Amazon.com
This is the second in the Meldrum series and I have enjoyed them all. The plots are creative, and Meldrum is likable. Diverse relationships encompass a wide range of emotions. He is devoted to his job, but interaction with more politically motivated higher ranks helps with the realism. There is a twist to this one that you just don't see coming. If you like the genre, Mr. Lindsay is a good read. I haven't read one of his books that has not hooked me.

Read the sample to get you started. I don't give specific details in my reviews as it's like someone telling you the end of a movie when you haven't seen it yet!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category