Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2012
After 1993's Crime Story 11 years earlier, this was Jackie Chan's first full-on dramatic performance in a film. Apart from the Police Story in the title, there isnt any connection between this and the previous Police Story films. You dont see his trademark slapstick action scenes and comedy in this film. Those expecting that will probably be disappointed. But if you are a huge fan of Jackie and dont mind seeing him in serious mode then this film delivers.

Jackie plays an overconfident cop who leads his team of officers to apprehend a smart gang of rich kids who rob banks and kill police officers for fun. When all of Chan's team are brutally killed, Chan turns into a drunk and falls into depression over the death of his colleagues. Then Nicolas Tse's character enters and they team up to avenge his colleague's deaths.

The film isnt as action packed as one would expect from Chan's previous Police Story films but there are some noteworthy action scenes such as when Chan slides down the side of a building on a wire with his handcuffs, out of control bus crashing through the streets with Jackie on top of it which reminds you of the first police story film and his one one fight scene with a member of the gang of thieves. Worth buying to see Jackie's return to the kind of cinema he was famous for in the 1980s before his lacklustre Hollywood films in the 90s.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jackie Chan has always used the original 'Police Story' series as a kind of safety net whenever his career hits a rough patch. The original was his response to his disastrous US cop movie 'The Protector' while the third entry was his attempt to recapture local audiences after a few high-profile failures. With his recent Hollywood outings scraping the concrete beneath the bottom of the barrel (The Tuxedo, Around the World in 80 Days, Rush Hour 2) he's gone back to Hong Kong and basics again. However, this time round he takes a few more chances, abandoning his old comic character and supporting cast (Maggie Cheung, Uncle Bill) for a comparatively darker outing as a broken-down cop drinking his way to oblivion after some thrill-seeking rich kids led by a typically OTT Daniel Wu kill his entire team. Naturally redemption is on the menu, but the stunts aren't quite as over-the-top or as plentiful as before, while the (intentional) comedy is kept to a minimum.

It's not up to the standards of his best work in the past, but it's light-years ahead of his US pictures and is a welcome return to form even if Chan's fight scenes fall short of his former glories (that said, there is a good bus sequence and an imaginative chase down the side of a building).
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2007
This is my favourite Jackie Chan movie. The story is excellent the stunts excellent and Jackies acting is the best that I have ever seen. I loved the Rush hour movies but found myself getting tired of them.

This is an all out action movie the comedy in minimal it's a dark tale of vengance.

An action packed martial arts masterpiece.
0Comment10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2008
Jackie Chan over the years has been a very strong actor and a great entertainer on and off the big screen. New Police Story is a great movie if you know what to expect from Chans already massive career. If you wish to watch a movie with a gripping plot, fantastic and mind-blowing martial arts and finally some very good acting, then new police story is a movie you will truly enjoy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
I purchased this some time ago, watched it and forgot all about it. I watched it again recently and, found myself, in the, irritating phrase so beloved today, "blown away!!"

A deeper film from our Jackie than many of his others, with the emphasis on tragedy taking centre stage. The stunts, when they come, are as magnificent as ever (the double decker bus springs to mind), the villains are loathsome and JC, when not racked with grief and self doubt, shines as brightly as ever.The man is a marvel. Good support from Nicholas Tse too.

One little niggle though, but I'm only nit-picking, and that was his constant drinking and staggering around in a stupor. No drunken master here!

All in all though, a great film; harrowing, suspenseful, violent, action packed and, in the end, quite sweet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 May 2011
A superb film. My only criticism is there was none of the old gang from the first 3 movies. no May, or Uncle or even the original Chief. That would have been nice, but not essential.
It's a hard hitting movie, plenty of action as a broken Jackie is pulled back from the gutter (literally) by a new recruit after Jackeie has seen his whole team wiped out by a group of cop killers.
You know how it will end, but it's a great jouney. Another small crit, is the speed the usual Jackie stunt reel begins after the end of the movie, and the end is quite touching, so a brief pause might have been good.

And those stunts! Without seeing the stunt reel you might have thought they weren't real. People cycling down skyscrapers, even with guide ropes, incredible.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
I received this film along which came in the same box as some weights I ordered. I have to say the DVD was not damaged in any way because it was protected with packaging. Ordered it on Monday night/ Tuesday morning and it was a quick delivery as it arrived before i got up this morning. The film itself it great if you are a Jackie Chan fan and you do not have this then i suggest you do. I=Not only does it have action but more drama than Jackie's 80's films and is the his turning point into dramatic roles rather than the action star we have seen since he began. Overall, definitely suggest it to all action, drama, thriller and Jackie Chan lovers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
I really enjoyed watching this film. I have watched all the classic Police Story series from way back and this one does not disappoint. Jackie Chan portrays a realistic character that you can relate to, and is actually very good at portraying raw emotional feelings which you would probably not expect he would. Nicholas Tse is very convincing as his side kick and does a good job with all the action scenes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
I was amazed to get this dvd for less than Jackie Chans much older early None Hollywood films,the quality of the film was outstanding on my upscaling dvd player and Samsung 46 In HD tv,the content of the dvd is far grittier than any of JC,s resent Hollywood (Blockbusters?)for the money an absolute bargain,bar none! buy now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2009
For me this was the first police story I have seen. and the story is awesome on it. Jackie is on top form, and it's interesting from beginning to end, With an original plot in an overused idea's world, this film is fatastic, if you like Jackie chan, or if you just like a good action film with a good plot then buy this
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.