Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

New World [Paperback]

Chris Priestley
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback 8.18  
Paperback, 3 May 2007 --  

Book Description

3 May 2007

The year is 1584 and fourteen-year-old Kit is living by his wits as a thief on the streets of Elizabethan London - a far-cry from his early childhood, when he lived a privileged life with his rich Catholic parents, who died when he was very small. The memory of his parents haunts Kit: his father was executed for plotting to kill the Queen but went to his death proclaiming his innocence. When Kit meets John White, a mapmaker and associate of Walter Raleigh, on the streets and White offers him a place in his household, Kit accepts.

Soon Kit finds himself with White on board The Tiger, bound for the New World as part of a voyage to found a new colony in Virginia. After surviving the many weeks at sea, a great storm and contact with the Spanish along the American coast, The Tiger finally reaches Virginia and the settlers establish a colony at Roanoake.

Life in the colony is hard, the relationship with the Indian tribes made precarious by the aggression of some of the English colonists. As trading with the tribes break down and winter sets in, food becomes scarce and the colonists struggle to survive. And Kit's past comes back to haunt him when an enemy suddenly reveals himself . . .



Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi Childrens (3 May 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552552356
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552552356
  • Product Dimensions: 13.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,756,495 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Product Description

Book Description

A fantastically atmospheric and exciting historical adventure about an Elizabethan voyage of discovery to the New World.

From the Back Cover

The year is 1584, Queen Elizabeth I is on the throne, her life is in constant danger from Catholic insurgents as England and Spain drift towards open war.

Kit Milton is living by his wits on the streets of London when an unexpected chain of events brings him to the household of John White, a mapmaker and associate of one of the Queen's favourites - the notorious Sir Walter Raleigh.

It's not long before Kit finds himself on board The Tiger, sailing for the New World and a life he could not have imagined in his wildest dreams. After a long and dangerous sea voyage, The Tiger reaches the shores of America and a colony is founded.

But as winter sets in, food becomes scarce and tensions mount between the colonists and the Indian tribes. And as Kit's buried past comes to light, he discovers a dangerous enemy . . .

Cover image by Ian Winstanley


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New World review 8 July 2008
Format:Paperback
Fantastic book - has both my 10 and 7 year old boys were gripped - full of adventure, historical insights and gripping tension. A real page turner!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback